DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Lucus P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 20:10:02

There's too much to say about how excellent this is -- but it can all be culminated in a simple "This is the BEST version of Mage." -- any other discussion is just trying to convince you to be "into" the game -- but if you already know you are, then this is the best version to own. If you don't know if you're into Mage -- the fact that you're thinking about it, shows you should be, and thus you should have the best version, and this is it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by Justin T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 13:47:22

I was hoping for more Salubri content, which would make me rate this book as a 3 or 4 star. However, the book in its entirety is excellent, so in fairness I must give it 5 stars.

I am opening a discussion if I am able regarding the matter of Xmas in July containing this product only two months after the initial PDF release and only 10 days after the finalized version and print version were released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by stephane B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 16:06:20

Wasn't going to grab this. But it was 5$, it was Written by Matthew.... got me interested. I purchased it and got very surprised.

I love the various characters, but also the "plot hooks" that are also thrown in there. Sometime they are enough to make a full story or side story.

Well worth the investment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by stephane B. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 16:01:17

So, this book is everything i've been wanting from a Dark Ages Companion.

It goes into a lot of details about the setting, the cities it talks about, introduces a lot of flavor and insight into the Unlife of the kindreds of these eras.

I also loved the Apocryphas of Clan. I've always had a bit of a problem to "fluff" my storytelling and this books gives a lot of content for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 05:11:46

I initially wasn't going to pick this one up. My regular group and I don't generally run pre made characters, so I questioned whether or not I would find this one useful. Ultimately though, the PDF was inexpensive, and I've consistently enjoyed Mr. Dawkins' work, so I decided to take a gamble and see if I might find something to use. I'm glad I did.

This book does a great job of representing each clan, but not in such a way that it feels like the same Clan stereotypes we've all seen before. The characters are unique enough to not only bring something worthwhile to a campaign, but I found there to be enough creativity behind them that, even if I didn't opt to use a particular character, they gave me inspiration to start thinking about different ways and angles from which certain clan members might be presented.

All in all, this is a solid resource for anyone who needs interesting characters to populate their world with, as well as anyone who just wants easy access to some creative inspiration for building their own. Having never considered buying a book of pre-made characters before, I was pleasantly surprised, and would absolutely recommend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 04:55:33

I have been anticipating this book for some time, and I was not disappointed. It provides in-depth write-ups on a number of the Bloodlines, along with new merits, combination disciplines, and other goodies. I personally enjoyed the Kiasyd and Samedi write ups the most, but I felt like they all brought something worthwhile to the table. For some it is largely a restatement and consolidation of things we've seen before, which is not necessarily a bad thing given the at times murky and contradictory backstories of some of the bloodlines, but for others it brings forth a number of new angles and possibilities to explore.

This is one of those books for which the descriptor should tell you whether or not you'll enjoy it. If you've read V20 and still aren't a big fan of the Bloodlines in general, while the writing, art, and greater insights might be enough to convert you, it's very possible there isn't much for you here. However, if the idea of this book sounds like something you would enjoy, then you will very likely be pleased.

This is a well-made book that delivers exactly what it promises, and it does it well. Probably my favorite v20 book so far, apart from the core.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Lore of the Bloodlines
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Dark Ages Companion
by BRANDON S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 04:37:37

Something that I've always found intimidating about the Dark Ages setting is the idea of doing the setting proper justice. While I enjoy history and geography, I am not a history buff, and so there is the ever-present worry of things degenerating into "Merry Olde England, D&D with vampires". As such, I find books like this to be excellent primers and GM tools, and this one in particular does its job very well.

This book is an excellent world building resource, along with an interesting read in general. It offers a wide variety of locations and insight into each, including areas which, to the best of my knowledge, the World of Darkness has never touched on before.

If you're looking to run a globe-trotting game, a game of international/interdomain politics, or simply want greater insight into what different areas of the setting are like so as to mix things up, this companion should prove to be a very useful purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Dark Ages Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras Companion
by Vicknesh S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 02:24:18

Got this from my backing of the original Dark Eras. Plenty of additional ideas for the various splats that I'm incorporating into my current game. I especially liked "The Master's Tool (1917)" as I am running an introductory session for newcomers and the World War 1 gave me plenty of ideas to utilize. I'm looking forward to the Dark Eras 2 when it is released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2017 14:33:27

I love it! i find it to be an interesting game that I can run for my kids or I can run it for my adult gaming group. I love the idea of the setting after man has left. There is more here that it seems at first look. Take a moment and lose your self in this game, I promise you, you will not regret it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thousand Years of Night
by Morten L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2017 07:44:12

This book really is everything it claims to be. And it does it perfectly. I have been waiting for this book for years. It just shines in how it deals with the eternal nocturnal life from a story and personal perspective more than from a crunch perspective, which was the case in books on elder vampires in Vampire: the Masquerade. I can't wait to get my hands on a physical copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Years of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by julien l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2017 14:42:50

As a fan of World of Darkness fan, I like Vampire 20 and Hunter 20 a lot, and I adore Werewolf 20, I've read the first edition of Mage: The Ascension and so I was very hyped to get M20.

M20 is great, the book is superb, explains well to tellers and give a crapton of options. Your players want to play tradition mages? It's ok. they want to be orphans? They can. They want to see how it is when you're a techno? It's also aviable!

The book is great and I love how much they use examples or details (like the book of Shadowrun 5th) to understand most.

The only thing : don't use it with beginners players. Mage is hard to make them understand there are much risks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adversaries of the Righteous: Cynis Borok and Regara Feria
by Werner V. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2017 09:52:22

Great product, and definitvely a recommendation for folks who are excited for the Dragon-Blooded book on the horizon. Just as a heads up, it would appear someone made a minor error when calculating the Magnituted of the Crew and Protectors of the two characters. As far as I'm aware, these should be 9 for the Crew and 8 for the Protectors, since the calculation is 7 + Size. Otherwise, great product, and for this cost, you'd be crazy not to get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous: Cynis Borok and Regara Feria
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hundred Devils Night Parade: Strix and Zicnal
by Connor M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2017 15:52:12

Excellent writeups, Zicnal is a great addition to the Exalted mythos and a welcome type of statblock to have as well. The bit of world-building in his sidebar and in the Storytelling Traits are phenomenal.

The Strix is awesome. Giant owl friends for your Survival oriented characters, what's not to like?

This is a highly recommended purchase if you like Exalted and want more beasties to work with. You could easily get a great encounter or a character concept out of the Strix (Strix Totem Lunar, here I come!) and Zicnal could be a great character in a story or a chronicle involving the Wyld. His city of Marakanda is a great addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hundred Devils Night Parade: Strix and Zicnal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2017 11:54:32

Reading pre-generated characters has always been one of my favourite things when picking up a rulebook. A well written character sparks the imagination and gives me an insight into a race, a concept or in this case a clan.

This collection contains 13 characters, one for every clan. There are some interesting “outside the box” approaches in this book, aside established clichés but still fitting to the concept of the clan. The characters in this book are delightfully twisted and unique, exactly what I’ve been looking for.

Besides the characters, each with a starting and an experienced character sheet, there are different suggestions on how to tie characters together in a coterie, offering an insight on why a diverse group of kindred might work together. And finally some interesting ideas for plot.

I’ve never been a storyteller before, but I’m currently planning on finally becoming one and and I’m sure this little book will help when I finally set up my first game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thousand Years of Night
by Alex G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2017 16:52:25

Basically, a book for players of Elders in Vampire: the Requiem, with rules which make them playable and challenging.

Every aspect is covered, from the mechanical aspects of generating someone who's got a few centuries of unlife under their belt, to unique character generation rules.

The book describes "new" Clans, but these will be familiar to you if you have other supplements such as VII, the Mekhet Clan Book and Requiem for Rome, namely the Akhud, the Hollow Mekhet and even the Julii. These are Second Edition V:tR mechanics for the originals, superseding their original writeups (and providing writeups for some for the first time). Similarly, the Covenants are brought under the spotlight, including one new Covenant purely for Elders, not seen or described before.

A chapter is devoted to the relationship between Elders and time and history; how the passage of time changes them, and how they touch history. There are tie ins with the Dark Eras Chronicles, because this book describes playing those Elders in various historical eras.

What's it like to portray a being with Intelligence or Manipulation 7, or Wits 6, or Dexterity 8? This book looks into that, too, along with what it's like to play beings with skill dots above 5. You may need Chronicles of Darkness: Dark Eras for a look at older pre-modern skills, though there is a summary here.

What else? New powers - Prestantia is back, making it fun to be an Akhud. Elder Devotions. New Cruac and Theban Sorcery Rites, for Elders. New Coils and Scales of the Dragon. New Merits.

A look at unlife, torpor, retaining your Humanity when even the definition of Humanity keeps changing, companionship, relations with foes and allies, new Banes, Elder Banes, Touchstones for Elders, ghouls, new monstrous enemies to fear, crossovers with mages, changelings and Primordial Beasts ...

There's a LOT of new information in this book, all of it geared towards Elders, aimed at creating Requiem Chronicles as far above the regular game in terms of scope as the regular game is above the mortals game from the Chronicles of Darkness blue book.

I'd been looking forward to a really good new book for Second Edition Requiem. Until something even better comes along, this is the first one that really cuts the thirst. As it were.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Years of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 789 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates