DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
BattleTech: Technical Readout: Succession Wars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 12:12:14

As said above: this is for either new players who are just starting out, or people who absolutely must own every BattleTech product ever made. It's literally a compilation from prior sources: there's no new text, and, for that matter, no effort to rationalize the timing of any given entry, so references to "recent events" on one 'Mech's entry may be ancient history for another one, which for a new player might lead to some confusion, especially as then the opening fluff is referring to an even farther-in-the-future period of BattleTech history.

The artistic style varies wildly based on what book it was taken from: the rough line sketches from the original TRO: 3025 sit alongside the clean well-inked drawings from TRO: 3050-Upgrade. It does omit all the Unseen (those classic 'Mechs whose original art was the subject of a rights dispute). Given that many of the Unseen 'Mechs have had revised artwork in either Project Phoenix or in the Combat Manuals series, I would have really liked if they had included those 'Mechs as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: Succession Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Serrated Edge (Denver Adventure 1)
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 09:20:38

So good! I cannot recommend this enough. This is probably my new favorite SR5 adventure.

It gives you everything to run a truly dark, difficult, and engaging game. The plot is well-structured, the decisions the team has to make have actual dramatic weight attached to them, and the players have to think and plan to succeed. The adventure also shows just how dark and ruthless the Sixth World is. Love it!

It is not without flaws, of course. The pay for most of the runs is weirdly low. The specific scenes are poorly organized - you have to read the whole scene before it starts to make sense. The Matrix part is written by someone stuck in the previous edition. But those are all really easy to fix.

P.S. I have not run it yet, so I may need to adjust the review after I am done with this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Serrated Edge (Denver Adventure 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: NAIS Fourth Succession War Military Atlas, Volume 1
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 16:15:07

Decent quality, but PDF is missing pages 61-64. What a rip off.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: NAIS Fourth Succession War Military Atlas, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3058 Upgrade
by Simon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 12:20:51

A nice follow-up TR to 3050 and 3055 with excellent mech and vehicle drawings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3058 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Battle of Manhattan (Boardroom Backstabs)
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 10:15:36

Oh, boy... I am a fan of Shadowrun. I love Shadowrun products and don't mind typos and errors - the products are usually amazing despite all that. But this. This adventure is flat out terrible.

I was looking for an adventure to run for a new group I assembled. I can't prepare my own adventures as I have very little prep time available, but my experience with other Shadowrun adventures has been great before this one - so I decided to buy the Battle of Manhattan.

Well, this adventure requires so much prep time (or on the fly improvisation) that it pretty much defeats the purpose of buying an adventure. A ton of things are omitted or left up to the GM. Some things are not explained, like how Shadowrunners smuggle their gear on a flight to the Rotten Apple. Or why anybody wanted to hire outsiders anyway. Then there are maps with doors and stairways missing.

There are some OK ideas in this, but the adventure is a mess. I am probably going to use some of the NPC stats in my other games, which is why I give it 2 stars.

But if you are looking for a good adventure with cohesive plot that is explained well and that doesn't require a ton of preparation - just buy Splintered State.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Battle of Manhattan (Boardroom Backstabs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: LAAF
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 19:00:52

not surprised that the Steiners come out with the best jump ship navy left, the military seems much less effected by the social climbing officers



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: LAAF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: The Clans
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:58:52

slight disapointment that there's little info on the home clans there also seems to be lack of good info on many of the inner sphere clans compared to older books but maybe thats do to the clans finially smarting up on the intellenge front



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: The Clans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: Periphery
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:56:26

i find the Periphery book a little disapointing with the lack of info on some of the smaller realms but otherwise the information is very good



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: Periphery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: FWLM
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:54:30

in many ways seeing the leauge fracture is not a surprise and the military will be all over the place loyalty wise wether it's obvious know or not



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: FWLM
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: DCMS
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:52:54

Finding the DCMS completely rebuilding from enimes within and without is not surprising great info on the effect on the military and the fact the civilians are told as little as possible



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: DCMS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: CCAF
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:50:16

intresting status report find interesting that the Death Commandos seemed to have disappeared bet the are going to make the Republic's life difficult on former Capallen worlds



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: CCAF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: AFFS
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:46:56

i like th post jhiad reports on the state of the military very interesting reading



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: AFFS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 12:57:37

As someone who never writes reviews of things, I've only written this to adress the other reviewer's statement which clearly comes from someone who purchased this book with clearly inappropriate expectations. Then after not actually reading the book, proceeded to complain about how the book didn't meet their expectations. (The statement about the overpowered npc horde is the biggest flag that the reviewer didn't actually look at the book closley at all)

This is not a core rulebook. The cover states that it is explicitly not a core rulebook. If a reviewer or purchaser expected a lot of crunch, then of course they are going to be disappointed and rate this book lowly. (The core rules and crunch is 5 pages.)

There are a few typographical errors and formatting problems throughout the book, but for the most part the actual theme part of the book (which is the vast majority of the book) is respectable and fulfills the book's purpose as advertised. There are some good pieces of artwork.

If you want to play a Trog, buy this book. This is a useful book for understanding Trog Culture and sort of the origins and daily life of playing a Trog. The few pieces of gear in the book are a bonus and don't fundamentally change anything in the game. If you are a DM and want to experiment with trog culture or trog focused settings, get this book. This is skippable for everyone else. This book also advances plots related to NeoNet and the Corporate Court. Contains setting updates for other plot related areas, though with a trog related perspective.

First Four chapters are Trog Theme- Trogs in Nations, Trogs in Corporations, Trog advocates, Trog enemies. Fifth Chapter is divided into two parts. First part covers some experienced runners and how they fuction in society as shadowrunners. Second part covers how to make Trogs fit into certain archtypes. For experienced players this section can be useless. For GM's, great npcs. For new players, great ideas. Sixth Chapter- Trog related organizations. Seventh 'Chapter'- Crunch.

If you are experienced in shadowrun and playng Orks and Trolls, and know all about Trog Culture this book is could be shippable. IF you are new or not familiar with Ork or Troll culture there is actual value in this book. But it is clearly more focused on the roleplaying aspect of the Shadowrun Roleplaying game.

If the errors in the book are fixed, this book probably would deserve a tenative 4 out of 5.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Marc F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 11:52:02

An easier Shadowrun game is desperately needed an the narrative idea of Anarchy is quite interesting. But unfortunately the book is just terrible as it simply fails to explain the rules.

It starts with very basic stuff. Does the glitch die also count for the test it is rolled with? No answer in the rulebook. It gets far worse when you come to the interesting parts, like shadow amps. In the end your Rigger's drones have values like A and D that are just not explained anywhere. Even worse the information that is contained in the book is often hidden in places.

This can not be fixed with errata. The book is conceptually broken. In my opinion the rulebook needs small chapters about the individual professions, with easy examples for the standard tasks that a rigger or a technomancer needs.

You might think, easier SR rules would help attracting new people, a young generation of role-players. I doubt it, since you need to know the full SR rules to make sense of the Anarchy rules.

I hope for a better Anarchy 2.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
by Lukasz L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 10:50:44

It reminds me those old White Wolf books, with a lot of pointless in-universe talking and a horde of overpowered NPCs.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 961 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates