DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 10:32:40

I discovered this adventure via a review shared in a Numenera/Cypher System community. The many positive reviews it was receiving convinced me to take a look. It proved to be a great adventure!

While I could see this adventure being adapted to a variety of settings, it's absolutely perfect for Numenera. It features wondrous technologies; strange and beautiful lifeforms; and an ethical dilemma that feels very true-to-life. Numenera is a setting that is supposed to ask tough questions, at times. This adventure does so brilliantly. The challenge arises naturally, with no railroading or arm-twisting required.

I look forward to working this into a campaign. I'm actually a bit sad that I'll never discover at the table as a player. It's a very well executed adventure that could've been pretty thrilling to experience first as a player.

I highly recommend this adventure. It's simple, thorough presentation and execution; the impressive moral quandary; and the creatively designed "alien" culture presented within all ensure that I'll take a look at this author's other work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Daniel Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2017 21:46:58

I've talked before about the differences between strategic and narrative role-playing games (RPGs). Some systems lend themselves more to one than the other. Sometimes it comes down to the adventure being played.

There are adventures written to be a series of combats, emphasizing the strategic aspects of the characters being played. Others, like A Breath of Fresh Air by Janek Sielicki for the Cypher System has combat, but is designed to give the players an opportunity to dig into the characters' personalities.

A Breath of Fresh Air has the party facing challenges that are more than just overcoming a number of combats to achieve their goals. Some of the ideas are familiar to what narrative players are used to, but with a nice twist.

The party is positioned to put themselves into the hands of fate. They're faced with overwhelming odds and an escape route presents itself (a standard play for one-shot convention style games). They just don't know what is in store for them by utilizing the opportunity.

This leads the party to be in an environment they cannot survive in for a long period of time. With the timer set, they have to figure out how to communicate with creatures they're not familiar with. Then, as they come to understand the position they are in, they must take actions which could have serious consequences.

Using this adventure as a one-shot or in a campaign has the potential of impacting players and characters in future play. A Breath of Fresh Air will have most players, and characters, questioning their choices as they start to learn about their predicament and the possible consequences of what they decide on doing.

For the standalone adventure, that is the part affecting the characters. In a campaign setting you now have characters who have faced a situation most people don't have to ever face. This gives the players the opportunity to role-play out the impact on their characters in future adventures. The characters will have something to look back on, see what they've done before, and use it as a significant part of their story.

For those who are familiar with ethical dilemmas, A Breath of Fresh Air establishes one nicely. It is well placed in the setting. The options are their within the framework of the game, which makes this a more acceptable location of delving into the underlying theme.

This has been a fun adventure leaving the players, and the game master, thinking afterwards.

Originally published on Guild Master Gaming on Blogspot



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Fantasy Races As Types (Cypher System)
by John N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 09:33:39

I really love the work put into this. I'm very lazy when it comes to running my games, I just like to run them and concentrate on the story. This supplement reworked the Character Type rules, but in a good way.

If you want the feel of old school rpgs, but not the restricting rules, then this is the supplement you've been looking for. It does take a bit getting used to the new ruleset, but it is not difficult. He even made a reason to play a human, which is nice.

The main reason this is 4 stars instead of 5 is I felt it needed a template for creating your own race. Some example characters would have been nice and a step by step how to make a character in this system would have been helpful for new players.

Other than that, this is a great supplement.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Races As Types (Cypher System)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Jade Colossus: Ruins of the Prior Worlds FREE PREVIEW
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2017 15:50:16

Very well done even for a preview of a game setting and campaign. I would highly recommend it to the dnd and rpg community as well as new dms and gms. This would be just as good as a resource to use to build random maps for other games as it is for this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jade Colossus: Ruins of the Prior Worlds FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Predation
by Ronaldo F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:13:14

Fun setting and concept, amazing art and the feeling of a 80's cartoon updated to today. If you are going to pick one setting for Cypher beyond Numenera and Strange, pick this one!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Predation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Katarzyna S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2017 02:19:19

I was in the final playtesting group. This is a spine-chilling, attention-grabbing and mystery-ridden adventure! A definite must - but please be warned that you will never look at mushrooms in the same way...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Predation
by David P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2017 16:11:52

Predation is a great setting, with a very interesting background story, so even in case someone not too keen on Cypher System, as me, it is worth to get the book.

But what the setting book offers?

Predation is a kind of mix of various genres, ranging from post-apocalypse, hard sci-fi, to survival games, dino-riders. The basis of the setting is simple enough, time travellers sent back from our future for some reason into the late Cretaceous period. But then the twist comes from here from other similar concepts, the actual players are third or fourth generation survivors of the original time travellers, and because the time travelling stopped working, they only know the future from tales and legends. The are more natives to the Cretaceous period than to the future Earth. Some of the knowledge and technology lost through the time, but other survived, some became source of ideologies or religious-like movements. But one thing in certain, the doomsday is close by as everyone knows the original time travelling was aimed close to the day when the asteriod will hit Earth, and thus give space for the mammals to raise after millions of year of dinosaur dominance.

Cypher system is not included in the setting book, and you can't really use Numenera's rules keenly (except if you put a lot of effort into it), so if you really want to play it in Cypher System, better to get the basic rule book. However the book includes new descriptors and focuses, which fits well to the setting. Also it re-construct the original four character types into a more scientific setting. But the real new innovation is the companion system, which is very similar to the White Wolf's Wraith: each player's companion is played by another player (in Wraith each player's darker, tempting aspect was played by another player). I like the basic idea, however, while the companion system is well-thought, this is one I have the most problem with too (mind you I did not tested the system yet, did not run or played a game).

Companions themselves has some kind of descriptor to describe their personality, enough to start with. You also bound to choose the type of the companion, which is the general type of the species - like Raptors, Early Mammals and so on. Each would provide some basic stats and some advancement you could by for later. However these few types are not deeply descriptive - which is excusable - the problem is that the art suggest some nice companion type, so some exact examples would have been nice. But the main problem is the stats, which seems only influenced by some advancements, but largerly remains the same. As, for example, the T-rex is a legally open choice as companion, I found it a bit silly, that a T-rex companion's stat will never ever be able to reach the T-rexes as an enemy (hit points remains basically the same, with some possibilities to modify the damage).

The second problem is the lack of choice as a progression of technological/genetical engineering - which is supported as a theme, but for example rule wise I can't see a possibility of having enhanced brain and skill access.

I would really love to see some short of extension with extended companion rules, choices, and generally dinos, plants in a future product. I even have a suggestion of the style written as some short of study of the local flora or fauna.

I love the part of the description of the regions. It is not overly detailed, but gies enough to start with, ideas how the humans adapted to the new environment, as well as descriptions of the main settlements and regions. There are three major groups or organisation included in the book (with some mention of more local groups), all of them interesting, and exciting, and most of them strongly connected to the conflict of the disappearance of the time travel, and the upcoming armaggedon.

The maps are nice, but I see the problem being very small in a real print edition - I have the pdf and the small maps are enlargeable. Would be nice to make these maps accessable somehow to those having the physical copy.

It is probably worth to mention the Cyphers interpretation in this settings. Cyphers and Artefacts are usually something that the player get through encountering time anomalies - something that appeared after the last time travellers arrived and teh time travelling went bust. It is temporal genetic modifications, strange events, strange powers. I like that idea. I would loved to see some more details about these time annomalies.

And probably it is good to talk about the time travel here. While it is important aspect of the game, it is something that is not accessable, more as a plot tool, then actual game mechanism. Which is fine, and very atmosheric - while you won't need to deal with time paradoxes directly as the actions of players - the question of the nature of time travel is all there - what will happen with the humanity after the time travel was successful to Cretaceous? Why is not working now? Could it be the cause of the time travel? What would happen if the humanity living in teh Cretaceous would prevent the apocalypse and the mass extinsion of dinosaurs? Wouldn't that be a death sentence to the humanity to save the humanity at the present? Do the descendants of the time travellers have to die out to ensure the future and the birth of humanity or there is some way to survie, perhaps by restoring the time travel or finding the Eden?

I love the setting, and even keen to give a try in Cypher System, but otherwise I am sure I will use the setting book in another system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Predation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
UXP Deck
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 06:33:28

I really like this deck. Encourages players to spend XP on non-advancement options without adding unnecessary complexity and makes the whole process more exciting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UXP Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Mortal Fantasy
by Graham S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 08:30:25

This is a great supplement for the Cypher system and also the Gods of the Fall setting. If you are wanting to use the light and simple Cypher system in a traditional fantasy setting with a sprinkling of the tropes then this PDF does much of the hard work for you. You'll be up and running pretty much straight away.

The core of this supplement is a catalogue of prebuilt 'Types' that give you the additional 'Classes' that you would want, showcasing the mix and match flexibility of the Cypher system. In many ways this large section acts as a primer for you to create your own and a further guide if you are looking to create new Types in different settings (that's one of the things I want to do).

Further races are available as Descriptors. Theer's some guidance on cyphers and artifacts, Power shifts at higher Tiers, mixing and matching Types and Foci, XP and some more.

Thre are links back into the Gods of the Fall setting, but if you are looking to simply kick out to your favourite fantasy setting then you have most of the bases covered, leaving you to build further from there. A short adventure rounds out this PDF and I really like the adverseries as presented.

Formatted and put together to very high standard, this is a 'must have' for Cypher system players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 23:03:19

This one-off adventure is easy to port in about any sci-fi world (or even fantasy-sci-fi world), but its feel is perfect for the Ninth World. It is an underground story linked to a lost civilization, a huge, ancient juggernout used for a task not contemplated in its duties and two very peculiar communities of strange creatures fighting each other deep down underground.

What I loved of this adventure is not only how its background was built (the underground creatures are very alien in their organization and behaviour, but still everything makes sense once you understood them: there is no "weird for the sake of just being weird") but even more how understanding the background leads you to a maze of moral choices. This should be what sci-fi is for.

Considering the very low price and how this scenario can be very successfully adapted to about any campaign, I warmly recommend this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Mortal Fantasy
by Chad F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2017 21:46:05

If you want to run a traditional fantsay game for the Cypher System this is a nice resource to have. The Cypher System has rules that let you tweak the Types with Flavors to come up with your own "classes", and this book is basically doing that for you with a few more abilities added on to give the Types the familiar fantasy feel. The Types are Barbarian, Bard, Cleric, Druid, Elf, Paladin, Ranger, and Thief. I like this book a lot for the amount of time it may save me if I want to create Types that fit the D&D style classes, and if I don't like something there is a framework that I can tweak with little work.

The layout is nice following the format of recent (2016-17) MCG books.

In addition to the Types, the book has a short adventure, notes on bringing Elves and Dwarves into GOTF, and several racial descriptors that add to the few in the Cypher Core rulebook.

I am happy I bought this book and recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ninth World Bestiary 2
by Steve C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2017 23:10:59

This is a great addition with lots of new enemies to add to the game. I would give this a perfect score except my main gripe is they include some beasties from previous publications. It would have been nice to use that space for new creatures instead. Otherwise, I find this bestiary better than the first one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninth World Bestiary 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2017 15:51:10

It's a bit like Star Trek or Arrival adapted to RPG. A very unusual, complex, and challenging situation presented to the players, with additional sense of wonder. Looking good!

(full review in Polish: http://polter.pl/rpg/A-Breath-of-Fresh-Air-c29556)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Predation FREE PREVIEW
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2017 13:38:54

A little light on content even for a preview but overall a good idea of what is to come. I am very excited about this and will be purchasing it in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Predation FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
A Breath of Fresh Air
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2017 00:09:05

Just finished running ABoFA for my group.

Simply put, it was astounding. The choices that that need to be made come along naturally.

To start off, pros and cons(Avoiding spoils).

Pros -Meaningful decisions -Lots of room to improvise within the situation using the tools presented -Communication with the main plot creatures is really fun! Frustrating at first, but intuitive once things get rolling. -Many many potential outcomes! The documentation gave some likely outcomes as well as resolutions for some of the more likely/common outcomes for most parties. -Quality writing, well fleshed out environments and story. -Very well prepared and realized ecosystem within its own sphere.

Cons -The opening scene seems a bit "openly railroady". The party needs to "activate the pedestal to begin the quest". To any players whom this isn't their first game, the "plot choice" is pretty clear. Some people may or may not like that, and it's a preference thing. -There could stand to be a little more meat to the middle section of the storyline in the PDF itself.

The Adventure took my group 2 sessions, and they all felt pretty happy with it. The pacing was solid, and we came to an unexpected conclusion.

All told, I'd give this a 9/10. Excellent writing, original ideas, good pacing, and fits perfectly in the Numenera setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Breath of Fresh Air
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 263 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates