DriveThruRPG.com
Find Category











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fifth Edition Funnel
by Alfred C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2017 09:24:21

I grabbed this PDF a while back and used it in a one shot. We had fun with it, and now that I'm starting a new campaign again, I decided to use it for the beginning of my new tale. All of my players love it after session 1, and this looks to be setting up to be the beginning of a fun new adventure for my group.

1st session we had 4 players with 4 commoners each. The game started off with an orc raid on their small village. I created a few other (8) NPCs with the same concept to creation to see how many can survive. I added a few elements of my own on my end, like when a Players PC successfully made a move, showed bravery, was blessed with a lucky roll, etc so after the Funnel part is concluded we can highlight each survivor to help determine a class that fits them, as well as help dictate the advancing of their stats to equalize them as a level 1. End of session two playes have 3 PCs left, the other two have 2 left alive, and I have 3 NPCs fleeing town as survivors with them. There is also 1 more known survivor captured by the orcs, and she is one of the PCs wife. We also were able to create a villian for the group, one of the Orcs who slayed 2 PCs, an NPC, and captured the wife.

Reason I point all of that out is this system has provided some serious attachment to the PCs and NPCs, as well as created a nemesis, and a future quest for us. It has provided the foundation of a backstory for all of the players, bonding them together, and really helped mold an opening story to draw them in to this new campaign.

Now that they have fled the Town, we are taking on a West March style Hex Adventure through a dangerous territory. Their goal is to flee to a nearby town as refugees where more story elements will start to come in to play.

Bottom line, this short, simple supplement has paved the way for us to embark on a fun adventure with the PCs fully involved. This book has done everything it is meant to do, and more.

5 Stars



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Funnel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Little Bit of Thievery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2017 15:27:41

Fun, original, open and entertaining, my group had a great time. Highly enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Little Bit of Thievery
by Eshan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2017 18:48:26

Super great adventure for new players. With some modifications, I've now used this 4-5 times to introduce new players to the game and almost always had a great reception.

PROS: The first 2 hours of the adventure are almost entirely roleplaying, with a healthy opportunity for ability checks. This is much better than beginning with combat, which can be slow and technically confusing to start with. The scenario almost always (4/5) results in great teamwork and leading new players to understand the benefits of such. There is a great combat opportunity for the last 30-60 minutes.

CONS: The setting and NPCs are fairly dry. I spiced things up by altering the opening (start in a jail), the setting (place the event in an ancient giant's castle), and other fantastical elements (in the castle, I placed various creatures like horses and wyverns in the stables as well as several floors in the Keep that could be explored).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Sjoerd v. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2016 15:39:09

Great, open-ended adventure that worked well at the convention I DM'ed. I did miss some descriptions of the mansion's stable which might be a good addition to the map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2016 13:11:31

A great little subversive adventure. I played this as a first-time DM in a duet with another first-time player, and it was really enjoyable and thorough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Alfred C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2016 17:24:15

I enjoyed this a lot. I have ran this with three groups so far and every time its a hit. I lkiked it so much I made a high detailed map in Photshop for it, and I'd like to share it with you. and see if you are alright with me sharing it on Deviant Art (my map based off of this mod).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Funnel
by Mat R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 14:02:29

Looks very interesting! Definitely going to try this out once my current campaign wraps up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Funnel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fifth Edition Funnel
by Nathan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 10:59:19

After reading through the first few pages of the adventure, I know that this is going to be a hit with my RPG group. Even the min/maxers. I'll definitely come back and throw some gold your way in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2016 10:59:53

By far, the best one shot I have ever ran or played. I have used this multiple times with various people. Veterans of 10+ years gaming have told this was there favorite session they have been a part of.

Don't let me hype it up too much. Just know, I came in hoping for a unique and fun "thief"/little to no combat session & this delivered.

If you're looking for something that is a change of pace (for most tables), look no further. You won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Little Bit of Thievery
by Ronald K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2016 19:48:55

A nice, little easy-to-drop in adventure. Currently starting an intrigue campaign, so getting an easy to run, low level, heist adventure was perfect. My players enjoyed the challenge presented by the module. Also nice to have something that isn't the typical hack-and-slash and requires use of other skills and rp.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Francisco B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2015 18:44:16

I am a very new DM that wanted a short and simple campaign to play with my kids. This fit the bill. I would run this for adults as well.

My favorite aspect is that it mostly involved problem solving to pull off a heist. It was not a typical dungeon crawl that was primarily focused on combat. There are several options for how to pull it off. And you can give the players as much or as little help in coming up with a plan. In that way, it leads to some creative fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2015 22:10:19

Such a refreshing take on D&D. This presses the 5e engine for what it's good at, social encounters mixed with the threat of real repercussions. If a player makes the wrong choices, they may very well end up in prison, or at the wrong end of a nobleman's sword. Love Ocean's 11?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Geoffrey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 13:50:39

Ran this for a session where only 2 players could attend, both level 3. While a full party would be able to possibly divide their attention and sneak into more areas, the module ran just fine keeping the action on the thieving duo. As they were a higher level, they had a few more tricks to their disposal, but the presence of the guards meant that they were still motivated to go through the heist intelligently and take advantage of the various methods to pull it off sneakily.

After the session, one of the players told me it was his favorite one so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Joel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2015 12:39:20

I downloaded this module, read it, recruited players, and completed it in about 6 hours. In that 6 hours I had one of the most hilarious, tense, and engaging D&D sessions of my life. What started as a one-shot to blow off steam as instantly turned into a series as the player began planning their next act of Larceny.

This module has just enough detail to give the DM and the players a clear understanding of the situation and what options lay before them. But not so much detail as to bog down the DM with reading, length setup and prep times, or constant referencing the source material during the session.

In a game about crime the only real crime would be to download this without rewarding the author for putting together an engaging module well worth the investment of time and money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Little Bit of Thievery
by Carl S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 02:17:09

I realize that writing a review of an adventure that my party is only halfway through may be a bit premature, but holy hell, has this been a ton of (possibly lethal) fun.

I decided to run "A Little Bit of Thievery" during a session that was front-loaded with tons of exposition and backstory, figuring that a fast, simple "steal the item in plain" puzzle and potential tumble would be a fun, low-risk reward for having sat through my many NPC voices for so long. And it was! But it also very much wasn't, in the best way possible.

SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ THE MODULE

This is what my party ultimately decided to do: 1) The elf druid would go obtain the replica raven from the gift shop, and once at the statue, ready herself to change into a small animal that could easily escape in the commotion. 2) The tiefling cleric, having rolled an 18 medicine check, would grind up a dose of Hemlock lethal enough to horridly poison Cirn or kill almost anyone else, stashing the powder into his sleeve for stealthy application when necessary. 3) The stone-obsessed dwarf barbarian would be THOROUGHLY liquered, so just in case one distraction failed, he could confidantly urinate onto one of the glass cases while yelling. And finally, 4) The super-stealthy halfling sorcerer would be the one to actually steal the silver raven.

It was actually a pretty solid, middle-of-the-road plan! They got the raven, the dwarf got sauced (disadvantage on checks and attack rolls), the thief was confidant and our cleric easily convinced Cirn to share a drink to "take off the edge."

And that's when everything went off the rails.

The cleric summoned over a servant with two wine glasses.

CLERIC: "I do a sleight of hand check to drop the Hemlock into Cirn's glass as I pick it up from the top. [Rolls] Uh...okay. So, 4 total?"

ME: "Oh man. You step forward to reach for the glasses, but you catch your foot on your robe and take a false step. You check for the Hemlock in your sleeve...not there. You check the floor...not there. You check the tray...not there either. The poison landed in one of the two wine glasses, but you have no idea which one. You have a 50-50 chance of drinking the lethally poisoned wine. What do you do?"

CLERIC: [after a moment of thought] "...WHELP, bottoms up. [Imitates drinking]"

ME: [As Cirn] "To health!"

I pick up a coin, and decide mentally that Heads would mean our cleric did not drink the poison, and that Tails mean he DID drink the poison. I flip...and Tails. After a moment of awkward smiles between him and Cirn, the cleric doubled over due to searing gut pain. I had him roll a CON save - another 4, leading to him writhing on the floor, screaming like he wanted Cirn to...

...causing a considerable distraction (with most of the crowd including Barrister and Cirn huddled over the cleric) that the rest of the party didn't pass up on.

The dwarf went first, circumventing his previous "pee on everything plan" to both take off his pants and attempt to pick the lock of the case with the swords and shields. Natural 20, which we all decided overrode any drunken disadvantage. He scooped them up with both arms, member wagging indifferently.

Next came our hafling thief, doing a DC 15 sleight of hand check, with advantage. First roll: 7. Second Roll: 8. In his frustration over not being able to pry the glass case open, the halfling accidentally lets go of the case with a firm push, knocking over the entire centerpiece, crashing and breaking into a million pieces on the floor.

The crowd all looks back at the same time. The halfling, all eyes on him, quietly takes the replica raven from the druid, and tosses it next to the real raven on the ground.

HALFLING: "WHICH ONE'S THE REAL ONE?!"

DRUID: "I TURN INTO A RAVEN."

CLERIC: "I roll up a new character."

DWARF: "Rocks are heavy!"

END OF SESSION.

What a frigin' fun lil' romp, and it left us with a genuine cliffhanger with life and death in the balance. Will definitely be throwing in a few bucks to this adventure very soon to encourage further publications.

SIDENOTE: If I had to complain about ONE thing - and it's a nitpicky thing - it's the amount of times the module references "diplomacy" checks. I know what that means, but if you wanna get technical about 5E rules, there's no such thing as a "diplomacy" check. The closest analogue would be one of the 4 Charisma based skills, tailored to fit the situation. This really isn't a big complaint, because now when I see "diplomacy," I think on the fly about which skill would make the most sense given the conversaion thus far, but it can be a bit of a derailment when I accidentally ask my players to "make a diplomacy check" while reading ahead, and they ask where "diplomacy" is on their character sheets. Again, super nitpicky.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
That sounds like a perfect session. Amazing. Thanks for the review! It\'s nice to see others have as much fun with it as we did during playtests. You are right, of course, there are no diplomacy checks in 5e. Looks like I\'ll spend part of the weekend updating the adventure. :) Thanks for letting me know.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates