DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Alex C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 09:59:41

By FAR the worst one in the series. DMed it for my first group, completely skipped it with my second. Here is why:

First of all Screaming wind is suddenly the quest giver while in the first story it was Soggy Wren. I understand that somewhere down the road Soggy has given the satchel to Screaming Wind to investigate the poison but this isn't noted in the adventure AT ALL! Oh and Screaming Wind has this cat familiar all of a sudden.

Then we get to the second part. The demonspawns on the bridge. The kids try to steal something from the party and run away. If you don't follow this up with a chase scene or the Thug encounter this adds completely NOTHING! After that we get to the satchel shop. Don't get me wrong, I love Satine Phoenix and her GM tips show but god damn don't plug your own damn Twitch stream in your story. Hugely unprofessional and again the shop doesn't add anything to the story. The owner has no info at all and isn't an intresting NPC either. I think Satine made him an awesome NPC in HER story with HER players but it didn't translate very well to paper.. OH and there is this random Grung NPC which wants to be the party's guide. (He get's introduced just as abruptly as I started that sentence)

After the grung introduction and the party's free magical item from the frogman we are on our way into the jungle. I once read somewhere, when you add traps to your story make them mean something. Make them real encounters. Sadly the writer didn't get this memo. A mud slide which again adds NOTHING but luckily we get a sob story from frogman to make up for it...

The whole last chapter is messed up. They enter the city, get a tour but Frogman tells the party to wait till it's evening to enter the city..? But the party is already there and get's a tour from the freaking guards. Eventually the party finds a hut where some ritual stuff is happening and kill some snakemen. Tadah there is your story.

If this is the content we are getting for AL I'm glad that my party decided to play ToA non-AL so i can just skip this one. My party now defeats the dino's from story one, Screaming Wind is there with Soggy to explain the whole situation and tells them she has a Grung informant who knows where the stuff is made. The party will go into the jungle, find the small campside of the yuan-ti at the entrance of the lost city in story 3 and we'll just go on from there. Luckily story 3 is way better!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Hristo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 17:54:57

Proceed with caution:

  • hard railroad - the characters need to be captured (and you can't let them escape) - players hate this
  • a memorable last fight in a gladiator arena with super cool mechanics - takes a lot of time to prepare and play it through mentally, be ready to fudge dice to make it interesting (and to avoid slaughtering lvl1-2 characters); the arena fight might get rather trivial if characters have exceptional mobility or teleportation spells such as misty step - best to run this for characters without these abilities
  • few roleplaying opportunities
  • the adventure is tweakable to fix some of the railroading issues, but requires a lot of work and soliciting ideas from the internet - one should not need to do this in a paid modue
  • I would advise against running this as a novice DM


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Matthew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2017 17:00:28

My players seemed to enjoy this adventure, but I felt like the bard was kind of marginalized, without much to do. Meanwhile, the party druid was an all star providing food and water after the caravan was mostly lost in the sandstorm. Also, my players basically wanted nothing to do with the Zent caravan, which bummed me out, considering I'd planned to try to humanize the faction through them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:47:41

Lots of traps, plan accordingly!! If you have a combat heavy party, they will struggle with this one. If you have a very cerebral group, they will enjoy this adventure. It was a blast to run as a DM, and I admit I got a thrill out of watching my party struggle with the traps. Either they figured out the traps and blew the DC or they had no clue and I had to throw them a bone. My only complaint is the lack of Season 6 adventures, which is not the fault of the writer, but rather WOTC. It is fun to run - do so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2017 15:36:59

Season 5 Introductory adventures - designed to run as a set. My table had not done Season 1 or the Book (Hoard of the Dragon Queen). If you are in the same situation, run the adventure as a chaotic time with many factions vying for power. That worked for my group. I feel these are well written and they were well received by my group. I enjoyed running the adventures (but Season 1 is still my favorite). Your players wil quickly learn when to be agressive and when to be diplomatic. A good solid intro to help you ease players into Season 5. You can morph the Season 5 book (Storm King's Thunder) to suit your party if you run these mini modules first.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 21:45:06

I really enjoyed running this module. While it is a little light on actual roleplay, it offers plenty of opportunities for players to engage in creative problem solving. The fact that the characters enter the mission without a definite way out lends a bleak air to the module, that really pushes some groups to get all of the VIPs as soon as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-14 Escape from Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:51:51

This is the combat module of the 3. The first encounter is rough, particulary if you split the party (or if they split themselves). The second one is very difficult. This is what I would expect from a tier capstone, similar to the big bad of Hartkiller's Horn



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:34:47

IMO, the weakest of the trillogy. I have been running this at 1 1/2 hours, mostly roleplay. I love that the focus is on RP and Exploration, and the mudslide has been enjoyable. Other than that, the module is forgettable



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:33:19

Fun Module! most of my players have enjoyed it, both as a non-combat heavy module and dino racing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 13:24:08

Nice to see a 5 mini for T2. The module has a little bit of everything, with some chances to use non offensive magic, more crowd control basis. Overall, a good intro to Chult and T2



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:05:52

Wow! It was my first Tier 2 as a n00b DDAL DM. IMO it required quite a bit of prep time to get the timelines/story/scenarios down, but it ran wonderfully. No matter how much I prepared, my players did something different which was exciting. The whole story unfolds at the table - a great opportunity to get to know your players (for better, or sometimes for worse...heh).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-13 Pool of Radiance Resurgent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
by Jim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 11:01:39

An excellent module with plenty of RP fun, a hunt, a few exciting encounters with hostiles. Quite a bit of material to digest, but if you know it well, it flows wonderfully.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-06 The Scroll Thief (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Jacob M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 10:18:57

I (DM) and my PCs really liked the sluthing and mystory of this module. I added some extra flavor to it in order to suit the campain but in general, this was great. Players specificly commented on how much fun it was for them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2017 08:25:35

I really enjoyed running the race in this adventure. That mechanic added somthing more than just the combat that most adventures offer



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
by Luke R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2017 16:09:12

Whispers in the Dark is a really interesting and dangerous module that throws challenges at both the DM and players.

My only real critique is that this is a module needs some smart prep to keep it under 2 hours. Between the complications that occur during the puzzle solving and the potentially brutal fight in the fane below, I spent almost 3 hours on this mod. I did not want to cut it short because it was my favorite in The Jungle has Fangs Trilogy and the fights were really interesting.

I would suggest that if you're DMing this mod, to think about the way you balance the amount of zombies that flood out from the city toward the obelisk: Too much will mire your party in combat dragging out the puzzle solving and subsequently your total play time, too little and your players will keep trying to fight their way out. This fight became deadly for my group and they used up quite a bit of their utility upstairs before the big fight. They ended up begging for a short rest after getting into the Fane. I would recomend 1 or 2 zombies from a random side of the map per round. They have a considerable health pool so they are almost unkillable in a single round for tier 1 players. 1 or 2 should be enough to give the players impetus to solve the puzzle without over encumbering them.

The Fane of the Fang is an amazing setting for the final battle. The Queen is an imposing challenge and the most interesting boss I've had the chance to run as a DM which could account for the foundation for my excitement. DMs should get to know her spells befor running, some are pretty neat and rarely seen. Also the majority are concentration so watch your overlap. She also has legendary actions so get brushed up on how they work if you don't know already. I would advise throwing in a second enemy just to take some of the inital blows even if its a very low CR Yuan-ti. You may want to be prepared to force some of the Queen's dialogue. Think about it like a villain in a Bond movie that tells 007 their whole evil plot right before they inevitably escape. Will add some drama and roleplay to an otherwise combat heavy and intense module.

Really loved the trilogy and this module in particular. My players enjoyed the puzzle/combat and the challenge of the fight with the Queen. As a DM it was a blast to run.

P.S. I am ignoring completely the rediculous and uncharacteristic "betrayal" that was written for Wadumu. Writing Wadumu as some kind of cunning trickster is utterly pointless. Not to mention his motives for "tricking" the players are mostly altruistic. He just wants to save his people from being murdered by Yuan-ti! I suggest instead, having Wadumu show the characters the exit in the snakes mouth at the end of the encounter and allowing for a heart felt goodbye. It will make so much more sense to your players. Alternatively, you could have him just bolt during the fight through the snake's mouth and cast him as a coward which makes a bit more sense then the way it was written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3648 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates