DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Singular Darkness: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 09:47:26

As with Things Go Southly, another in this series of Jumpstarts, this one remains very open ended and adjustable. It does focus on one specific character, though, and at least suggests an overspecific immediate background. But these specifics, upon reflection, can alter pretty easily. Instead of one vampire at the bar, it could be two or three (or even more). The location of the bar could be altered. For that matter, the central Kindred character might well be a friend or ally of the PCs. Exactly what the seeming Antagonist is up to remains vague, but then that seems the point. So this might well word, and very well too. Looking back on my own Chronicles, this could have "fit in" with little trouble.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Singular Darkness:  One Page  Chronicle Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
The design for this was a tad different as this one was the first I wrote. It riffs off details on Dark Colony, but could easily be brought into a different location like you say. I also had planned for the shop to be a bookstore, but a bar works as well!
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 09:42:19

I think the idea of this makes sense, and keeping it "open" rather than too specific actually seems essential to the basic point. So my initial frustation at lack of details, of depth are totally on me. This "jumpstart" is honestly designed well for its intention--to provide a point of beginning (or promising filler) for a Chronicle. For example, much of the "city" background here can easily be altered for another location. Even what the box contains might be changed pretty easily and the Coterie's "rivals" might well be someone else altogether.

So kudos! Absolutely and precisely what it intends to be.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Hi David, Thanks for the review! The flexibility angle was one of the design goals so I'm glad that came through. Check out Monastery if you want one with a bit more detail. The details there include a lot more characters and their backgrounds.
Our Lady of Sorrows
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2017 13:31:39

The core idea here is solid, but the writing and layout makes this a flawed product. The sentence structure is off, and some don't really make sense. The story itself could be really interesting, but it also feels a little too much like a railroad. The Giovanni are a great clan, and using them as a focus caught my attention, but these characters fall flat and I'm not really interested in their backstory.

To the author; I think it would be good to have an editor for your future products, they can help get your writing a little tighter, and offer some suggestions. Try and create set pieces for your chronicle's, places, locations, and events to drop in, but provide the frameworks and let the ST use that framework as a hopping off point.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
101 Plot Ideas
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2017 09:21:52

Precisely what it says on the tin, this product offers 101 plot ideas that range from subtle to severe. Each plor idea is conveyed in one or two sentences, and the hooks are brilliant! Well worth the price of admission!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
101 Plot Ideas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Bloodlinebook: Deava
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 19:54:28

A very solid concept, sold a little short with the preponderance of typos. There are a lot. A good editing pass could turn this into a 5-Atar product, though, as the concept is rather fascinating!

I would also like to see a bit more examples of the type of "terrible beauty" that the Daeva can suffer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodlinebook: Deava
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Our Lady of Sorrows
by Nicolas V. - V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 01:36:59

Too short, not even a 3 pages worth of content, a draft. I have bought it based on the 5 and I am pretty surprised by the quality of the work compared to the price. I would not advise this purchase.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Clanbook: Karnstein
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 23:12:05

Let me begin by saying that I adore the premise of this bloodline. The setting information is well-crafted, and the system section is largely enjoyable. The PRETENSE discipline is interesting, though I feel it could use a little more fine tuning to be in line with existing power levels of disciplines.

The two places where I see the greatest opportunity for improvement are an editing pass (the back half of the book seems fairly typo-laden, especially the character templates where some stats are missing) and the overall layout/design. The book is presented entirely in single column layout, which makes it look more like a Storyteller's homebrew notes than a finished product. With the beautiful templates provided by white-wolf, it seems that this was a dent in the quality of the book that could have been easily avoided (and could easily be remedied)

I do recommend this product, and I hope it will get some revisions soon!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Karnstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Menagerie of Mortals
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 22:58:41

Menagerie of Mortals is an excellent resource for any Storyteller. Having a ready-made stack of mortals at your disposal is an incredible time-saver. Most of the mortals provided come with solid roleplaying tips that provide a strong enough skeleton to build a memorable NPC on. The "Victims" section with simplified stats and character tags is actually quite brilliant. This book is definitely worth the price

Having said that, there are a few quality issues that provide speedbumps in the enjoyability of the product. First, (and least improtantly) there are some minor grammar/syntax issues that a good editing pass could solve. None of these are deal breakers, but they are distracting.

Secondly, there are some typesetting/layout issues that are distracting. They are few, but they are there.

Finally, some of the gear choices and characterizations of the NPCs made little sense to me (the street level drug dealer wielding a katana seemed comically misequipped)

Despite those issues (any and all of which could be corrected with an editing pass and update), I think this is a useful product that WILL enrich your Vampire game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Menagerie of Mortals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Clanbook: Nahema
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 18:45:11

Honestly, I wish there were a lot more content. The basic story about the Nahema's origins and powers are cool and all. But I wish the author had delved into the factions (such as may exist) in those who wait for their Founder's return. Some more templates as well. However-- the new derangements were fascinating and certainly offer up wonderfully disturbing possibilities! Essentially the Nahema are Malkavians on steroids. Heh heh.

Also, kudos for discussing how derangements and mental illness are not "cute" but rather serious problems with specific symptomology.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Nahema
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
by Xavier R. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 14:28:36

A smoothly written book that explains clearly most of the subterfuge this world of darkness is all about. If you are looking for a 280-pages piece that submerges you within the conflicts and dances between Kindred this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clan Novel 1: Toreador
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Vampire Token Pack 1
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 23:48:12

It is what it says it is. Nothing more or less.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Token Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Bloodlinebook: Deava
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 00:03:20

A fascinating idea! A kind of Anti-Nosferatu! With an extremely specific backstory that certainly allows new Player Characters to fit in! I do have two complaints about the writing--one being the sheer number of typos. But also, I sometimes lost the thread of events described. These cost the book a single star, but still I prefer this bloodline to some of the official clans to be honest! I like the Daeva! They read like a kind of very individual vampire species one might read in an interesting series of novels.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodlinebook: Deava
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Missoula by Night
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 17:17:19

Very nice indeed. The sheer power, age and generation of the Elders surprised me but the background explained it quite nicely, just as the number of tourists help explain the number of Kindred (while leaving room for Player Characters). The "look" is spot on, with an excellent explanation of the city overall. I do miss having very many secrets even hinted at, much less given in what I would suppose to be used by Storytellers. But this comes across as something for Players rather. Artwork is lovely, writing style clear and evocative. I look forward to what else this Chronicle might have to offer!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Missoula by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Missoula by Night
by Colin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 13:32:06

I was very impressed with this book, it did justice to the Garden City of Missoula and had a good amount of actual history that was wrapped up into the story that the writer chose to tell!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
White Wolf Magazine #23
by Graham D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 09:11:31

The scanning of the magazine is clear and crisp. A special horror themed issue, this one contains the last and best of the four Call of Cthulhu scenarios published by White Wolf along with articles on how to run Demons in Ars Magica, novice character archetypes for the then current edition of Shadowrun and a Mad Max inspired scenario for a now obscure game called Age of Ruin.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Wolf Magazine #23
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1747 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates