DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 17:31:43

I was very pleased I bought the “Imperial Archives” supplement for the Legend of the 5 Rings game. The supplement provided a vast amount of information about the minor clans that was long overdue and not only presented it in a very accessible layout but a graphically pleasing one as well. The amount of detail will not leave the buyer disappointed. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to any other gamer who was interested in this system.

Dwellyn Myrddin



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 15:56:27

Easily the most entertaining to read rulebook of any game I've come across. Whereas the actual rules of play would probably fit comfortably on a single page, they are related in the voice of the Baron himself, and he is predictably prone to digressions, tall tales, deadpan humor and general nonsense. I recommend reading this in an overstuffed chair by the fireplace with a a glass of Madeira ready to hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan
by Rafael E. V. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2017 09:20:22

Hello.

I'm Eugenio Vergel from Córdoba (Spain). Today (03/15/17) I recieved the Atlas of Rokugan in Hardcover Color Book (Premium Heavyweight) format. The image quality of this book is very bad. The layout of this printed format is cuestionable.

I'm sorry but I'm not recommend this book at all.

Thank you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
by Dominik C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2017 15:12:33

The pdf is pretty good, but the printed book was sent on 29.12., now is 22.1., so shipping (at least in this case) takes more than 3 weeks . . . I wonder if it will arrive some day . . . and I already read that it comes without the big folded map.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2017 10:59:35

The fourth edition of Legend of the Five rings features a more streamlined play experience, advances the timeline of the game, and really helps the newer player understand how life in the Emerald Empire functions. Having played the RPG and CCG since 1st edition, I've been waiting to buy an edition this consice for years. That and the artwork is just breathtaking!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2016 16:28:45

I bought it for the traps gallery mainly, and I placed two of them just in the dungeon my party was exploring. It seems to me the players appreciate it very much.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Android: Free Fall
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 10:51:43

This is an excellent example of semi-military sci-fi set in the Android universe. I really enjoyed this book as my first entry into the ficiton of the setting. This book tackles the investigative possibilities of the near future sci-fi with careful thought. It also explores many of the core areas of investigation that the Android universe puts forth, including both bioroids and clones as possible people, or not.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
by Charlie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2016 17:04:42

Downloaded 3 times, file corrupted all times. Spine of hardback misaligned, otherwise great!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 14:56:15

This does contain the large map from the Atlas of Rokugan book as a single full color image in PDF. I greatly appreciate that I don't have to piece this together to get it printed as a single image at the print shop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2016 18:12:48

The game seems enjoyable from my limited play so far, with evocative character archetypes and options, and an array of advances, mutations and other developments which I can gleefully anticipate. The artwork is lively, high-quality and feels very appropriate to me. I found it fairly easy to create a character who felt different and interesting without being a bizarre departure from the premise, although I must admit I have a lot of exposure to 40K and have played this gameline before, which surely helps.

The core mechanics of the game are relatively straightforward and provide a reasonable balance between failure and success - it's a relatively gritty game, so a certain degree of failure is to be expected. This is particularly true of knowledge and technological skills (in the setting ignorance is a prized virtue and the world full of lies and secrets) and of social skills (virtually everyone is morally dubious, self-interested and deeply suspicious of basically everything).

Where combat comes into play, characters have a reasonable degree of survivability, but sensible preparation and tactical play are important to ensuring you can wreak havoc without dying. Here the skill system provides a good range of potential bonuses so those relatively low skills result in high rates of success. However, I must say it also gets really quite intricate and crunchy, and so is very much not for everyone. We spend a lot of time checking details.

The combat system is not simple, but there is satisfying weight to the game, with plenty of options in combat, aimed shots, a huge range of potential equipment, and of course, injury systems and a dramatic set of critical damage rules. I discovered my sniper could laser people so hard that their grenades exploded, on one occasion destroying the armoured vehicle they were standing on.

There's plenty of scope for variety and for power-development in the game, due to the disparity in equipment, which means a high-powered character can walk casually through low-powered gunfire without a scratch. This is highly appropriate for the setting, and also lets you demonstrate how far you've come (and makes very powerful adversaries both terrifying and an interesting challenge).

There are a large number of small changes from other 40K games, from the way certain weapons work to (more confusingly) the skill breakdowns, uses, and in extreme cases even which skills use which stats. Another shift is that now almost all skills can be used without specific training, whereas previous games in the line had a fairly even division between Basic and Non-Basic skills.

Where I have to ding this book is the editing, at least where the PDF is concerned. It is not the worst-edited RPG I've read (hello, Demon the Fallen), but I find it very hard to use. Some sections don't seem to be arranged in a very logical way - for example, the rules and reference table for obtaining equipment are 150 pages and 4 chapters away from the rules for that equipment - including all the keywords and details you need to cross-reference!

The bookmarking is fairly plentiful but sometimes seems erratic, as well as being a random mixture of all-caps and sentence case, which is just untidy. I was not able to find rules for Cover, for example (neither by bookmarking nor in the index), which seems a pretty basic topic.

The search function seems extremely poor, and although I can't check, my impression is that the book has not been adequately set for text searching. As a basic example: searching for "maglev" will highlight "Ferric Lure Implants" (or rather, "ure Impl") on p65, although in this case it is at least quite near to the world "maglev". This makes it frustrating to use, given that this is quite a complex game with a lot of specific powers, abilities and jargon, and the aforesaid slightly suboptimal ordering. There are also some cross-references and links that are simply incorrect: the Noxious Discharge weapon modifier references "see page 243 for rules on Smoke" but there are no such rules there. I think they may mean the brief reference on page p245, but it's shorter than expected so I'm not sure.

There are also so very many tables to reference regularly in play that I really feel like there should be a single extra appendix at the end which simply includes all the tables. It's a PDF, after all - no space issues really, and it would be extremely helpful for keeping things moving smoothly at the table. Or it could be an extra download. I expect to make one myself when I have time.

Unfortunately the usability issues for this PDF (and to a lesser extent the game as a whole) are severe enough that I can't rate it as highly as the content and presentation deserves. When a game is this long and complicated, ease of use and high-quality indexing/referencing are crucial. I like crunchy games, but I want to know I'm playing them right. If they release an updated PDF that fixes these issues, I will adjust my rating.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Black Crusade: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Forgotten Gods
by Dave P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2016 23:23:23

The quality of the book is superb, however the actual content of the book is severely lacking. I was expecting more new content instead this book is basically some slight lore and new storylines which most GM's have more fun creating themselves. Overall I am disappointed in this book, but if you're looking for some quick quest arcs to get your players use to the game than look no further.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Forgotten Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: Drydock
by peter b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2016 12:34:09

it is cool i was happy with it i like the pdf thank you



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Drydock
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
by Jamie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 14:45:25

Such a great game, the rules were really simple to get the hang of and it led to moments of comedy and terror. We'll go and get more of these games for new experiences



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masterwork Anthology
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 16:41:23

While this product did not impress me terribly, the premise was a noble one, and in that I think this product succeeded. This product acts as a showcase of various different D20 ideas and vignettes that are at once well written and developed. However, this product is also a teaser, and does little to satisfy either a thematic itch or a mechanically inclined one. While many of the parent products can now be found for a nominal rate, it was a bit of a hard sell to think that this book would lead to more sales, though I can't say whether the efforts paid off or not, I can only speak to my own inclinations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2016 08:04:44

With Starfinder just announced, we can hope this setting gets a well deserved update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates