DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Great Hall
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2017 01:09:58

While the Great Hall for this Modular Kit LOOKS great, printing it myself is just horrible.

I am EXTREMELY disappointed in how this prints off at the 28mm size.

Lets go over a few things shal we?

Printing Instructions Default paper size for pdf is A4. For 28mm scale print at 100% For 25mm (1") scale print at 91%

WHY A4 size? Do you realize that the A4 size for paper is NOT the standard 81/2 x 11 Inches? A4 is 8.3 x 11.7 inches. Unless your job is as a PROFESSIONAL PRINTER, WHO BUYS THE A4 SIZE? Standard paper size for any normal individual, INCLUDING most GM/DMs I'd imagine is the 81/2 x 11 inch paper.

So...I would rather use card stock right? Who wouldn't. This is a nice looking modular tile set and printing on paper would be a waste. At least card stock can give me some rigidity when I lay down the "tiles" on the table for my players to use. So...we're not using standard 8/5 x 11 inch paper...cuz yeah..A4 SIZE?!? So the only other size of paper I have in CARD STOCK is 11x17.

This is nice card stock. I use it for many of my games and it is the heaviest card stock I can get so far from Office Depot. It is 216 g/m2 and it's really nice.

So I start printing some of these tiles off and I'm noticing a problem. NONE OF THEM ARE THE SAME SIZE. Are you KIDDING ME?

Why is the upper left hand tile (the corner tile), we'll call T1, 162mm WIDE and 285mm LONG while the tile to its Right side, we'll call T2, is 165mm WIDE and 287mm LONG, and the tile DIRECTLY BELOW T1, we'll call T5, is 159MM wide and 290mm LONG, and the tile to the RIGHT of T5, we'll call T6, is 165mm WIDE and 291mm LONG?

Thats 4 DIFFERENT TILES, all 4 which are SUPPOSED to connect/match together, that have 4 DIFFERENT SIZES!!!!

Would you like to see a pic of this mess? https://i.imgur.com/eKjZJDn.jpg https://i.imgur.com/uDVGjpU.jpg

So far, the rest that I am printing are ALL different sizes. NOTHING matches up. There is no rhyme or reason to it. I've tried several different sizes, different paper, color and black and white as well. Its ALL a mess.

I also purchased the rest of the Modular Tiles for this set: The Mine Tunnels, Mine Chambers, Rooms, and Corridors. These better not be screwed up either.

In addition, I purchased the Drow City AND the Drow Slave Mine sets. I do hope I do not find these 2 are just as bad.

Unfortunately there are only 2 conclusions I can come to regarding the publisher:

#1 Extreme incompetance. (I can do better in my sleep with PHOTOSHOP then what is presented here) or #2 A cash grab by the publisher to get end users (thats me) to purchase the Cards made by the publisher themselves at 6 to 8 times the price of the digital file.

Want to bet all of the Cards made by the PUBLISHSER are the same size and match up perfectly?

As it stands now, I have purchased a sub-standard product that is all but useless to me in its current form.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Great Hall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Andrew, Thanks for your comprehensive review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed in your experience with the map. I would like to address a few points for you. 1) We chose A4 because it is the International Standard for paper. The vast majority of the world uses A4, and so we felt that was the best choice. And in addition, we do include the full jpeg files with every map (look in your Downloads section), so you would have been able to put them onto any size paper of your choosing. We have hundreds of US customers who are able to use our maps despite the default page being A4. 2) The tiles all have an overlap between the neighbouring tiles. This is because many of our customers glue tiles together with an overlap, and it's easier for our customers to just trim off the excess than for those that need the overlap to add it. Again, we do include the full jpeg files so you can adjust as you see fit. 3) Any of the large map sets you purchased (e.g. where the rooms extend across many pages) will also have the overlap, and are on A4. Again, we do incluide the jpegs so you can adjust as you require. I'm sorry that those are the conclusions you've come to. I can assure you that this isn't a 'cash grab' to get you to buy the cards. For a start we don't even offer card versions of this map yet.
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Pyramid of the Sun Priests
by Terrelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2017 20:12:23

I love the map details, and they are just right for a one shot. However, since i play primarily on roll20 (VTT), i had to reduce the file sizes on the maps just to be able to get them uploaded so i can use them (roll20 limit is 10meg). Then i had to resize them to fit the grid. I would say, if these maps are "VTT" ready, them at least one of the popular VTT sites (roll20) file sizes should have been supported. (meaning having ready made maps with the proper sizes to begin with) Other than that, i'm happy with the maps.

Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Pyramid of the Sun Priests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Shrine of the Bronze Dagger
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2017 12:52:48

A self-contained shrine with the attendant support that a shrine would have is a very nice free gift from this publisher. Congratulations on your 3rd anniversary and thank you for an excellent encounter map.

Paging through your products (of which I have a good part of ownership) from the beginning to present day, it is nice to see your growth in offerings and quality.

Obviously, this map is meant to be a location that is known or as a destination for pilgrims or worshipers. I am using this as a hidden thieves guild location. While the exposed double doors would not be the best for a hidden location, I have set up a “maze” of cliff sides and trails exterior to this location where guards and gatekeepers (what is the secret password?) are stationed before entering the big meeting. To change locale (as the exterior is drawn as a jungle terrain) cut the jungle terrain off and lay over another appropriate terrain where you want the Shrine to be.

Your gift to us is gratefully accepted, and your product line is a welcome addition to our games. My players love the immersion, and the work you have put into your products and I will continue to be a purchaser (not only a downloader of free product) of yours. Kudos and game on!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Shrine of the Bronze Dagger
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Ken. That's a very kind review, and we're happy that our maps make your games more enjoyable
Heroic Maps - Rho-Aglaci Research Station
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2017 15:40:49

I've been looking for various locations to use my Hero Clix figures with and the research station fits the theme perfectly. This station is great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Rho-Aglaci Research Station
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Ice Queen's Palace
by AlexanDer M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2017 10:41:50

After many hours searching and modifying free-to-find maps I just couldn't find something which gave the aesthetic of an Icy Fortress. And then I found this pack! They say time is money, and the amount of time saved (and the massive increase in quality over what I could achieve) made this well worth the purchase for me! Beautifully drawn, intelligently designed and a huge number of little features to trigger the creative juices.

Really excellent map pack!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Ice Queen's Palace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the kind review. We're very glad the map will add something to your game :)
Heroic Maps - Ruins of Trostenhal: Vault & Forge
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 14:16:53

Another great buy from Heroic Maps! The art is beautiful and all the printing options are easy to work with - paged out for your home inkjet or the full poster to send to a print shop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Ruins of Trostenhal: Vault & Forge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Castell Gwythyr Ruins
by Todd B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 14:15:12

Great art well presented. Very easy to print on your home printer a page at a time from the PDF (broken up for you for just this purpose) or a full scale poster at your favorite print shop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Castell Gwythyr Ruins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Schloss von Nachtherz
by Aram d. B. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2017 03:35:20

I finally got to building it yesterday. I have to say, it's a little trickier to do than the other maps I got from this publisher before: This castle is so huge, you can lose track of what printout to glue on the cardboard next. Luckily, as usual, a overview jpg is provided. Plus, this thing is even larger than I thought, so there's no chance you could fit it on a regular gaming table. The overall layout is composed in a way that makes it hard to cut into individual rooms. But anyway, why would you, because when it's done and lays before you in one piece, it looks just so friggin' impressive! The colours are fantastic, the details are rich (all this stuff in those rooms!), and the light effect and patches of dark look very atmospheric. One of my favourite things about this map is the way the grid is laid out: On some spaces you have fine lines to make up the squares figures will be standing in, in some rooms these squares are defined by the stone floor tiles. Furniture stands out above that grid to add to the look, but never in a way that you would get confused where the squares are to move your figures. If you have a big table, I recommend it. If you don't, I recommend getting a bigger table and get this map anyway! I can't wait to try it out on Halloween.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Schloss von Nachtherz
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
by Aram d. B. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2017 12:49:41

This one looks awesome! I especially like the atmosperic colour scheme, cobblestone pathways, and smashed cemetery gates. Plus, the spare rooms contained in the download look very intriguing and useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review!
Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2017 09:17:24

Once again a wonderful set! Fantastic details, an excellent subject and presented in the outstanding way that this publisher has consistently done throughout their lines of maps. It could be said that every cemetery looks the same, what varies is what lies beneath and this set offers all of the variance that is needed in a game/campaign. Spending time or money to print something that you can utilize again and again across many sessions is all you can ask for and this set does deliver. Cannot recommend more highly the value, versatility and advantages of having this set in your bag of GM tricks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! We're very happy the map will be useful in your games
Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
by Alan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2017 20:31:21

The level of detail that the Heroic Maps team consistently puts into their work is very impressive. I've purchased and used a number of their products in private games in the past and am extremely pleased with the map for The Lich's Lair.

GREAT WORK!

The chains and carved arcana are well made and not overused, while the overall "dusty" and "unused" feel of the place is piled high in exactly the right amounts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Small Spider Cave 1
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 10:04:09

Awesome small map that I used as the basis for a side adventure in my 5E campaign. You can read it about it here: https://thulaen.wordpress.com/2017/09/13/session-7-drow-spider-caves/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Small Spider Cave 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Haunted Mansion
by Terrelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 21:56:33

Great Haunted House battlemaps! I found them just in time for Halloween. I'm building a horror/trap haunted house game (D&D 5e) based on these maps. I like the detail of the spider webs, and the decay on the tables, and flooring. I also like how the maps align with the floor maps above or below it. It makes my map transitions on my VTT that much easier, where i can prepopulate the tokes on the next map. Aligning them on Roll20 wasn't that hard at all. Very easy.

Thanks for your work!

P.S. I also have my eye on that Inca/Aztec temple battle maps too.. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Haunted Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Catacomb Tunnels
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 21:32:43

So it's always very easy to review these products from Heroic Maps because basically they are the best. The qulaity design of the maps, the artistry and the competitive price make these my go to maps for whenever I need something new. I've downloaded quite a few of these now, varying from the modular kits to the battle maps and they have all been of the highest quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Catacomb Tunnels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps - Explorer: Night Camps
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 22:06:31

I have been wanting to come up with a Tomb Raider type of adventure, when I discovered these maps. They are a perfect addition! I love them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Explorer: Night Camps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 246 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates