DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Exodus System SRD
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 12:36:35

Edit: Jacob lowered the price from $4.99 to $1.99, so I'm giving the game 4/5 stars.

Excerpt from the full review: https://dieheart.net/exodus-system-srd-review/

The ruleset delivers on being simple and genre-neutral (geared towards slightly heroic antics). I love the open design: no classes, free-form skills, mix character roles. I like the task resolution and the combat system. Within its scope, it offers a lot of flexibility.

It pains me to say: I don't find the game worth the $5. Exodus System SRD has some neat ideas. With its lackluster presentation and the high amount of alternative (free) games, it still falls short.

I would have liked to see it as a Pay-What-You-Want product. Then add a "premium PDF". It could have a nicer style, some artwork, digital bookmarks and "exclusive content" (e.g., more roles).

This is a reading review, so take it with a grain of salt.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Exodus System SRD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Zach Best Family Benefit Bundle [BUNDLE]
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/18/2017 11:30:27

Thank you for organising this: I don't know Zack Best, but if he and his family are in need this is a good way of helping him and I am glad to be able to contribute $10 along with prayers for all those affected by his illness.

As for the actual items, even if you're a hard-nosed gamer out for a bargain and not a soft touch like me, this is still worth a look! There's an engaging mix of old and new materials - including one book I have been trying to get hold of for 10 years! - with a mostly fantasy feel although SF fans will find a couple of Traveller-compatible books from Gypsy Knights Games.

So please consider this good cause and get yourself a good read into the bargain!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zach Best Family Benefit Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cosmic Warriors RPG
by Olivier R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2017 05:57:54

This version of the black hack engine perfectly captures the tone and tropes of manga and anime figuring great fighters and super cosmic powers.

But it's a "light" version. Enough to play for a few levels, but desperatly needing a more complete edition. I can't wait to see it.

KAMEHAMEHA !!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kaigaku RPG
by Bartholomew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2017 13:28:28

Excelent product. Based on The Black Hack adds some really interesting "Oriental" flavors, a cool duel mechanic (which can be used for western showdowns as well). If you enjoy Oriental Adventures, OSR and Black Hack this is a must have product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kaigaku RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kaigaku RPG
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2017 08:24:19

I love it. Rules lite, fun, fast paced combat that captures the feel of Chanbara movie.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Warriors RPG
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2017 20:19:19

I did like gathering ki, and going to 0 hit points is not instant death. But I thought that giving advantage or having a disavantage roll was a replacement for all of those fiddly modifications. having both does seem redundant.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Warriors RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Easy Settlements
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 12:40:03

Pretty mucg designed for fantasy, but you could adapt it for sci fi with a little work. Not very detailed, more of an idea pull file for an overview of a settlement. Chasium Cites, and the World Builder's guidebook from 2e AD&D would help in the larger view and the street levels of this product.. which is how I intend to use them .. for D&D 5e.

Printed clean, just a few pages, easy to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Easy Settlements
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thrilling Powers
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2016 13:53:56

The author describes nearly 40 powers and creates a group of 4 heroes, 4 villains and 1 overlord. That's it. The time campaign it's just a guideline. Not what I expected, definitely.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Webs
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2016 14:12:15

I picked this as my first suggested download from RPGDriveThur when I signed up. The tables are easy to read and use. I tested them out by creating a background for one of my own characters. Some of the results didn't make sense to me as a whole. This was not a problem. The results of the tables were entertaining and gave me plenty of inspiration for how to play my character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Webs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OSR Sci Fi GM Screen
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2015 14:24:11
http://dieheart.net/osr-sci-fi-gm-screen/

The OSR Sci Fi GM Screen is a production in the wake of the White Star hype. While White Star isn’t perfect, it still has lots of fans in the old school community. The GM Screen sheets are a tool to help you run White Star (or compatible) games. As White Star is basically Swords & Wizardry WhiteBox in space, this should be compatible with most old school D&D offshoots. The product is available in an electronic format or as portrait-oriented sheets for use with a GM screen. If you purchase OBS’ GM Screen with these inserts (there’s an option during the checkout process), then you get the inserts free. (Pretty awesome!).

Disclaimer: The author, Jacob Ross, was so kind to send me a physical review edition for free.

What do you get?

The product contains 12 pages total, including cover and OGL.

The player side features a beautiful cover page, a summary of both melee and starship combat rules, an example sector map with an FTL travel system and descriptions of each world. The GM side includes the same sector map, planetary descriptions that also come with GM secrets, a combat summary, a random mission and reward generator and a convenient one-roll enemy generator that scales from mooks to bosses. The quality of the physical screen sheets is superb, they are printed on cardstock paper in color. The background is light blue. The information is easy to read and the sparse artwork really looks superb. The digital download also comes with a print friendly version.

Let’s take a quick peek at the stuff included. Enemy Generator: The author included a method to scale the opposition by choosing a die size which equals the threat level (e.g. 1d6 for a weak enemy, stats are derived from the result). You can roll for attack type (fast, standard, precise and savage attacks) and for abilities. Here’s an example monster:

competent enemy: 1d8 (=5)-> HD 5, To-Hit +5, AC 7 (20/result +3 for competent), ST 7, Morale 7 attack type: 1d4 (=3) -> precise attacks, once per round at 1d6+1/2 damage abilities: 1d20 (=10) -2 for competent enemies -> penetrating: ignore 1/2 HD damage-reducing effects You need to come up with a name and description yourself but other than that it’s a pretty fast method for generating monster stats.

Mission Generator: Another random table with entries for patron (e.g. government), job (e.g. bounty), risk (how many encounters/job), distance (e.g. same city or 2 weeks deep space travel) and reward (e.g. favor owned (proportionate to risk+distance)).

Combat Summary and Space Combat: This is a one-sheet which explains initiative, melee attacks, missile attacks, damage, unseen opponents, movement, morale, and healing. And then the same for space combat, including a table for weapon range. Nice to have although it’s perhaps a bit too much text. I prefer a more redacted version which resembles mathematical formulas as it’s better to absorb the information at a glance.

Missile Attack: Roll 1D20+BHB from Class+Dexterity bonus and any other applicable bonuses. The criteria for hits are the same as melee attacks. Missiles have a Rate of Fire (ROF) that determines how many times per round you can attack with them. Maxla Sector: This is an example sector. It comes with a hex map and FTL travel rates for both the player side and the GM side. Then there’s a sheet with descriptions, one for the players and one for the GM. Information is given in broad-strokes only. There are two additional species, the Shax and the Sha-Iz, who populate the sector. The Shax are a primitive reptilian warrior race while the Sha-Iz are an offshoot of humanity. The product includes stats for the survivalist Shax Implacable and the Sha-Iz Operative who comes across as very rogue-like. Both species sound very interesting and are viable alternatives to the White Star core classes. The GM side of the sector also includes GM secrets. The different worlds include some adventure hooks which should get the GM started.

Summary

This is a really nice product for White Star. I especially like the Enemy Generator and the example sector. The rules summary (combat and space combat) adds a lot of utility. While it’s not necessary for running the game, this product is a really fine accessory and offers good value for your money. I’d rate this as a 4.5 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Sci Fi GM Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Setting Works: Near-Future Rescue Worker
by Kurt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2015 19:10:26

Setting Works – Near-Future Rescue Worker – Review

This booklet PDF is 10 pages and 8 of those are content about Rescue Workers with bookmarks. This product is the second of the series called “Settings Works”, a group of PDFs that cover various aspects of Future professions and how to integrate them into your game worlds.

This one covers firefighters, EMTs and Paramedics in some detail, you are introduced to the players with a short story about some of these rescuers that will be continued in the following booklets. The story instantly had me wanting more of it, the writing is excellent.

Next it goes into gear that the rescuers would use on their person and vehicles, then a short synopsis of 3 PC and/or NPC players. Commanders, Drivers and Workers are given a quick treatment, but I would have liked to see a bit more detail here, these could have been expanded upon with a little bit effort, but what is there, will get the Game Master going enough to start a game session or two.

There are some scenarios covered here, but I don't think an entire campaign can be written with just this product. Maybe an alternating sessions between rescue workers and the first FREE offering in this series, “Near-Future Detectives”.

This one is well done and well written I just wanted a bit more out of it, I give it 4 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Setting Works: Near-Future Rescue Worker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Thrilling Powers
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 13:49:25

This book is a great resource to go with Worlds in Peril, it will really help players and GMs to quickly come up with powers for there heroes, but also will help give an idea how to make your own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Assimilant Menace!
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 13:50:41

Out of 17 pages, 13 are the content. The blue paragraph heading font can be a bit of a pain to read. Error: Page 4: 'They care suited for a variety of genres'. Should be 'can be suited'? Not a bad version of a certain cyborg species from a certain sci-fi series.

Artwork looks good. Apart from White Star; I could use it for X-plorers, maybe.

At £1.92, it's pretty good.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Assimilant Menace!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Hero's Journey Workout Plan
by Mamading C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2015 10:59:43

This is brilliant stuff! I'm eight days into the programme and I'm really enjoying it. It has the right blend of challenge, variety, narrative and even some weak game mechanics to motivate one to stick with it.

As a geek, who finds it hard to get started and even harder to stick with exercise programmes, I can say this is a real winner. I'm publically blogging my progress at https://www.facebook.com/mamading



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Workout Plan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arc Threads
by davidicus s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2015 17:06:22

great tables and discussion. although covered in the text, some kind of diagrammatic or bulleted breakdown or worksheet of the suggested arc process would have been nice. triple-spaced paragraph breaks were a mild annoyance to an otherwise easy and clear read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arc Threads
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hey, thanks for the kind words. I have been attempting to hire an editor to create worksheets for this supplement (plus Character Webs and Species and Societies). You won\'t believe how hard it is to find someone who understands the industry but isn\'t already swamped in work.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates