DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 01:39:36

4/5 I really enjoyed the unique characters. I felt the fights weren't tough. My group had a cleric and 2 paladins so the undead never really did stand a chance. The puzzles were more or less just roll a high enough int check. My group didn't have any int and it ended up taking longer then wanted. The encounters were all interesting and I really enjoyed it overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
by Greg K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 09:02:21

This was the first 5e adventure I played in back in 2014 at a con, DMed by Rodney Thomson. I've since run it as a DM. Both times its been great. The main scenarios (jail visit, assault on bandit camp) allow great opportunities for roleplaying, combat, and overall creative thinking. The key NPCs has just enough detail to let a DM fill them out. I'd have liked to see maybe 1 more sentence each on their personality, but what's there is a good start. The open-endedness might be challenging for newer DMs, but for players, its a great experience even for relative newcomers. I'd recommend 2nd level characters though.

Although it is loosly tied to the Tyranny of Dragons storyline, its easy enough to fold it into any campaign. And with minor edits, it doesn't need to even be tied to the Forgotten Realms.

As a player Rodney got us through this in our 4-hour slot. As a DM, we had more time, and the party took 5 hours. Even then I omitted the final Orc attack and just had the bandit meeting break-up based on player actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-09 Outlaws of the Iron Route (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
by Jason M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 07:16:56

A review of the Print On Demand Hardcover: The copy is excellent. Extremely readable, perhaps more so than original printings as the contrast between the background and the text is higher. Images are represtented well, though they're a bit more washed out than original printings. The cover is the only slight disappointment as the image is smaller than the cover and it is framed in black. Same goes with the backcover. However it feels solidly bound and the pages are nice and thick. A great copy if you don't want to shell out the $90 - $100 for a used copy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
In the Cage: A Guide to Sigil (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Nick N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:50:41

Easily one of the most fun new character modules I've run. Each of the 5 parts featured varied enemies (undead, bandits, goblins, etc) as well as differing challenges (Puzzles, social challenges, combat).

A wonderful introduction to D&D and I look forward to running it for my players again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
by James U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:32:24

I ran this module tonight and there are some major issues. I will not be running this again without some major tweaking. Issue #1-Maw demons: They have so few hit points ( even maxed out) and have such a low "to hit" that they are almost worthless at Tier3. As written, I could not possibly hit two of the characters in my party, even on a 20. Issue #2- "Why are we doing this": You start deep in the center of Chult with no explanation how you got there, no real reason for you to continue, no declaration of reward. The "quest giver" is a young red dragon. I made her start talking instead of attacking because my party would have killed her by accident, unless I "DM fudged" her hit points. Issue #3-The "boss fight" was a balor that supposedly needed to be severely weakened before fighting. No legendary or lair actions. I ran it without weakening the balor at all. The party killed it in less than 2 actions per character. I did not allow even a short rest during the mission. It is not that tough for Tier 3. Issue #4-Quasits. Five Quasits in bat form were the extra defenders for a lieutenant. The frightening presence DC 10 saving throw could not be failed by 4 of the 6 players even if they rolled a 1. It was a party that was well rounded. Rogue,Wizard,Life Cleric,Warlock, Paladin,and Trickery cleric/Rogue. Issue#5-(Spoiler)- There is no way to save the dragon's wyrmling (dragon's child). My party talked for 10 minutes about different methods of bringing it back. They decided against the high cost methods because "I think we can just kill the dragon if she attacks us" (They were correct). They tried Divine Intervention but it failed. I did not say anything during those 10 minutes. All in all, this module should be rated mid tier 2. As a DM, you will need to make reasons for the story to make it work.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tortle Package (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:31:55

It adds a race that is different to the standard races, so it is a usefull addition to the core rules. Your Turtle has natural armour and weapons and a few quirks.

This alone makes it valuable.

It also adds a short adventure which can be useful when there is time to fill or you need something simple to run. I wouldn't go out of my way for it though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tortle Package (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:28:01

City on the edge is a great introduction to the port and the faction leaders.

As always, simple one hour adventures that are easy for a new DM or player to get through.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:24:31

This module just seemed too short. There are ways the Dm can pad it out and options for the players to do more work, but if you follow the plot, it is over quite quickly.

It probably needed another encounter thrown in and a DM should consider adding something jungle related.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:22:19

This module is fun and different, but perhaps relies too heavily on the idea that there are dinosaur races in Port Nyanzaru. This was already dealt with in City on the edge, ToA hard cover and Peril at the Port so its really only going to spark the imagination of new players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 19:19:08

This achieved what it sets out to do. It is a little fun for the Christmas season.

It is nothing big or grand or even worth going out of your way for, but if you enjoyed Leonard's Santa scenario in the Big Bang Theory, you'll get a kick out of this one too.

It can be a quick module and should be. Don't drag anything out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 18:47:47

This is definitely my favorite Tier 1 adventure from any season to run as a DM. The adventure starts with the characters just arriving in the village of Parmast, which gives them tons of time to explore and roleplay with the citizens of the town. The conflicts of the story allow the players a lot of choice of which side to take, and unlike some adventures, their choices actually affect the encounters later on. Even during the final combat, there are opportunities for less combat-inclined players to help out through roleplaying and ability checks, which can actually aid their companions in the fight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 00:29:59

Overall an unsatisfying conclusion to a fairly weak trilogy. The seventh riddle is absurd. My table included two biologists and neither of them could figure it out, instead relying on process of elimination, which felt cheap and like they were "banging their heads against the wall". Similarly, it was unclear how the obelisk was supposed to descend to create the steps. The hordes of zombies just seemed fine for a larger table---they held them off effectively to the point where I just ignored the remainder of them and called the encounter done. The fight with the Venom Queen can be interesting, but the RP encounter beforehand is more frustrating than anything. If players aren't being forthcoming with questions and answers, or if they lie about wanting to assist in the rite to summon Dendar, it's hard to tell what the intent is. Is she attempting to summon Dendar? Does she have rites to do that? It's not clear what's going on here other than setting up Dendar as the boogeyman for this adventure, and then she drops down to kill them for some reason. Wadumu's betrayal is pointless, and once again, just seems like the DM or adventure designers being jerks. There's no build up or hints that he's going to betray them, and in fact the adventure gives his reason for betraying them as "I mean, why not?" This is just the "chaotic stupid" trope to a T, which is really just a waste of time and mental energy for the players and DM. The escape from the Fane is relatively boring, and I wasn't sure how to adjudicate it. The trilogy as a whole seems to rely on these "race" mechanics (the race, the mud slide, and this), but doesn't seem to execute them particularly well. I would not run this trilogy again. I feel like my players were more frustrated than anything at these.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 00:10:34

Really enjoyed this module. First, it has more than a few fun NPCs to roleplay to guide you to the boss fight. Love playing Soggy Wren and … uhm… "Grandmothers" are a hoot to play. The Ramshackle King has a fun backstory and a good scene. Since Tier 3 modules are much less common than 1s and 2s, a lot of the monsters in this module were new to me - and to the players. I just wish this were a "very strong" table, so I could see their faces when given a third gargantuan foe to face in an early fight!

I ran this today for a 4-person table, a Barbarian/Battlemaster 11, a Thief/Champion 11, a Light Cleric 13 and a Battlemaster 15. This table rated as a "weak" table and if I had to do it again, I'd probably give them the challenge of "average" or "strong" combats. Perhaps it was their hot dice and the fact that I kept rolling 3s for initiative, but my table didn't have too much of a threat during the battles. Since the module is generous with long rests, the characters were able to enter the final battle with full strength and all their combat abilities to unleash in each encounter. In the final boss battle, I upped the big bad's HP by 50 points and even with that buff, she was killed before she was able to take a second attack. Tier 3 characters have lots of attacks and powerful magical items and with a few hot rolls, a character could quickly knock 100+ HPs off of a BBEG.

Am I disappointed? Heck no. I really want to run this again. It's a fun adventure to run and now that I have one run-through under my belt, I'm looking forward to giving this another go. The players also had a great time.

I am having a difficult time figuring out what score to give this. There is a 5-star adventure in here with a few tweaks (or if run by a DM who is better at adjusting on the fly than me). Maybe it's a 4-star module as presented. Let's average it out and call it a 4.5, rounded up to 5 stars for this review. The next time I run it, I guarantee the table will be playing a 5-star adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Diana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 00:05:16

Overall, an interesting idea, but executed poorly. Chasing down Screaming Wind, while it seems possibly interesting, doesn't make a lot of sense: she's a contact for the Emerald Enclave in Port Nyanzaru, and this is a group of adventurers, and she just... runs? The fishhooks is another interesting encounter, but it generally left my players feeling like I was just being a jerk for no reason with it. The satchel shop interaction is... klunky, to say the least. It was a little unclear to my players why they should care about this, and I wasn't 100% sure how to handle that interaction, and my players seemed mostly bored by it. It's not clear how he's "supposed" (intended) to react if the characters just show him the satchel with the hidden compartment from Screaming Wind. On top of that, are the satchels for sale in AL play? I assume yes, but I'm not sure. This encounter just seems like a good way to waste time, and if they don't show him the Wanderlost, then there's no reason for Wadumu to try to talk to them, so the conversation basically needs to go in circles until someone asks him about it, which there's no reason for them to, unless they suspect he's in on it... it's not a well constructed encounter. If I were to do this again, I might just have Screaming Wind introduce them to Wadumu as a grung who claims to know where Wanderlost is made. The rain mudslide is different at least, but doesn't seem well executed. The mechanics are weird---is each character in a mudslide for a separate 1d4 turns? Lost equipment similarly had my players feeling like I was just being a jerk. The final combat was at least interesting, but was very anti-climactic. It's nightfall, and they haven't had combat all day, so there's nothing preventing them from just going all out with it. There similarly are no real plot hooks to draw them into the next adventure, given that if they succeeded there's no more Wanderlost for the yuan-ti to use in the next adventure.

Wadumu is the saving grace of this module, my players loved him, as he was completely helpful and a good friend.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 10:49:12

My group really enjoyed this. The dinosaur race was the highlight of the adventure for them, it worked well. I wasn't sure how it would be received because it's kinda different, but they loved it.

I like the factions and introductions to them.

Overall just good stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 4134 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates