DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Revelations in Cold Iron
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2017 19:11:10

I think this is fantastic. I'm a big fan of Berin's work and Dancing Lights Press products in general, and I didn't see this one coming (he's so busy doing background-work-type texts for DLP).

OK so the game is obviously inspired by political events of the past few years (especially the last two). If you're as frustrated as I have been watching the newsfeeds, you're looking for a game with which to vent your frustrations, and you like streamlined mechanics, check this one out.

Pros: The Lighthouse system is easy to use and intended to foster collaborative storytelling.There are shades of FATE with respect to character development and managing dice rolls. With this as a mechanical foundation, Revelations in Cold Iron presents a setting reminiscent of the older World of Darkness... except that the gritty badness kinda errily familiar --and current! I like the paranoia, near-hopelessness, and desperate feel. The bad guys are untouchable, and really bad. They'rein positions to offer themselves, as Chomsky put it, riches "beyond avarice". And they're ruthless. The good guys are pretty screwed, and there's a lot of variability built into the rules system so you can make archetypes rather than stereotypes (my least favourite part of the White Wolf games was that the PCs "types" were based on stereotypes). I also like the book's structure (a lot, but really tight structure is typical for DLP). The twist that makes Revelations in Cold Iron a game rather than retelling current events is that (subtle) magic is a thing, and the PCs can do something about the grim situations in which they find themselves. The types of magic are relatively easy to understand (harder than DnD, a lot easier than Mage or Ars Magica). (Thought: What if the game's premise is true and the game is a bit of magick developed just to distract us?)

Cons: I know limiting art in the books is a philosphical thing for DLP, but I like pictures in my books. That's a personal preference. A bigger con is that the book doesn't seem to have been edited carefully; I noticed a number of typos just skimming it the first time. I would have given 5 stars if the editing had been more careful. For content, inspiration, and style, it's an easy five stars. Having said that, if you tend toward the more conservative-by-American-standards end of the political spectrum, you may perceive this game to be an unfairly biased part of the liberal agenda and suspect that a recent US president commissioned it in another attempt to stifle your freedoms and take your guns. If that's the case, don't buy this game, reading it will only enrage you more. (Wait a minute, what if my thought experiment is true? What if the book is designed to distract less conservative gamers from actually getting involved and making a difference? What if the spell used provokes anger and a desire to shut it down in gamers who support the political status quo? OMG!! "They" know I'm reviewing it!! Crap! I don't know what I'm goi



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Revelations in Cold Iron
by GYEONGWON J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2017 10:39:57

I really recommend this if you are fan of Mage, Changeling. But most of all if you are an advocate of individual free will and you are one of those steller people who are willing to face and stand for inconvinient relative truth even under the yoke of seemingly convinient paradigm ruthlessly overriding every grain of feable human mind, you are in for a treat. Incredible first complete game using lighthouse system, rules are easy to pick up and it is versatile giving a chance for both GM and Players to blaze the trail and carve out a unexpected tale to create a drama for themselves. Become a member of Cold Iron, fight the oppressors and set things right!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Revelations in Cold Iron
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:00:38

I had been waiting to see what this first game based on Dancing Lights Press' Lighthouse Roleplaying System would offer. The concept of a cultlike group taking over the world is very much like the Seers of the Throne from Mage: the Awakening, and the Cult of Moloch sounds like one of the Great Ministries, if Moloch replaced the Paternoster Great Ministry.

In contrast, Cold Iron, the group to which the protagonists belong, is a Tier Three conspiracy group straight out of Hunter: the Vigil, along with a choice of Endowments based on the imposition of logical fallacies on the minds of targets.

The setting is dark fantasy, though "dark comedy" would perhaps be a more apt description, because what humour there is, is very black indeed. The distinction between protagonists and antagonists is hideously blurred - both sides would make use of SJW groups, alt-right / gamergate / MRA trolls, right-wing radio hosts spouting tinfoil hat conspiracies, anti-vaxxers, flat Earthers, vegans, gun nuts, survivalists and hate groups to impose their reality.

This is a very modern roleplaying game, one very much of the year of its release, 2017: a game of social media revolutions; of trials by television and newspaper headline; of fake news and Newspeak, and outright propaganda masquerading as journalism; of oligarchs sitting off the coast of Corfu on their private yachts, controlling entire nations from an iPhone; where, when a mad, frothing politician rises to a position of immense power on some bizarre ticket like chemtrails or building a wall, nobody on either team is entirely sure whether it was their influence or the enemy's influence that got him into power - and where the point is entirely moot, since both sides would happily take advantage of the regime to their own ends.

One quibble - the headline "Gaslighting is magick." I've been a victim of gaslighting. It is one thing that personally detracts from the overall pleasure of this rulebook and setting. But that is a subjective, personal issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks, Alex! I understand your sensitivity to the way the term "gaslighting" was used. I kept taking it out and putting it back in, wondering if it was too dark or too on-the-nose. Ultimately I kept it because I thought it aligned with the in-game concept of subjecting people to subjective, fake realities, very much a tactic used by the Cult of Moloch.
Revelations in Cold Iron
by Jay M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 19:40:20

This is a setting about resistance to a Donald Trump-like dictator. That could work as a premise, but the implementation isn't particularly interesting, amusing, or even very coherent. The distinction between objective and subjective reality is crucial to the setting, but the author seems to believe that his favored political ideas are objectively true, which makes the entire foundation of the setting very wobbly. Not recommended.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review. Yes, the fictional setting where people use magick to fight a cult that has taken over the world is, in fact, a subjective reality based on my beliefs. You got the joke. I'm sorry you didn't like the joke. It is, admittedly, a little dry and not for all tastes. Humor is... subjective.
Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 08:22:19

I have read, but not yet run, the game. I will update this review once I run a few sessions.

My initial impressions are positive. The game is narrative, but there's enough system here to handle task resolution with varying degrees off success. The character creation reminds me of Fate Core, you have three sizes of aspect/skill/talent (Big grants +5, Medium +3, Small +1), and when you resolve a task, if those aspects apply, you get that bonus (they don't stack, you take the largest applicable.)

Task resolution is 1d20 + aspect bonus + advantages + gear - penalties. Unopposed tasks need a high roll (11+) to succeed. Even number = player narrates the success, odd = target narrates success. There are suggested types of conflict (timed, contest, unopposed, etc), and examples of these.

Results are based on risk. Each player has 5 (to use Fate's term) consequence slots, d4, d6, d8, d10, d12. d4 sticks around for 1-turn (you drop your sword), and d12 is big, nasty, and narrative - hospitalized, in a coma. Similarly, if you succed with a d4, your success is only barely. Succeeding with a d12 is (sticking with Fate's terms) success with style - the best you can think of, with a narrative bonus.

There are a LOT of examples of characters, unusual, but incredibly helpful for an indie game. Wizards, Jedi, Spys, the basics are covered. It should take a player (who has a character concept in their head) less than 5 minutes to create a character. GM characters are of the "take only what you need" variety. In other words, this is a low prep, high improv game - right up my alley!

Now, for the things I didn't like.

There's no art in the book, which is not a big deal. The price was so low that I can't criticize the lack of art, but it could bother some.

The game could use an example of play / actual play, which is common in most games. There ARE examples in the book, but they are spread out.

The game could use some game aids: character sheet, reference cards stating the types of contests, what the different die size success / failure look like, etc.

The combat bothered me slightly in that most conflicts have the PC and the Target (usually the GM) rolling dice to see the higher margin of success. Combat, however, is only rolled by the attacker, there's no defense roll. I'll need to test this in play, but my gut says that any of the target's applicable skills would act as a penalty to the attack. Ex: Badass Fighter (+5), attacks Shaolin Monk (+5), and rolls d20 hoping for 11+. Badass Fighter (+5) attacks Goblin Soldier (+1), and rolls d20 + 4, hoping for an 11+.

All said - I was very impressed with this system, and I'm looking forward to getting my hands on some of the other titles by Dancing Lights Press!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lighthouse Roleplaying System™
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roleplaying Emotion
by Lacy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 23:36:25

What I like about this series is that every book focuses on role-playing and storytelling rather than mechanics. This makes the ideas easy use for any game you are playing. Because I am a person who likes telling stories with friends more than killing mosters, this book is no exception.

The idea is to think of what your character is feeling. There are two options, positive emotions and negative emotions. This allows you to decide how to interpret situations. There are 5 examples of positive emotions and 5 examples of negative emotions to demonstrate the kind of choices you can make for your character. These examples can be used for other emotions you might want to express because they are common feelings that arise in fantasy role-playing. You are not limited to these options as you would with a list of spells or feats. They are included to help you understand how it works.

Part of the book is how emotions can affect the game by adding modifiers. If the character is angry for example that could give a bonus to the intimidation controls. However mechanics is not the point of the book. This is a better role-play and use the examples to make decisions on the character and role-play of your character based on how they feel about the situation. I think the mechanics were included to help some people feel less uncomfortable about expressing feelings at the table because they can write it down as they go for a modifier.

For the use my group has gotten out of the book the price was fair and I saved by buying it in a bundle with a bunch of the other books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Roleplaying Emotion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Roleplaying Emotion
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 18:12:12

I really like some of the other books in this series, but I would not recommend this one. I'll give you a synopsis: This is an RPG rules mechanic that keeps track of which emotions your character is feeling. There are 10 categories of emotions, and you choose how much your character is affected by each one. The mechanical effect is that if you're attempting a task while trying to hide or control one of your emotions, either because you feel it too much or too little, then you apply a penalty to the roll. That's it. There's no reason to make this book 66 pages long or to charge $7 for it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Setting Design
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2017 03:40:54

So far, this is the best resource I've found on worldbuilding. I even like it better in that regard than the D&D 5e DM Guide, which is also a decent source. Berin has collected a good checklist of all the elements you need to consider when designing a scifi/fantasy setting. He provides some guidance about how to approach each element, and he stresses some good general principles, like how each element should be considered in terms of how it can create or resolve conflict in the story. I found this book really helpful. Thanks Berin!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Setting Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Story Structure
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2017 03:35:32

This book has some helpful insights about how to use a three act structure in a story, book, movie script, RPG adventure, etc. The second half of the book suggests some interesting ways that you could apply the general ideas from the three-act structure to help structure an episodic series (like a book series, a TV series, or a series of RPG play sessions). I found it pretty thoughtful, and I wish more TV shows would take these ideas into consideration when planning out their season arcs. Thanks Berin!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Story Structure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:18:20

This is so much better than it has any right to be. I know it seems like an absurd concept, and it is, but somehow it actually works. The author has put a lot of work into this, and at 138 pages, this booklet contains everything you could possibly need to run this game. (Except dice, obviously.) There's pregens, NPCs, a sample adventure, several pages of solid GM advice, the entire Fate Accelerated ruleset, synopses of the movie and TV show (I didn't even know there was a TV show), and ... I just ... wow. I am deeply impressed.

What a profoundly odd world we live in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Story Structure
by Paul O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 13:57:59

Interesting and informative, with clear we'll thought out advice. I immediately revised a plot structure I was making and it now looks much better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Story Structure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Study in Storytelling: A Scandal in Bohemia
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 08:36:07

This book was well-written in terms of prose. There are a few places where mistakes were made that could have been caught with a careful copy-edit, but it is few enough to not distract entirely from the content.

The story chosen is excellent. Doyle's writing makes for a good selection in terms of a story to deconstruct.

The biggest issue I have with this is that it feels like a standard treatise on the 3 act story structure that uses A Scandal in Bohemia as an example. Reading the description of the book, I thought that it would be teaching me a framework to examine any story in this style, rather than reading how the author deconstructed 1 specific story.

My advice to the buyer is this: Read the seed story (in this case A Scandal in Bohemia) BEFORE you purchase this book. If the story seems to be one that you are wanting to tell and you need help picking out the elements through the lens of the 3 act structure, get this book. If you are looking at examining how to deconstruct stories based on that 3 act structure without any preference for the source material, an internet search can find enough material on 3 act deconstruction to get you what you need.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Study in Storytelling: A Scandal in Bohemia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ReadWriteRoll: A Roleplaying Manifesto
by Heike H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2016 05:38:20

This is like a peanut butter cup made of D20 and Fate, but it is also not one of those things. I see the running Fate of using or using the Pathfinder adventures, or a combination of both materials. Otherwise, it looks good for people who want to make their own game and game creation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ReadWriteRoll: A Roleplaying Manifesto
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
by Patrick N. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 14:09:23

I found it too vague and generalized. It's an idea essentially without any real meat to sink teeth into.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Design: Lover, Player, Sidekick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Building Characters
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 15:10:30

It is the perfect product if you wish to create concise motivations for characters. Well laid out and easy to use.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Building Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 87 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates