DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 23:00:45

My gaming group was between games so we decided to give the Quick-Start a try. I really like the setting; it's sort of a mix of Aliens, The Twilight Zone, and The Expanse. The adventure that comes with the rules is pure gold! The players were scheming, yelling at each other, making strange alliances, and the game ended in a crescendo of double-crossing death and mayhem! Everyone agreed that it was a blast. The Saga Machine game engine was a bit confusing and it is the reason why I did not give the Quick-Start set 5 stars. Please note that it did not keep me from purchasing the full rules. I'm looking forward to reading more about the setting and perhaps it will further clarify the game system. I highly recommend taking a look at this game and running the included adventure.   I will review the full rules once I give them a thorough read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dime Adventures: Pulp Alternate History Roleplaying
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/12/2017 04:44:56

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2017/09/12/ersteindruck-dime-adventures-mit-karten-und-coolness-in-die-parallelwelt/

Was wäre, wenn? Das durch Crowdfunding finanzierte Pulp-Rollenspiel Dime Adventures spielt im Jahr 1904, allerdings in einer Welt, in der die Geschichte anders – nämlich bedeutend cooler – verlaufen ist. Mit vier furchtlosen Spielern habe ich mich in die Paralleldimension gewagt und das System einmal angespielt.

Braucht die Welt wirklich ein weiteres Pulp-Action-Steampunk-Abenteuer-Rollenspiel? Die Macher von Dime Adventures fanden: ja, unbedingt. Und zwar so dringend, dass sie es auf sich nahmen, selbst eines zu schreiben und eine Kickstarter-Kampagne dafür ins Leben zu rufen. Herausgekommen ist ein System, in dem statt Würfel zu rollen Pokerkarten umgedreht werden, und ein Setting, in dem die Weltgeschichte ganz anders verlaufen ist. Inzwischen kann man das Machwerk als PDF oder Hardcover (oder auch in Kombination) über DriveThru-RPG beziehen.

Die Spielwelt

Irgendwie bekannt, aber doch ungewöhnlich: Arth 

Der Hintergrund, vor dem Dime Adventures spielt, ist die so genante Belle Époque, Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Es ist eine Zeit des Aufbruchs und der Entdeckung: Die viktorianische Periode ging gerade zu Ende, die Verheerungen der kommenden Weltkriege sind noch unvorstellbar, die Welt wird mit Schienen, Telegrafen und anderen Transport- und Kommunikationstechnologien immer enger vernetzt, und die letzten „weißen Flecken auf der Landkarte“ harren ihrer Erforschung.

So weit, so ähnlich ist die Spielwelt der Realität und anderen Steampunk- Pulp- oder Mysterysettings. Doch auf „Arth“, wie der Autor seine alternative Erde getauft hat, ist die Geschichte anders verlaufen als bei uns: Zwar umspannt auch hier das britische Empire unter Regierung von Edward VII. ein Viertel des Globus, doch sein größter Konkurrent ist nicht Frankreich oder Spanien, sondern das Heilige Römische Reich Deutscher Nation, das ebenfalls ein weltweites Kolonialreich beherrscht. Von Kambodscha aus kontrolliert das neue Khmer-Reich ganz Südostasien mit Hilfe seiner überlegenen Luftschiffflotte. China unterhält Kolonien in Afrika, Australien und an der amerikanischen Westküste. In Nordamerika haben sich die konföderierten Südstaaten nach dem Bürgerkrieg unabhängig erklärt und die Stämme der amerikanischen Ureinwohner haben es geschafft, den Vormarsch der Weißen am Mississippi aufzuhalten.

Auch viele andere indigene Kulturen, die im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert unserer Welt längst den europäischen Eroberern zum Opfer gefallen waren, sind in Arth noch durchaus präsent und teilweise auf der Höhe ihrer Macht, wie etwa die Reiche der Parther, Inka und Azteken.

Über- und Außerirdisches

Dies sind nur einige Beispiele für die politische Weltkarte der Parallelwelt von Dime Adventures, die tatsächlich den ganzen Globus berücksichtigt. Statt allerdings unzählige Buchseiten darauf zu verschwenden, historisch wasserdichte Erklärungen für diese Umstände zu liefern, beruft sich der Autor auf „the rule of cool“: Die Frage, ob eine historische Entwicklung realistisch oder auch nur hypothetisch möglich ist, ist ihm bei Weitem nicht so wichtig wie die, ob sie Spaß bringt! Einschränkungen eines Charakters aus Gründen von Geschlecht, Herkunft, Hautfarbe oder Sexualität, wie sie in „realistischeren“ Settings vorkommen, sind hier ebenfalls ausdrücklich nicht vorgesehen.

Stattdessen bestehen völlige Freiheit für Charakterkonzepte und schier unendliche Möglichkeiten für Romantik, Heldentum und Abenteuer. Übertriebener Realismus ist sowieso fehl am Platze. Das Setting bietet nämlich nicht nur eine alternative Weltgeschichte, sondern auch paranormale Phänomene aller Art: Mit Magie, Wahrsagerei und Schamanismus können die Spieler es zu tun bekommen, mit Außerirdischen, aber auch mit Vampiren, Werwölfen oder gar Engeln. Seltsame Erfindungen und mystische Artefakte gilt es entweder zu entdecken oder unschädlich zu machen. Dinosaurier, Bigfoots und andere seltsame Kreaturen tummeln sich in den Tiefen der Dschungel und unterirdischen Kavernen der Alternativerde.

Und hohl ist die natürlich sowieso. Alles in allem ist die Spielwelt von Dime Adventures äußerst schrullig. Dafür ist sie aber von Anfang an liebevoll ausgearbeitet. Das Grundregelwerk enthält eine alternativhistorische Zeitleiste sowie Kurzbeschreibungen zu sämtlichen Ländern, sortiert nach Kontinenten und aufgepeppt mit allerlei kleinen Plotaufhängern.

Die Regeln

Karten statt Würfel 

Die Regeln in Dime Adventures basieren auf Saga Machine, einem System, das Autor Thorin Tabor und sein Verlag Tab Creations für mehrere ihrer Rollenspielsysteme selbst entwickelt haben. Statt Würfeln verwendet Saga Machine Spielkarten, was wahrscheinlich der gewöhnungsbedürftigste Teil des Systems ist.

Benötigt wird ein Standard 52-Karten-Pokerset pro anwesender Person inklusive Spielleiter. Bei einer Probe addiert sich der Wert der Karte, die ein Spieler ausspielt, zum Fähigkeitswert seines Charakters und wird dann mit der vom Spielleiter festgelegten Schwierigkeitsstufe festgelegt. Die Werte der Karten entsprechen dabei der aufgedruckten Zahl, Ass entspricht der 1, Bube, Dame und König jeweils 1, 2 und 3. Im Falle der drei Letztgenannten darf der Spieler zusätzlich eine Karte blind vom Stapel aufdecken und die Werte addieren.

Zu Anfang der Spielsession hat jeder Spieler fünf Karten auf der Hand (außer, wenn der Charakter durch gewählte Vor- oder Nachteile mehr oder weniger bekommt), die er im Laufe des Abends ausspielt. Spieler, die keine Karten mehr auf der Hand haben, decken bei jeder Probe blind vom Stapel auf. Beim ersten Testspiel haben sich meine vier Spieler recht schnell an dieses System gewöhnt. Wer Würfelsysteme kennt, bei denen eine Schwelle erreicht werden muss, wird nicht allzusehr unter der Umstellung auf Spielkarten leiden.

Ein erwähnenswerter Sonderfall ist der Joker: Dieser ersetzt den in vielen Würfelsystemen bekannten Patzer und führt zu einem dramatischen Misserfolg. Als kleine Wiedergutmachung darf der Pechvogel, der ihn aufgedeckt hat, aber fünf neue Karten ziehen.

Aktionen und Konsequenzen

Nach einer Probe kann der Spielleiter, je nachdem ob und um wie viel die Schwelle übertroffen oder verfehlt wurde, den jeweiligen Spieler oder die ganze Gruppe mit so genannten Konsequenzen belegen: Das kann je nach Situation ein Bonus oder Malus auf bestimmte Aktionen sein, etwa, weil der Charakter nach einem Kampf verletzt ist oder sich durch eine erfolgreiche Charisma-Probe bei einem NSC beliebt gemacht hat, aber auch Informationen, Zugang zu bestimmten sozialen Kreisen und alle anderen möglichen Folgen einer Spieleraktion.

Wie lang eine solche Konsequenz hält und wie schwerwiegend sie ist, hängt davon ab, wie weit die durch den addierten Fähigkeits- und Kartenwert erreichte Zahl von der Schwierigkeitsstufe der Probe abweicht. Das Regelwerk hat hierfür eine praktische Tabelle, die hilft, das Spiel im Fluss zu halten. Bei Kämpfen allerdings werden Erfolge, die über den Verteidigungswert des Gegners hinausgehen, direkt von dessen Trefferpunkten abgezogen.

Dabei gilt außerdem: Ein Treffer ist immer ein Treffer, Rüstungen und Ähnliches helfen nur als Schadensreduktion, nie aber, um den Schaden ganz zu negieren. Ein angenehmes Detail des Systems, da es hilft, Kämpfe nicht bis in die Unendlichkeit auszudehnen.

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung im Saga Machine-System verhält sich angenehm einfach. Jeder Charakter hat acht Attribute (Stats). Die Stats teilen sich in jeweils vier körperliche (Stärke, Geschick, Schnelligkeit und Ausdauer) und vier mentale (Intelligenz, Wahrnehmung, Charisma, Entschlossenheit). Die Spieler bekommen Werte, die sie auf diese acht verteilen können, sowie auf die 22 verschiedenen Fertigkeiten.

Zudem ist je zwei der Stats eine Trumpffarbe zugeordnet. Wenn die Karte, die bei einer Probe gespielt wird, zum Trumpf des dazugehörigen Attributs passt, darf der Spieler eine weitere Karte aufdecken – ist diese ebenfalls Trumpf, kann er das Ergebnis zusammenzählen, ist sie es nicht, darf er immerhin wählen, welche er nimmt. Zocker dürften Spaß an diesem System haben.

Der so genannte Hintergrund, den ein Spieler wählt – also so etwas Ähnliches wie Klasse oder Beruf – bringt dem Charakter dann noch Boni auf manche Stats und Fertigkeiten, und das ist es im Wesentlichen auch schon. Nach einer kurzen Einführung in die Spielwelt kamen meine Spieler schon sehr gut damit klar, sich nach diesem System eigene Charaktere zu bauen.

Eher nervig bei der Erschaffung war allerdings, dass die Erklärung etwa mancher Fertigkeiten im Spiel an einer ganz anderen Stelle des Regelwerkes zu finden waren, und deswegen ständig hin- und hergeblättert werden musste. Insgesamt wirkt der Aufbau des Regelwerks recht chaotisch und nicht besonders gut durchdacht, da die Kampfregeln erklärt werden, bevor die Leser wissen, wie die Charaktererschaffung funktioniert. Zwar gibt es im Einführungskapitel der Kampfregeln einen kurzen Abriss über Stats, Fertigkeiten und Trumpffarben, aber diese Dopplung ist doch eher befremdlich als hilfreich. Dieser Umstand ist umso trauriger, da das System großes Potenzial für spontane One-Shots und Runden mit neuen Spielern hätte, wenn das Regelwerk nur einem nachvollziehbaren roten Faden folgen würde.

Erscheinungsbild

Artwork und generelle Aufmachung des Regelwerks passen durchgehend gut zu einem historischen Setting, das Abenteuer, Entdeckertum und Begegnungen der mysteriösen Art verspricht. Der Haupttext steht auf bräunlich-beigem Hintergrund, Zusatzinformationen in dunkelbraunen Kästen, die zerknittertes Pergament darstellen sollen. Dazwischen lockern immer wieder farbige Illustrationen das Gesamtbild auf. Diese sind nicht nur wunderschön, sondern zeigen auch die abenteuerliche Welt von Arth, seien es überwucherte Tempel im Dschungel, fliegende Untertassen über der amerikanischen Prärie oder Zombiehorden in Afrika.

Das Buch ist dabei keineswegs überladen mit Illustrationen. In den Kapiteln, wo die Regeln behandelt werden, kommen sie kaum vor. Im Kapitel zur Charaktererschaffung dominieren Personen die Bebilderung, in der Beschreibung der Welt Landschafts- und Stadtansichten. Allgemein geben die Illustrationen dem Leser gerade genug Information, um als visuelle Inspirationsquelle zu dienen und lenken nicht zu sehr vom Inhalt ab.

Die übrige grafische Gestaltung ist gut lesbar, wo nötig sind Tabellen eingefügt. Der Charakterbogen zum Ausdrucken ist zwar hübsch gestaltet, was aber leider der Übersichtlichkeit nicht gerade hilft. Insbesondere für diejenigen unter uns, die sich nicht im Besitz eines Farbdruckers befinden, wird der Ausdruck des Bogens schnell sehr dunkel und verschwendet Toner.

Fazit

Schönes Setting, aber chaotisch geschrieben

Nach Lektüre der Regeln und einem ersten kurzen Testspiel lautet das Urteil: Spielbar und spaßig, aber nicht gerade benutzerfreundlich. Hauptproblem ist dabei der chaotische Aufbau des Regelbuches: Manche Regeln werden zunächst nur kurz angerissen und mit einem Querverweis auf eine spätere Seite versehen, was für Verwirrung sorgt. Andere verstecken sich in Seitenkästen und kommen im Haupttext gar nicht erst vor. Der Abschnitt über die Kampfregeln steht im Text vor dem über die Charaktererschaffung, was zu Dopplungen und unnötigem Blättern und Suchen führt.

Wer die Konzentration aufbringt, alle Regeln zu lesen und zu verstehen, wird allerdings mit einem im Ersteindruck recht gut ausbalancierten Spielsystem belohnt. Nach einer ersten Gewöhnungsphase dürfte es auch niemanden mehr stören, Spielkarten umzudrehen statt zu würfeln. Für begeisterte Pokerspieler mag das sogar ein Bonus sein.

Das Setting selbst ist Geschmackssache: Ein bisschen Steampunk, ein bisschen Fantasy, ein bisschen Sci-Fi, ein bisschen Pulp, und das alles in einer Welt, die der unseren ähnlich, aber eben doch nicht zu ähnlich ist.

Wer das mag, den können die detailreiche Spielwelt und die ästhetische Gestaltung des Buches sicher teilweise für die frustrierende Unübersichtlichkeit des Regelwerks entschädigen. Dennoch kann man nur schwer darüber hinwegsehen, dass dieses eine gründliche Überarbeitung vor der Drucklegung nötig gehabt hätte. Wirklich uneingeschränkt zu empfehlen ist Dime Adventures daher nur für große Fans von Pulp- und Alternativweltgeschichte-Settings, die gern Karten spielen und zudem äußerst geduldige Leser sind.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dime Adventures: Pulp Alternate History Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows Over Sol: Science Fiction Horror Roleplaying
by ronan r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2017 13:07:48

(en francais ci dessous) I discovered this game by chance, and we liked it ! A dark universe, well introduced by the quick start. The players wanted to go on, so we're playing :) The saga system doesn't bother me ( although I didn't keep the Action Points). There are tensions when the players have to choose : Should I play or should I draw ? ( But I decided to ask for tests less often than with dice-powered rpg) It took several hours before they realized this, and now we gett some marvelous tensions when they had to test !

  • light rules ( but not too lights)
  • .. with tension
  • Interesting Universe, not too fancy
  • and realistic.

I'm happy !

(in english above) J'ai découvert par hasard ce jeu et je dois dire que notre table s'est régalée ! :) Un univers assez dark bien présenté par le quick start, les joueurs ont voulu continuer. Du coup nous y jouons. Le système saga ne nous gêne pas plus que ça ( choix : 1 paquet pour le MJ et UN paquet pour l'ensemble des joueurs). Une fois qu'on accepte le postulat que ça ralentit - un peu - le jeu (par rapport à un bête je de dé), on comprend qu'il faut moins demander de tests aux persos, et on découvre la tension générée par les choix des joueurs ( si si ! ils auront mis la première moitié du scénar à s'en rendre compte, puis chaque "jet" ( je perd une carte ou je pioche ?) apporte alors une tension. ( je me répète, mais c'est d'autant plus vrai que je demande moins de "jets") Je n'ai pas été trop emballé par les points d'actions... je l'ai mis de côté. Bref :

  • règles assez light mais pas trop
  • .. qui génère de la tension
  • Univers assez riche mais qu'on peut appréhender
  • .. et réaliste

Bien content, moi ! :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows Over Sol: Science Fiction Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows Over Sol: Science Fiction Horror Roleplaying
by Jack M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2017 12:40:34

Great setting with a ton of awesome info and backstory and cool art; there are the 3 stars. The missing 2 stars can be found under the weird and clunky playing card based SAGA MACHINE system. Call me old, I'm just not into systems with playing cards. On top of that, the interaction of the palying cards to to game play is disjointed and distracting to play.

If you're a little more open to such systems than I am, then this game is for you. Because, like I said, it's a really cool setting with great fluff!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dime Adventures: Quick-Start
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 06:49:19

For a Quick Start for a pulp adventure game, it's surprisingly good sized at 64 pages. They also continue to put out free teaser products to keep you up to date on the game'sevolution. If you have any interest in the pulp setting to download this and see if you're interested in more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dime Adventures: Quick-Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
by Jonathan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2016 15:12:31

Love the setting as Horror Scifi is my kinda thing. I bought the quick start book & loved running the adventure. i would desribe it as alien( 1st film) with hints of blade runner. I liked the way the story unfolded and charcters who had just come out of stasis found out new things.... dont expect everyone to get out alive.

CARD based system was confusing at first but we designed a flow chart to help with that.

its free! but it a great pick up and try product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows Over Sol: Consequence Cards
by Robert D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 18:05:01

Revised Review

I should stress right away that, to date, I only purchased the pdf - I intend to purchase a POD deck in March (see comments below).

I am new to Shadows Over Sol (I missed the kickstarter much to my annoyance) and I have to say that I love the game. I have recently purchased the POD hardcover of the main rulebook and I have purchased all the SOS products thus far.

I love cards in RPGs and I was looking forward to the Consequence Cards. Since making the purchase Tab Creations updated the cards to include a high contrast set of cards as well; this was in response to the printed cards being difficult to read.

I personally like the product and feel that the cards will be very useful at the game table. The high contrast cards do seem to be easier to read but, so far, I still haven't printed any cards to be absolutely certain.

My only real criticism was that there are only 14 cards in the deck - in light of the fact that the designers have indicated that a POD deck, containing four of each card, will be available (hopefully early in March) for a very reasonable price, my criticism will no longer be relevant. This planned update to the POD deck will also encourage me to purchase a set in March.

In conclusion, I would strongly recommend all the Shadows Over Sol products to anyone looking for an original sci-fi game with a gritty feel to it. Fans of The Expanse should definitely take note.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows Over Sol: Consequence Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Robert, We have recently updated the print version of the Consequence Cards. The print offering now includes four copies of each consequence (56 cards total). We hope that this format will be more useful to you and for GMs ordering a set for players to use at the gaming table. Unfortunately, since we were just today able to mark the new format as released, DriveThruRPG didn\'t grandfather the format into the ongoing GM\'s Day Sale. However, if you send us a message through our contact form at tabcreations [dot] com with your DriveThruRPG email, we\'ll be more than happy to send you a coupon with a discount on the print copy. Tab Creations
Against the Dark Yogi: Mythic India Roleplaying
by Derek K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2015 06:17:35

This is a thoughtful, thoroughly made world unlike most you've seen. The system (Saga Machine) is unique and ties directly into the setting. It is heavily detailed and easily tailored to any play group. Very inspiring!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Dark Yogi: Mythic India Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2015 00:28:50

Love the Saga Machine playing system where you use playing cards instead of usual dice rolls. Going to adapt that system to other RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows Over Sol: Quick-Start
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Against the Dark Yogi: Mythic India Roleplaying
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2014 05:17:17

I posted this elsewhere but I thought it might be of interest here too (NOTE: some book scenario spoilers!):

Last session the PCs saved a swami from bandits, failed to win a chariot race around the walls of a city, discovered that the local Kumari (princess) had been abducted by Yakshas (nature spirits, like elves/faeries in western stories) on the eve of her betrothal, set off to recover her at the request of the Maharaja, and passed through a large forest where they were accosted by Tiger Raja (an enlightened, speaking tiger) and his 50 tiger minions, who demanded that they entertain him or be lunch. They have also heard rumours of a state to the south that has a Monkey Legion, and of a city to the East where a guardian has stood unmoving on a hill outside town for as long as anyone can remember, watching for the advent of the forces of the Dark Yogi.

Was a KS, now available from DriveThru. Card based system, using ordinary 52 cards + 2 jokers per player, with an option to use Ganjifa cards (Indian round playing cards, 8 suits, 12 cards/suit), and also an optional system using d10s. You draw cards from a facedown deck to resolve actions, and also have a hand you can play from (Good karma), and facedown cards the GM can use against you (Bad Karma).

Characters are straightforward to create, you get 5 previous incarnations that give you 2 skills each, 2 Paths to follow (like Archer, Raja, Charioteer, Yogi, Chakra Master, etc), that give you special abilities. You have an Enlightenment score (starts at 2), when/if you die, you reincarnate, your Enlightenment goes up by one and you add your previous life onto your past lives. You also have a weakness per starting Bad Karma. All actions are paid for by Prana, from Chakras, which regenerate a number of points per round equal to your enlightenment score (similar to the Chi mechanism from Weapons of the Gods) . It's possible to have been a non-human in a previous life, this may give you special abilities like claws, the ability to manifest extra arms/legs/heads/etc.

The PCs start at quite powerful and go on from there - our starting 5 PCs took out 60 bandits without breaking a sweat, and the Archer, for instance, began with a skill that allows him to construct things in combat like ladders, small buildings, etc by firing arrows. The Charioteer can buy skills like a flying chariot (vimana), or a legendary semi-divine driver. Yogis and Ascetics can perform austerities that allow them to break the normal Prana limits, and can (for example) learn the use of the OM syllable that damages anything within a zone around the user. Given that it is also possible to acquire Astras (god-weapons), there is potential for PCs to become very OTT - for example, calling a flood that washes away anyone who isn't a Legendary character (there are Legends, Elites and Minions) - pesky enemy army of 1000 people attacking? No problem.

At the end of a scenario you gain XP (sadhana), and also your Good Karma/Bad Karma may alter. When you reincarnate, your Good/Bad Karma ratio determines some features of your new PC.

There are a goodly amount of creatures, both normal (humans, monkeys, tigers, elephants, etc) and unnatural, Yakshas (Fey), Gandharvas (messengers of the gods), Bhoots (ghosts), Rakasas (shape-chaging demons), Nagas, Vetalas (vampires), Asuras (evil demi-gods), and also some major NPCs including the Dark Yogi himself, his minions the Eighteen Wicked Kings, an Enlightened Yogi who has the ability to spend prana to cause Earth tremors around her destroying buildings, cover, etc, etc.

The setting is an India-analogue, so things are recognisable without being direct copies. There are two scenarios in the MRB, and a Campaign Options PDF/Book with a couple more in amongst other things like a more detailed character generation method, options for non-humans etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Against the Dark Yogi: Mythic India Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Against the Dark Yogi: Mythic India Roleplaying
by Matias C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2014 18:44:46

[Originally posted here: http://daystarchronicles.blogspot.com.ar/2014/02/just-backed-4-against-dark-yogi.html]

I haven’t read much about the setting yet (it’s not India, but a fantastic land based on ancient India called Bhurloka), but I've read most of the rules, so I’d like to talk a little bit about that. For starters, the game uses poker cards rather than dice. I wasn't very convinced about this aspect of the game until I saw the rules, then decided that there is no way the game could feel the same using dice.

On a nutshell, you have 8 attributes (4 physical, 4 mental) and several skills. To resolve an action, the GM tells you the relevant target number. If the total of your Attribute + Skill + Card (you draw the first card of the deck) is equal to or greater than the TN, you succeed, otherwise you fail. Success usually allows you to bring conditions into the scene, which acts as a bonus or penalty on further rolls. For example, if you want to disguise as a Prince and you succeed, you may gain the “Disguised as a Prince” condition, granting you a bonus every time you want to act as a Prince or where being a Prince could be helpful; on the other hand, you may use the same condition as a penalty on anyone trying to pierce your disguise.

On top of that, each player has both Good Karma and Bad Karma. Good Karma is represented by the cards you have in hand, while Bad Karma is represented by cards on the table facing down. Good Karma can be used by the player in several ways, the most common use being using a card from your hand rather than a random draw from the deck for a check. Bad Karma, on the other hand, may be used by the GM to complicate things for your character. You gain Good Karma by doing good deeds and following your dharma, while you gain Bad Karma by breaking the rules (like stealing or touching a dead body).

The combat system is very interesting, with the player spending points from his Chakra pools (5 different pools) to perform several actions each round. For example, you may spend crown chakra to read a book, afterwards spend lower chakra to run, then spend another lower chakra to jump over a cliff and finally spend more lower chakra to land a spear attack upon an enemy. That way, you may take several actions per round based on how much chakra you have on your pools. You recover a little bit of chakra each round (similar to how chi breath works in Weapons of the Gods).

A very interesting feature for combat is that most of the time you are probably going to face hordes of lesser enemies, maybe under the orders of a more powerful enemy. As such, the game has a very interesting way to represent this. A unit is equal to a single individual, with a number of HP equal to the number of individuals in the unit. You may attack the unit just like any other regular character, but what’s interesting (I don’t remember having seen this in any other game) is that each time the unit attacks a character, that character automatically deals a number of points of damage to the unit, representing that even as the unit strikes you, you managed to take some extras out of the fight. That really makes you feel epic (it also helps that most attacks can’t kill your character, only leave him unconscious, only major villains and special attacks have any chance to kill a character).

As for character creation and advancement, that’s where things get interesting. To create a character you have to first think on his previous five incarnations, and each incarnation will grant your current self skills (or other benefits if he was non-human, like the capability to fly if he was a bird on a previous life). Then, you choose two Paths that apply to your current character. Paths are archetypes like Spearman, Archer, Charioteer or Yogi; they give you starting equipment and, more importantly, they tell you which traits you can purchase (a character may only purchase traits from his Paths and from the Universal Path).

Traits represent special equipment, combat maneuvers, tricks, allies or weird powers your character has. Some are very mundane, like the ability to make a counterattack in combat, while others are far more surreal and mythic, like the ability to build constructs by firing arrows (my favorite trait in the whole game) or a God blessing your chariot so it can fly. You start with 2-3 traits based on your Paths, but you may purchase more during the game.

As for character advancement, the most interesting part actually happens when you die. At any point, the GM may choose to move the timeline a generation, so that all characters die and are reincarnated again. When that happens, your Enlightenment score goes up one point (that is, you become more powerful and awesome). With time and reincarnations, you’ll be able to gain more Paths, recover more Chakra per round, have more Health and overall kick more ass. In addition, if you are not into multiple generations campaigns, the book has optional rules that allow characters to increase their Enlightenment without dying.

My only complaint with this game is the title. When I read Against the Dark Yogi, I picture a short one-evening story game like The Mountain Witch, not a 300 pages book planned for long campaigns. The tile is not bad into itself, but I think it follows a format that doesn't quite picture how big and wide this game is, but rather ties it to a single plot. Of course, it’s a minor marketing detail that doesn't have any impact on how awesome this game is, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

As you can see, I liked this game quite a lot. I like how your character feels epic at all times, while at the same time keeping a simple system that is easy to grasp.

I can’t wait to play this game with my group, and I think you should give it a try as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates