DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
by Hal G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2018 17:02:36

If you are looking for some mysterious secrets of writing role play adventures book, this might not be for you. This is a walk through of the obvious. As you go through and read it, for the most part you will be saying, "ok, yeah, I knew that... ok, that makes sense..." But that doesnt make the book less valuable. Sometimes between the giants, and the super star mutilators and the brain eating Gugermongers its really easy to get lost in your ideas and the next thing you know you either arn't putting anything out, or the stuff you are putting kind of sucks. Sometimes you need Captain Obvious to say "Hey, remember ice is cold...". Thats what this book does. You can see from the first couple of pages that are previewed, Venger talks aout things like his three month formula... month one, jot down notes and ideas, month two, get a draft together and month three, polish it up. That's not NASA... but its damn good common sense. He talks about things you might not know about, he offeres suggestions on where to invest time and creativity, where to put details, where to leave details out. And its all coming from a guy who has been around the block a few times, an actual guy who writes adventures like a fucking boss....

I plan on writing my own game books. I am using Adventure Writing Line A Fucking Boss II to help keep me grounded and motivatied. At 18 pages I can leaf through and reread the whole thing in about an hour. That should be good enough to keep me focused or bring me back on task. I'd higly recommend this book to anyone writing anything.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Girls Gone Rogue
by Van C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2018 21:26:51

Girls Gone Rogue is the first major expansion to Alpha Blue, the sci-fi roleplaying game where your character's sex drive will get him further than his hyperdrive. GGR (as coined by another reviewer), adds some additional mechanics and player creation options, more random tables for everything, insights into roleplaying and Space Dungeon Mastering from the author of "How to Gamemaster Like a F'ing Boss", and 29 pages full of a main adventure ("Ilsa SS"), something of a follow up adventure, and then a bunch of others of varying length and detail. Throughout, this is an entertaining read that has layers of references, humor, advice, and thought provoking ideas glued together by twelve year-old testosterone.

Most importantly, if you were one of us teenage boys that got unreasonably turned on wondering what Sean Young in "Bladerunner" would look like naked, the answer is on p.26. Yes it was worth the wait.

There are game mechanics answers to questions like playing a robot as a PC or playing a half-breed human/alien, as well as the interesting "Weird Sexual Fantasies and Fetishes" optional rule. The ship to ship combat mechanics is refreshingly simple as well. And if you need to role up a one night stand, there are tables for all of that, too. One of the most interesting tables to me are the "Noir-ish Victims, Fall Guys, and Losers" because I didn't realize I needed that, but in retrospect, how could I not and the inclusion makes my storytelling that much better. Another is the Archetypes table: No, it's not a rules-heavy subspecialization of a character class, it's an explanation of a story telling mechanic that I feel gives me the scaffolding as a player or Space DM the ability to be that much better of a co-story teller. I encourage readers to look at each table and additionally ask themselves, "why did VS put this table in here? What is he really trying to tell me?" I feel like you could probably change mechanics or table values without really breaking the system -- I think that's encouraged -- but do take the time to dig into those meta-questions about what's already there and the subtext it creates.

I'm not going to describe the plots to the adventures, but in general, VS sets the stage for you, gives you enough to drive the plot along, and the general ending the adventure is pointed towards. Those are all great, but do plan on actually making up some stuff on the fly to glue things together based on what your PCs do. And if you don't have the glue, there are tables for that.

My one complaint about the entire Alpha Blue franchise overall (as much as I've gotten through, anyway), and I will mention it just this one time rather than harp on it over and over, is that it's written for straight males, or maybe lesbians. I'm all good with the pubescent over-sex drive, because you really have to embrace that esthetic to get the most out of the game, but I feel like there's the opportunity for tables like "Shopping for Purses and Male Meat" and "So you Want to be a Male Satisfier." Yes, other genders and sexualities can do the translation themselves and still enjoy the game, but, as a fan of the author, I have perhaps an unreasonable expectation that he can do better. Fortunately, it's rumored that the forthcoming "How to Play Alpha Blue with Your Girlfriend/Wife Like a F'ing Boss" should help us all avoid Insel-ation.

Rumored by me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Girls Gone Rogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/17/2018 12:12:02

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This supplement clocks in at 33 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page Kort’thalis glyph, 1 page editorial, leaving 30 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

So, the eagle-eyed reader will have spotted, at this point, that this Player’s Handbook is a system neutral book. This may seem counter-intuitive at first glance, considering how PHBs are mostly splatbooks, but bear with me for a while. First of all, while system neutral, the book does offer some crunchy bits – in d20/D&D-based games, these should be represented by a +2 bonus, for d6 dice pool-based games, +1d6 instead. Similarly, the pdf assumes that you know what advantage and disadvantage are. So, while mostly system neutral, the pdf does offer some options to make the content matter mechanically.

Anyways, as we’ve come to expect from Kort’thalis Publishing, the book does contain quite a few random tables: We begin with 30 fantasy-sounding names, before providing 8 different fantasy signs/allocated to months. For example, Iar’tan, the sign of the serpent’s foe, is associated with the color green and nets advantage when fighting serpentine, demonic, etc. creatures. Unique here: The months have variable durations, which can be rather interesting when implemented into your game. The table is interesting and flavorful.

From there on, we get a massive d100 table of oddities you may start your adventuring life with – a 6’ long piece of unbreakable string, a weird, purple wizard’s hat made of velvet, an eternal candy cane, a test tube that makes anything poured inside acidic…you get the idea. We have a lot of delightfully odd bits and pieces here, all of which provide some sort of unique angle, a roleplaying hook or simply something weird. The table is one of the finer ones in Kort’thalis’ oeuvre, and considering the amount of tables Venger has written so far, that’s saying something. It should be noted that this table is just as meaningful and helpful for the GM – something that btw. can be said regarding the whole supplement.

Now, in particularly rules lite systems and minigames tend to gravitate towards serious lethality, which is intended, yes, but once in a while, it may be nice to introduce the “Second Chance”-table: 1d4; dead on 1, unconscious on 2, reduced damage on 3 and totally negating damage on 4. Considering the system neutral nature of this pdf, this is surprisingly nice. The pdf also provides an easy to implement honor/infamy system: The system tracks your deeds, associates and reputation as well as your bonds, a term that encompasses deities worshiped, allegiances, etc. For each honorable or dishonorable deed, 1 point is gained. You roll under your honor value with a d20 in your home turf, d30 in borderlands, and d100 in underworld –on a success, you’re well-known and respected, usually providing advantage for different social skills etc. Both honor and dishonor provide 6 suggested, different degrees of fame/infamy.

Need a name for a named item? A handy table lets you roll prefix, root, suffix, each with a d12, resulting in fantastic names:”Vokfenz’mo”? Sounds like something magical! 20 English names/titles for items are also included. I know that I’d like to wield “Evisceration Complete.” The next page provides a d30-table (updated and expanded from a previous pdf) for abilities for legendary weapons – from creating silence-areas to being poisonous, the list contains a lot of suggested abilities. The verbiage is precise, but this table may be most useful for e.g. Crimson Dragon Slayer and similar VSD6-based games, as there is overlap in benefits with regards to other, more rules-heavy games.

More universally applicable would be the d6 “Did you bring it?”-table. It’s basically a quick and dirty means to determine whether a PC has the given item; if you’re preferring a non-simulationalist item-management in your game, this does the trick. I really like the notion of the influence of personal growth: The section codifies a philosophy or weltanschauung of a character in a 4-step progression linked to levels. The respective developments can each provide a one time static/dice pool bonus to one check. This notion is simple, but one that I enjoy and that is pretty easy to implement for even really rules-heavy systems without breaking the games. A d30-table of core values and belief systems can help you decide some of these for yourself – this is certainly a table that could be expanded further.

Inspired by the parody product “50 Shades of Vorpal”, we get a d30-table. Once per combat, a warrior may roll on the table instead of making the usual attack. This has a couple of issues. One, “per combat” makes no sense in game – a combat can last for anything between a day and a round. You kick in the door, kill a goblin. Combat ends. Door opens, reinformcements arrive. Combat resumes. You get to vorpal in each combat, RAW, If you hadn’t killed the goblin quick enough, you’d have just one roll in the same timeframe. Per combat is a flawed metric to determine ability availability in a logical manner in game. The table includes chances to vorpal allies and yourself…or everything. This table, in short, makes most sense for games that don’t take character mortality or the like very seriously. There is a second d30 table for casters as well. This section was my least favorite part in the book.

If you think that bards suck in your game, there is a list of 12 bullet points that bards may use, at advantage. These are, in a way, mostly social tricks. There is also such a selection for clerics. If you’re playing Crimson Dragon Slayer, this section is absolutely REQUIRED for your game, as it finally provides context for healing. You see, beyond the “big” houserules/tables/etc., the pdf also has crunchy bits/suggestions. On this page, one such boxed text codifies cleric healing (1d8 + level); on a result of 1 rolled, the character can’s be supernaturally healed until after 8 hours have passed. This is an interesting way to limit healing-availability without bogging the game down. Personally, I’d have the no-healing-chance escalate with each healing, but that is just my preference and the tweak is easy enough to implement.

The pdf also contains a massive table, where strange physical characteristics can be found. While nominally a d30-table, the respective entries sport different variables as well, 2 or more, in fact. The pdf also has a rather complex and extensive d30-table that spans multiple pages, with each entry providing a defining moment for the development of your character; from new servants that attempted to murder you to foolish marriage, staggering family debt, etc., there are a lot of diverse angles for taking up adventuring.

Next up is another house-rule, end boss battle bonuses. Each may be cashed in once, and only in fight with the final boss. This adds a component of resource-management based on roleplaying for the boss fight; tragic backstory, catchphrases, etc. can yield bonuses. Particularly rules lite systems will benefit from this, as the variant rules make it easier for the GM to create more potent foes, while maintaining a chance for the PCs to win.

Reflecting upon your life can yield advantage or heal 1d6/level, once per session. The pdf then proceeds to provide a quick and dirty rules to determine the outcome of combats versus swarms etc. – for convention games, this can act as a means to skip past the filler etc. when time’s running out.

The pdf ends with one of my favorite aspects of the book, the “Play Like a Boss”-checklist, if you will. This basically gamifies the act of roleplaying your character! If your phone goes off sans emergency, you lose two points. Attuning new magic items nets 2 points, wiping out factions and settlements, inventing quirks/mannerisms/etc. – all with point values added. This is a really great idea and it actually rewards failing saves etc. – in short, the checklist encourages playing your character in a way that is more fun for everyone. This is amazing, and frankly, I wished it’d be even longer! At 3 pages, it is detailed, but the universal applicability of the section makes it really cool.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no serious glitches on a rules-language or formal level. Layout is, as always in Kort’thalis Publishing books, gorgeous and adheres to a 2-column full-color standard with red veins in the background. The pdf sports a ton of really nice, original b/w-artworks, including a couple of full-page artworks. The pdf comes fully bookmarked with nested bookmarks for your convenience, and there is a second, printer-friendly version of the pdf included in the deal.

Venger Satanis’ Player’s Handbook works much better than a system neutral Player’s Handbook would lead you to expect. Now, if there is one weakness to the book, then that would be that there is no truly distinct separation between the more house rules-y components and the dressing/flavor-centric and truly system neutral components. That being said, this pdf should be considered to be worthwhile for a wide variety of groups.

If you’re playing in a VSD6-based game, then consider this to be THE must-have expansion that you definitely want to have. From healing to the optional means to make the combat engine a bit more nuanced and interesting, this must be considered to be a must-own book for such games.

If you’re not playing these games, the book will still have a lot of inspiring ideas for your games: The dressing is high-quality and helpful, and the checklist at the end is genius. Now, not all aspects herein will be sensible or helpful for every group, and you will not use all materials herein, but as a whole, this pdf is worth owning. Now, yes, I maintain that sticking to a system would have potentially increased the use for a single group, but it also would have diminished the overall appeal of the book. This notwithstanding, you get a lot of nice dressing and houserules for a fair price here – my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
by Kevin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2018 22:42:46

Just like the other products in what I call his "Like a Fucking Boss" product line, AWLAFB2 is easy to read, gets you straight to the point without wasting your time, and is chock full of gorgeous artwork that just inspires you to grab your notebook, graph paper and pen and start brainstorming ideas to torture your friends at your next session.

Currently at a mere $4 on RPGnow, this book is 18 pages with an awe inspiring cover, 5 kick ass whole page artworks and 1 sexy half page art piece. All the PDFs in this line are offered in both the full color version and a tree hugging printer friendly version. The layout is excellent, so the large art pieces and the text work very well despite a heavy water colored (or are these blood stains...?) whole page background art. Overall, the layout, color choices, and art are similar to part 1 (which was already very professional appearing), but it's looking even tighter. Apparently Venger is becoming even more of an expert in his desktop publishing skills.

The text is laid out in 28 small sections with far ranging bits of advice. Each section is typically 3 to 5 paragraphs with a heading that is usually self descriptive like "Interior Art" or "Introducing NPCs" but sometimes something more catchy that forces you to read further like "Let Them Eat Cake", "Hat Rack Descriptions", and "Needs More Tentacles".

The writing style (and art choice) is typical Venger Satanis. Occasional edgy and humorous topics and language along with awesome old school art, some of which is NSFW but all of it is awesome. Included are bits of wisdom spread throughout in easy to comprehend examples that get right to the heart of the matter. Kinda like one of the common themes in the entire book. Your responsibility (as a writer of adventures) is to get to the point so that the reader can get most of what they need without getting bogged down, while at the same time injecting the seeds necessary to allow the reader to expand in the direction they need in real time at the gaming table.

So. if this sounds at all interesting, then just pick it up and read it. You'll learn something, or at least be inspired. I promise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2018 12:56:49

Venger has a new advice pdf with his Adventure Writing Like a Boss II. The pdf isn't so much a sequel as a logical progression to the first. You can read my review of that pdf here. The second pdf in the series focuses publishing adventures.

The book is laid out in typical Kort'thalis Publishing style. There's a vein, textured background version and a vein-free printer friendly version. The artwork is evocative, sexy, and sinewy. The writing itself is direct and entertaining. The text has many subheadings, which Venger uses to discuss various aspects of adventure writing. While many topics are discussed some I found particularly useful in regards to publishing were the ones that talked about artwork, leaving openings for gm's, and reviews. Seriously these are topics that all new publishers need to think about. Of course the adventure writing advice itself is phenomenal too. Venger's good at what he does.

If you're thinking about taking a stab at publishing and (like me) you're still relatively new, then you should definitely pick this one up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2018 01:04:37

"This is the much-anticipated sequel to best seller Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss. Part II has even more advice for the amateur and professional author - secrets which only a select few are even aware. Or maybe it just seems that way because I keep seeing the same mistakes over and over and over again. " this book to go on an actual adventure not a book about adventure publishing! Sorry, I had to get that off my chest folks. The cover art by Lucas Graciano is very well done but has little to do with the contents of Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II. The interior art by Bojan Sucevic & David Miller range from decent to sheer Lovecraftian but mostly seem to match the cover in a Sword & Sorcery motif. The artwork is good & solid reflecting the author's vision. This book focuses on many of the author's own experiences in the rpg publishing industry from behind the keyboard. Venger has written it in a no nonsense style that hits the high notes & some of the low notes of the behind the industry stuff. The author takes his experiences in stereo style instruction to rpg & adventure design that takes a step by step process approach. On the whole its a very straight forward book that has Venger's usual wit & weirdness throw in without a constant running bit of sleaze. Sure there's some T&A after all this is Venger but this is one of his more down to Earth books and that doesn't mean boring. The artwork & layout here is solid and well done by Glynn Seal of MonkeyBlood Design. The advise here is well rounded and I have to mention Venger's stance on rail roading in adventures; "If you can apply any of the following to something you've written, take it behind the woodshed and shoot it between the eyes. A The PCs have to do… A The PCs can't rescue… A The PCs always fail at… A The PCs never… A There's no way the PCs can… A The PCs will… Sure, there are exceptions to the rule. For instance, "the PCs have to offer the bounty hunters a substantial reward if they want to hire them for this job." That's fine because "hire" is specific, but not the only way to get things done. Maybe a PC tries to seduce one of the bounty hunters or blackmails him into tracking down their prey. However, if you write "the PCs have to get into a fight with the bounty hunters in order for them to get captured by Ambassador Kehaan," that's just wrong."

All too often I've seen this exact sort of theme that runs through many old school & even modern OSR products. Don't rail road because its only going to harm the product & Venger continues with this approach. The book is simple & directly down to Earth without being preachy that was one of the short falls I found in many White Wolf products. This one avoids the preachy & pretentious voice. In other words the book does a good job of laying out its voices for writing, publishing, & advise without talking down to its audience. For years I've been telling Venger that he's a good writer & he doesn't need the sleaze gimmick to engage his reading audience. Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II proves that fact in spades & lays the gauntlet on the table for writing more books of this quality. But is Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II a good book? Well, yes for the person whose looking to get into the garage band end of table top rpg's such as the OSR scene.

Are there problems with Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II? Well yes & no, because their small but the book in some ways states the obvious but then if your experienced with small time rpg table top publishing why are you reading Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II?

This book takes the beginning author & walks him or her through the entire behind the scenes aspects of rpg publishing from inception to completion in only twenty four pages with the author's insights, commentary, & humor take on the rpg business. Its actually a pretty solid read for a book with more then slightly ridiculous title. Here everyone needs a hook to grab the buyer's attention and its held. The book's title assures that die hard Venger Satanis fans will be grabbing this book. I'd give this one a four out of five. Grab Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II if you want a no holds bar tour of the rpg publishing world with out breaking the bank!

Eric Fabiaschi Sword & Stitchery blog Want More Original OSR Content? Then subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss II
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2018 18:57:21

This is the latest in a series of rpg advice books all titled Like a Fucking Boss. Don't let the name and OMG Bad Ass style fool you. Venger Satanis is the real deal and this book offers excellent adventure writing advice, even if you don't like 70's sleaze or cthulhu cults. The first Adventure Writing book focused more on the adventure side, this one focuses more on the writing side. It offers solid practical advice on writing and publishing an RPG book, as well as what to write, how to write it, and what will be most helpful for your target audience of game masters. If you have aspirations of publishing your own material, this is a great resource.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Star: Trek Wars
by Jacob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 20:34:53

So, is this the best splat book ever? Is it the most fun resource for gonzo space sleezy opera? Can you afford not to purchase this book? Those question's are all answered handily. I had fun reading this book and was aroused by its content in both lust and envy. Why oh why do books like this seldom seem to reach market these days. As an adult I enjoy being challenged as well as being allowed to have wrong fun. I hate to think that Venger is wrapping up his publishing with what could be his final piece of writing. But print is sadly dead and it is our generation looking to resurrect retro space fare as a means of survival in this the digital age. My deep and sincere thanks for this book, I was changed by it and have new things to offer my players in future games. The adventure is suscint and timely allowing for a food length game with great twists and turns making radome tables come to life. READ THIS BOOK goddammit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Star: Trek Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Star: Trek Wars
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 14:34:55

Battle Star : Trek Wars is the newest and (potentially) last Alpha Blue release. This book is 76 pages of wonderful sci-fi sleaze. There is a standard version and printer-friendly version of the book plus you get a nice map of Ta'andor Galaxy. The artwork is the space opera meets sleaze that I've come to expect and appreciate about Alpha Blue.

The book starts with short story and then leads into some new rules and updates to Alpha Blue. GM's are no longer Space Dungeon Masters. No, now they are officially Bold Dungeon Space Master's. It's cheeky and I like being a BDSM. Want to try a new method of character creation? We've got that too with the new 7 Words and Phrases alternate method. We also get some alternate combat rules for folks that don't want to role damage. This is also useful stuff and a nice set of alternate rules for the elegant system of a more civilized age.

This is followed by 28 pages of random tables. They are a blast and super useful. What kind of tables you ask? Well, we get reasons to keep combats short but entertaining, adventure ideas, adventure rewards, unusual npcs, and fat Alpha Blue loot. There are several more charts, but these are the ones I find the most useful. Oh and the orgasmic surprise chart is fun. The pre-adventure section ends with a discussion of Alpha Blue's strange crypto-currency, MeowMeowBeenz.

What follows are four short scenarios. I won't go into much detail because I don't want to spoil things. I Wear My Heart On My Sleaze is a memorable adventure that forces the pc's to get laid at a party or die. Emergency Escape Sequence Delta Cream finds the pc's caught up in a mystery and confrontation with the Federation. Outer Rim Jobs of Ta'andor sees the player encounter an eclectic groups of scum and villainy while on a job that will turn their fortunes around. Panty Raid on Palyrus 5 is what it sounds like given the context of Alpha Blue: players raid university planets for space panties.

Battle Star: Trek Wars is a fun book. If you're a fan of Alpha Blue, definitely pick this one up. While I know the game will live on, I'm a bit sad at the thought this might be the last Alpha Blue book. That being said, if it is Venger is definitely going out on a high note.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2018 19:21:01

Kort'thalis Publishing has a unique blend of adult comedy. Alpha Blue is a very rules light, very adult RPG. Need a short set up game for a bunch of overgrown adolescents? Alpha Blue can work for you! Just make sure who ever you try to play it with has the right sense of humor.

The art is mostly comical and also NSFW, and the game consists of a lot of tables ranging from D6 to percentile die rolls that could be used in other game systems if you want to add an adult comical element. Layout and design are easy to use. This is sot a serious game, but a funny read even if you never play it.

True story, I showed it to my girlfriend and she asked me to buy her a copy. She is new to gaming but found it an enjoyable read even without her having a strong gaming or sci-fi background.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alpha Blue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Star: Trek Wars
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2018 19:06:26

Kort'thalis Publishing has done it again with their unique blend of adult comedy. Battle Star Trek Wars is an expansion for the Alpha Blue game system, which is a very rules light very adult RPG. Need a short set up game for a bunch of overgrown adolescents? Alpha Blue can work for you! And BSTW adds new scenarios to this already unique game. Personally I use the tables given to add to existing more detailed systems, adding such details as what panties you find in an intergalactic panty raid (Page 14 of BSTW) The art is varied from computer to hand drawn and mostly NSFW, much of it parody or sci fi classic imagery. Layout and design are easy to use. Not a serious game, but a funny read even if you never play it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Star: Trek Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle Star: Trek Wars
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2018 12:20:31

So this might be Venger Satanis's last run down the old space brothel ways of the Alpha Blue rpg according to the intro into Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars.

I'm really sorry to see this development. The OSR needs more independent designers. But what is Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars? "Three sleazy scenarios for the Alpha Blue RPG. Plus, a huge, color map of the Ta'andor Galaxy with die-drop event/encounter tables." This book clocks in at seventy six pages of rules, four sleazy scenarios, a fantastic color map of the Ta'andor Galaxy by Glynn Seal of Monkey Blood Design. All of the sleazy adventures center around the space brothel Alpha Blue with lots & lots of random tables from cosmic orgasms to full blown encounters. This is not a game supplement to take seriously at all, the level of humor is that of perv R rated space sex comedies from back in the Eighties. The sort of Up All Night space romp movies that used to be on late night cable & this book plugs right into that. The text, layout, etc is all up to the usual Kort'thalis Publishing standards. The artwork is good for the product & portrays the sleazy vibe that Venger is going for. If your not into the type of space opera comedy that Venger does then this book isn't for you. Could Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars be used for other OSR space opera style games? In a word yes if the players don't take their role playing seriously. The scenarios are clever & sophomoric in their content but the adventure ideas have some great potential for a space based campaign. There's some great rules & ideas if your an Alpha Blue dungeon master. Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars plays out as it should a sleazy & well written groupings of rules & adventures for the Alpha Blue rpg system. The Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars

book is solidly done for the Alpha Blue rpg system & it would take quite a bit of shoe horning to get it to work with other OSR systems. Is Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars well done? Yes but is it for everyone? No unless their looking for the sort of space sleaze that Battle Star Trilogy: Trek Wars is offering.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want more OSR original content then subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Star: Trek Wars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2018 02:06:57

Battle Star: Trek Wars is a brilliant addition to the sleazy gonzo space opera RPG Alpha Blue. It's bulging with new optional rules and throbbing with news scenarios (FOUR) to make your sexy and campy scifi fantasies into a hilarious reality. Great fun for the whole family! (If your family is a bunch of pervy gamers over the age of 18 who don't take themselves or rpgs too seriously.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead God Excavation
by Shane W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2018 10:04:20

First thing that came to my mind when I read the title was "Who in their right mind would want to dig up a dead God?

Venger Satanis!

Here's the publisher blurb:

Dead God Excavation is a short adventure for characters between 1st and 3rd level. I happen to think it's perfect for kicking off a gonzo, eldritch, science-fantasy campaign. If you incorporate this into your "session zero"... respect, hoss!

This scenario was written for Crimson Dragon Slayer (including some new rules for clerics), but everything can be easily converted to your OSR system of choice.

The layout is sick! But there's also a printer-friendly version for those who are intimidated by such lurid hues (or who want to print it out). Just to make you aware, the pagecount includes the cover, two decorative pages, and a page for the credits. It's a densely coiled micro-adventure... beyond gorgeous demon-haunted sandbox! YOU CAN GRAB IT HERE.

First things first, I have to say I really appreciate that everyone of Venger's releases has a printer friendly version. This is handy, because I still print things off when I run adventures, I haven't wrapped my head around using a tablet or laptop while GMing.

The adventure starts off with a few rumours to set the stage. The one I liked was that the adventurer's have heard of ancient treasures and have come to possibly get wealthy and adventure! Simple enough to install the players in the game world. I should note, that I am probably going to run this module is some form. My first thoughts are somewhere in the desert of Mystara. Quite possibly as a 5e one shot. In the notes at the beginning of the adventure it is suggested to run it as a "session one funnel", while that is a grand idea, I wouldn't be able to pull it off with the 5e group I have. Mostly for "character development" reasons. None of which have anything to do with the packaged material. Onward!

Once upon the scene things start to liven up. There are a bunch of interesting NPCs with really good motives. The NPCs alone can get you going on different adventure ideas.

There is a super cool table with a variety of effects when touching the Alien Metal.

This whole adventure has a demonic/alien/god thing going for it. It's sort of like if you took expedition to the barrier peaks and mashed it up with Call of Cthulu. Actually that's not a half bad idea! The one thing this adventure lacks is a detailed map of the inside of the tomb. Now obviously there's a ton of great resources out there for maps, so just do a quick search.

As a side note, Venger if you need a map you can always tag me man, I'd be happy to try it out!

Prior to entering the tomb there's a nifty table called "Strange Occurrences" here's the text prior to the table. (it gives me the willies)

Strange Occurneces table:

This is not simply the inert interior of a giant container full of deceased demonic deity, but an ultra-telluric biosphere somewhere between reality and the place where dead gods dream. For every 15 minutes spent exploring, roll once on the following random table to determine what strangeness occurs....

All in all this is a pretty solid starting point adventure, there is enough text and flavour to get you going, but not too much that it starts to feel like a railroad. And of course the whole thing is filled with the general weirdness and gonzo that we have all come to expect from Korthalis publishing. I'm almost wondering if its worth challenging Venger to write something straight up? Nah..

If you have a copy of the The S'rulyan Vault II I think this adventure would go hand in hand with it!

Good stuff!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dead God Excavation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2018 13:14:40

Perhaps I’m the sort of lifelong roleplaying junkie who enjoys books on the topic of mastering the infinite expanse of creating fictitious realms governed by dice and delusions. Maybe I have a fondness for those old High Gygaxian tomes where the bearded sage expounded for pages upon what crafts disbelief suspension (Ok, well, yeah - I still covet the 1e DMG). But, in all honesty, many of those musty pages are just filled with regurgitated editorials from hoary denizens of pulp infused pulpits. Am I saying that I didn’t learn anything from the “Kobold’s Guide to…” or Broodmother Skyfortress’ pages of blog reprints? No, there was some legitimate quirk and charm - and I’m not Rients, Gygax, Monte Cook (thankfully) or <insert famous game designer here>.



Venger Satanis writes in a conversational tone, and despite his media image being crafted from indulgences disapproved of by the Satanic Panic era, he genuinely seems to care very much for the craft of running RPGs and your success behind the screen. He doesn’t dip too far into the navel gazing, self congratulating, name dropping excesses of many of these guides - though, honestly, he does pimp himself pretty hard everywhere he writes. What he does, that many other writers don’t, is build your self confidence with reasonable advice and reassurances.

He isn’t asking you to detail a Harn or Tekumel level campaign from the top down. There is a certain understanding of available time that many professional, full time game designers have forgotten about. Whereas there are a number of tables towards the back, he isn’t spamming random generation as a solution to detailed hex crawling and running pre-published adventures. He stresses the importance of informed improvisation, reworking a percentage of written adventures to personalize them, and having self confidence and dedication to your art. It isn’t pompous, it isn’t just for the gonzo - it’s sound advice, some of which might already be in your stylistic grab bag, but it’s thoughtfully (dare I say, kindly?) delivered and I think all but the most self-absorbed and egocentric can gain some different and useful insights. 



The last couple of years at my gaming table have been difficult, mostly due to real life trials and tribulations. It’s been several years since my work life has allowed me to run a long term adult oriented campaign (I’ve managed to keep my kids’ group limping along). I’ve found myself with a growing lack of self confidence behind the screen and the work on my impending campaign has suffered from this.

Mind you, I’ve been roleplaying for over 30 years, most of them spent as a Gamemaster. As my career took a few negative turns, eroding professional confidence and enthusiasm, so did my appearance behind the screen. A lot of my RPG reading as of late has been trying to muster that chutzpah back, maybe gain a bit of higher ground. This book, in one night, did more for me than the dozens of other attempts at refreshing my outlook. 



My one fault with this book is that Venger does occasionally come across as a ‘house organ’ - and this is really only present within the tables towards the back. Though I share a good amount of overlap with Mr. Satanis in his love of weird pulp dark fantasy and Lovecraftian Gothicism, I am not really into “gonzo” campaigns. I prefer to keep an environment of the mundane around the fantastic so that my Weird retains it’s mystic ‘what the fuckery?’ In his defense, this book was initially created for himself - so it is natural that he would have tables for his Purple campaign series.

I also may be more of a dick than the high priest of Cthulhu at the table, as I am that ‘Raggi style’ gamemaster that starves PCs for silver and runs low magic campaigns - making them earn and relish what crumbs I give (I do run traditional higher fantasy for kids, I’m not a complete asshole). This is simply a stylistic difference, and doesn’t invalidate any of his advice. In fact, this book made me reevaluate my approach even there - something I haven’t done in a very, very, very long time. Maybe I will let them gain that first level a bit quicker and let them have a few trinkets a little earlier. 



The layout is pleasant, the art is good (and less risqué than I expected), and - again - the conversational tone is a pleasant departure from most ‘analytical game’ works. I honestly wish I had found this book before others on world building or campaign design. It’s nice to feel like you're not being condescended to, but just having a conversation with another enthusiast who gives a damn about gaming seriously (but not TOO seriously). I look forward to reading more of his work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Game Master like a Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 220 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates