DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Absolute Adventures: Horror at Misty Meadows
by ES B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2016 15:12:04

I enjoyed this module-

  1. The effects of the crystals really helped to set the mood that something strange was happening.
  2. The artwork and descriptions also help to build a unique setting.
  3. Some of the encounters may not work for some players -- I think mine will roll their eyes at zombie dinos, but others may see it as a great change from the usual.
  4. The BBEG is OK - a bit of a moral conflict for characters as they realize that he might not be bad...plus some frustration with not being able to get at the monster pulling the strings - this isn't bad - it might be a hook to a longer quest that is driven by player interest.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Horror at Misty Meadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2016 08:43:40

I just ran this last night and this is my first review. Overall, I loved the quality of this adventure and the story was excellent. I will definitely be looking at others created by this publisher.

Pros: * Excellent artwork and organization: The maps and monster information were professionally done. The whole thing was laid out great and I never had a problem finding anything.

  • Plot (No Spoilers): The story was tight and easy to understand. There was a chart at the end to give you multiple options for the cause of the issues. Instead of just one villain/ally, there are multiple choices that can go either way.
  • Variety:There was a good selection of puzzles, traps, environmental effects that could be inserted wherever you choose. A combination of village/NPC interaction and dungeon crawling. The monsters were unique twists on basic creatures that really added to the flavor.

Cons:

  • Level requirements: I had a party of five level 7 players and they completely decimated many of the fights. I even scaled up one fight from two of each creature type to TWENTY of each and that didn't help. I would definitely advise sitting down ahead of time and running through combat with your player's characters to get an idea of how the fights will go.
  • Length:This adventure was 60+ pages but my group went through it in one session of about 3-4 hours. If you wish to make it a longer campaign or multiple sessions, I highly advise using the dungeon generator to extend it. Or possibly add sidequests to the village so that the players don't get all the information they need right away.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by D. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2016 10:16:56

Disclaimer: I have read the adventure in detail, but have not gotten to run it yet.

All in all, a fun adventure with some neat stuff that could easily be moved into your other games. The production value is quite good, with nice art and maps. It's well laid out and easy to follow and reference.

I have a couple of minor quibbles with a couple of aspects, namely how the "disease" that is plaguing the town is described and its cure, which I'll avoid here for spoiler prevention, but those things are easy enough to alter as you see fit. I also agree, at least at first blush, with the other reviewer that the suggested level seems a tad high for what your adventurer's will actually be up against, but you can adjust that easily as well.

Well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Adventures: Sewers Under Sandwall (5E)
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/09/2016 19:34:00

Solid adventure that is definitely worth a couple bucks. I think the location and plot work a lot better as a lower tier quest or intro dungeon crawl. The suggested level of 5-8 seems high-not necessarily for the combat challenges but the scale seems more "local hero" then "hero of the realm". I would have liked to see a full labelled map and even if the encounters were random the work of creating the map would be done-though I understand where the designer was coming from with variability and replayability. I would play up the weirdness level for the right group and this adventure could be a lot of fun and a great home base and starting off point for a new group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Battle Master
by Radosław G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2016 08:18:40

As Danilo K. wrote there is very little content in this "book" for its price. 17 Pages - 1 (Cover) - 1 (Backpage) - 1 (Credits) - 2 (Thanks and foreword) - 1 (advertisement for maps) leaves with 11 pages of usable content of which 2 pages are graph for print out seen in video (in color and b&w), another page with example of filled graph and 4 pages of examples. In fact, whole advice (and I mean it - it's just one advice) is contained on 3 pages which you could figure out from video. The rest are examples and single table. I'm not saying the advice is bad - it's good actually but it is not worth $5 (not to mention $7 full price).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Battle Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the feedback, Danilo! Because of this review, as well as our beginning to release larger supplements (Be a Better Battle Master was our absolute first release), we have just lowered the price to $2.95. Thanks again. We want to respond to the concerns of our customers, and give them good reason to return to our little shop. :-) - Barker
I apologize for the mistake I made on your name, Radosław. I misread your post. Thanks again! - Barker
Be A Better Battle Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:50:11

As with all Be A Better Game Master from Absolute Tabletop currently available on DriveThru RPG, there are good things here, but perhaps too few of them for the current price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Faction Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:48:22

As for Be a better Weapon Master, what is in this supplement is great, but it is somewhat lacking in content for it's price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Faction Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Be A Better Weapon Master
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2016 14:58:21

This is a good product, but it is somewhat light on content for it's price. What is there is great, however. It has two lists for each major fantasy weapon category, one of 10 magical properties it may have, and one of 20 mundane or magical aesthetics. Also it has small bits of other useful advice, and is very visually pleasing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Be A Better Weapon Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Absolute Encounters: Goblin Go-Karts
by Eric I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 14:44:53

This product was one page that didn't even really have 1 full encounter in it. It essentially has one monster for 0.99. This is a trap. Do not purchase.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Absolute Encounters: Goblin Go-Karts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey man! We totally understand the situation and your displeasure with this supplement. We initially gave \"Goblin Go-Karts\" out for free to our release-day e-mail subscribers, and due to this review, have included that information in the description of the product. Also, all of our future \"Absolute Encounters\" and \"Absolute Adventures\" will include more material to make it worth the time and money belonging to those interested enough to try out our work. We would be MORE than happy to refund your money for this transaction, Eric. If you shoot an e-mail to absolutetabletop@gmail.com, we can get that going straight away. - Barker
The Trapsmiths of Dragongrin
by Nichole B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2015 01:10:06

Once again, great work guys :) The content is so imaginative, and this in particular really opens up a whole new range of possibilities for the dungeons I create. Traps, which I've avoided using in the past due to their clichéd nature, will now have a unique spin on the story all their own ;). This pdf, much like your other one (I'm sensing a theme here) is well set out, easy to read and just full of great content, and I loved the unique feel of the artwork. I look forward to seeing what you guys create in the future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trapsmiths of Dragongrin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Trapsmiths of Dragongrin
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 17:27:55

For the most players, traps are seldom seen as a legitimate threat. Part of it is the fact that they are programmed threat, and are generally predictable; an "experienced" player will often be able to spot where the cluster of traps may be. This supplement is quite unique in that it gives traps name and faces to attach to. I very much like the idea of trapsmiths returning to the sprung trap to re-arm them, so that same adventurers can't feel safe in the same corridor next time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Trapsmiths of Dragongrin
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2015 06:53:10

This definitely adds some much needed flavor to traps and learning about the people behind the traps makes them interesting to read about. Well done with the background and making the traps unique to the builders. Specific product feedback: The Astral Hand trap has damage type/save in two descriptions but then there is a table to roll damage type/save so it was unclear which to use. Essence Trap and Magnetic trap were a little difficult to understand how to run. Also on page 9 the text goes off the page. Again great flavor and enjoy the video! Same group that made the Tiefling product which was also full of new flavor.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Trapsmiths of Dragongrin
by Sarah C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2015 21:36:51

Exciting cover and just packed with detail. I show up for characters and background and was not disappointed. Raelon, though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tieflings of Dragongrin
by Sarah C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2015 13:23:12

This is my first time downloading a pay-what-you-want supplement and WOW. Blown away. There is so much here - it feels very complete. The art is great, the layout is very professional, the writing is clear and paints a great picture. I think they've included something for every kind of player to latch onto.

I especially like the accompanying video that shows a method for coming up with your own unique cultures within canon races.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Tieflings of Dragongrin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Tieflings of Dragongrin
by Evan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2015 00:02:24

For a name-your-price supplement, this one is definitely a must-have if you like tieflings or want to flesh them out for your campaign. The artwork is not only the nice touch, but the races are very well thought out and described well. The given history, qualities, and overall themes of the race are excellent and the spells innate to them only help to round out the concepts even further. The races feel fresh and far from stereotypical or rehashed. Definitely some of the best supplement content I've found for tieflings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates