DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
White Star: Galaxy Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2018 17:15:52

I'm a huge fan of White Star. But what I liked about the product was it's simplicity. Here it becomes bloated.

Backgrounds, Homeworlds, and Skills are added on as well as a huge number of new Classes. But the core engine isn't really designed with all of these add-ons in mind. The foundation is too narrow to support it.

To contrast; White Star Original was a great alternative to something more complex like Traveller or Stars Without Number. But here we've got just as many options, and as much versatility as those products, yet with far inferior execution (due to the core engine not being designed to offer so much)

Is there a big reason to purchase this product if you already have white Star and it's Companion? Not in my opinion. It collates those products well. But adds little new aside from gorgeous art and an easy-to reference layout.

That being said; It's still a solid product. Clunky and improvised at times, but with a love of it's source material (both thematic, and mechanical).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: Galaxy Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Untold Adventures: Deluxe Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
by Royce R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2018 18:00:08

The past few years have been good ones for OSR and minimalist, rules-light gaming. No longer do you have to carry the game between your shoulder blades; now it will fit between your ears or in the side pocket of your lunch kit, and in the vanguard for fantasy and science fiction gaming have been James Spahn and Barrel Rider Games. They may have not reinvented the wheel that is Swords and Wizardry White Box, but they have put some nice rims and mounted some nifty chassis on it.

In Untold Adventures James has managed to go beyond minimalizing S&WWB and has successfully minimalized the content and maximized the spirit of 0e and 1e. I ought to know; I was playing a mixture of both back then and I can't see anything that we were not using or anything we were ignoring. As far as I'm concerned, the last word in 0e and 1e minimalist has been published, all that's needed now are modules to adventure in.

Now if only BRG will give superheroes the White Box treatment...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Untold Adventures: Deluxe Edition [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Untold Adventures [Swords & Wizardry]
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2018 17:23:08

So, what is this? It's a retelling of Swords and Wizardry White Box. It's a complete game in itself. It's pared down into 88 pages but comprehensive in it's coverage of spells, monsters and magical items. It is straightforward and easy to grasp for any role player (especially one who already knows 'The Game'). It wouldn't be especially easy for a newbie however, it's not designed like that. I can't see it being used in the same way that Swords and Wizardry Continual Light might be used, to introduce new players and by handing out a copy of the game. I can see it being used as one-off game system or a quick on the fly game where experienced players want a little more content than S&W Continual Light. I can also see it's usefulness as a resource to swap things in and out of. For example, you could easily swap out the magic items lists and descriptions for use in another game, I can already see myself using this book as the monster lists for my SWCL game. With only a little work you could use these rules to create your own Sword and Sorcery game or Sword and Planet game. In fact, I suspect that's how this system will end up being most useful for, as a hack base for bespoke games. So, what's different/new? As I said, a lot is pared down and simplified. There are two classes: Swordsmen and Spellcasters. Weapons and armour are abstracted to light, medium, heavy etc. The spell list is a mix of magic user and cleric spells and Turning the Undead is a first level spell which scales up in power as the Spellcaster goes up in levels. The claasic races are still there, ascending and descending Armour Class likewise. There are some interesting new rules for character equipment which borrow in spirit from the Black Hack and Henchmen and Hirelings are boiled down (not literally) into rules on 'Assistants'. The spell descriptions are neat and straightforward and will be familiar to anyone who knows Swords and Wizardry and similar retro clones. A few pages of advice on creating adventures, some notes on things like light and time etc round off the game. Worth mentioning here is a section of refereeing and suggestions about how to solve disputes or resolve situations for which there are no rules. Overall, this is a very interesting 'experiment' as author James Spahn himself is happy to call it. Go ahead, it's only a few pennies after all, see what experiments you can make with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Untold Adventures [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 00:38:50

An excellent OSR take on space opera.

7 Classes to choose from including 'Robot' and 2 kinds of Alien the 'Alien Brute' and 'Alien Mystic'

Very smooth, but combat focused, OSR gameplay. Check out the 'White Star Companion' for an easy way to make the mechanics less combat focused.

Excellent starship combat system and a large galley of example ships.

Psychic powers included in 2 flavours. Alien Gifts and 'Meditations of the Way' for 'Star Knights'

A very strong 'How to GM Space Opera' section with several example campaign modes

A large bestiary of aliens and adversaries.

An example star sector and intro adventure.

Black and white art throughout. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:20:49

White Box Gothic by Barrel Rider Games is everything you need to bring Hammer Horror into your White Box game.

The book starts with an introduction to horror and then gives us several new classes.  These classes are:

Monster Hunter - Like Captain Kronos or Van Richten, these fighting men (and women) are trained to track down and destroy the creatures of the night. Each Monster Hunter picks a specialty. Metaphysician - This is a man of supernatural science. The learn forsaken lore, get some spells, and can turn undead. Spiritualists - These individuals have a connection to the dead. They can interact with the spectral and turn incorporeal undead. Wanderer - These nomadic folks are survivors that use luck, trinkets picked up, and eventually a bit of magic to stay alive. Dhampir - This class is for the children of vampires and mortals. Want to play Blade? Now you can. Reanimated - Ever wanted to play Frankenstein's Monster? If so, this racial class lets you do just that.

The second chapter is short, but to the point. It has rules common in horror games, mainly corruption, dread, and curses. The third chapter includes a small selection of spells. Some of these are perfect tools for those fighting against the darkness. Others make the servants of darkness even more powerful. There are also several new magic items suited for horror games. My favourite is bottled courage, which basically gets your drunk, but makes you immune to fear. Many of these items can be used by all classes, which makes them quite useful.

The final chapter includes 15 new monsters. Most of these are classic monsters and opponents, like cultists and werebats. We're also presented with the vampire lord and bride stats, for those of you that what Dracula. Another particularly nasty monster is the plaything, which is like Chucky from the Child's Play films.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:36:45

You want good ol sci-fi in a white box feel....check out White Star....

check out my youtube review: https://youtu.be/O3ack2DaMvw



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Omnibus [Swords & Wizardry]
by Wilhelm F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 15:15:04

The mini-campaign setting and adventures are a goldmine no matter what version of the worlds most popular fantasy roleplaying game or its offshoots your are into. I'm currently 13 sessions into a 5e campaign using this material, and have lots more to go. Excellent value for your gaming dollar.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Omnibus [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2016 02:48:38

Full of neat ideas, White Box Gothic is unfortunately let down by the lack of a good editor and, as a result, is full of typos. That said, these errors don't detract from the product's utility, just its aesthetic. I hope that the publisher gives the product a few good editing passes before releasing this as a POD title.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brimling
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 17:35:06

Oh what fun this brings to the space pirate genre. I will be using this at a convention this spring to add somthing new to my game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brimling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2016 07:35:00

I got my POD and have had a while to look it over and am please to say that I'm very, very happy with this game. The content, the quality and the layout are all top notch!

Here is a review I did for it on my youtube channel:

https://youtu.be/mSXZAxPyRmM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sleepy Hollow
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 14:33:30

There's not much to this, but what there is I really like. I think they could have done without reprinting the story as it's public domain and anyone with an interest in Irving's tale probably has it already. But the scholar class is a cool non-combat class and the NPCs are well made. It's 2 bucks and has about that much content, so it's a good buy (especially around Autumn.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sleepy Hollow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bard
by Dorian Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2016 21:45:23

I like my Bards like I like the economy. No magic. This bard is perfect. The saving throws and ac are not explicitely stated. Instead you are told to treat the bard like a thief at the same level. That was a good decision because it means that you can incorporate this bard in any system (swords and wizardry, basic fantasy, LL, etc) and you know that it will remain balanced with the other classes. The bard is simply a thief with a different set of abilities like mimicry and sleight of hand that improve as the levels go up. The bard is also allowed to use some of the weapons of a fighter.

I feel like this bard is very close to the one discussed 40 years ago in the strategic review. I am very pleased. With this I consider Swords and Wizardry Complete... well... complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hero's Journey Character Sheet
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2016 13:52:32

A two page character sheet with hand drawn artwork, giving it a 'ye olde' look to it. I'll likely use it in conjunction with my own version.

The 2 pages cover practically everything you'd need to make note of.

Worth a download: it's free.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Brimling
by Nickolas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2016 01:33:23

If you like your Sci-Fi Space Operas to be a little more on the fantasy side (like I do!) then I recommend this fun White Star Race/Class supplement. Everyone's favorite little fantasy homebodies have taken to the stars in their opendecked galleons in search of fun and food! I can't wait to integrate these half-men swashbucklers into my White Star games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brimling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Wayne H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2016 19:09:33

James Spahn is the master of OSR games. Coming off the success of his brilliant take on Space Opera, White Star, he takes us back to the origins of the game. The Heroes Journey is an innovative take on Swords & Wizardry, this is James' fantasy heartbreaker. Drawing upon the classic tales, like Tolkien he is practically giving you this game. Well, okay technically he is giving you this game. So get it! Praise it! Love it. Take the journey, the Heroes Journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 115 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates