DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Blood and Bone - Campaign Setting
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2017 16:39:09

I just would like to give a shout out to the publisher who helped me out with an order issue.

Great custmoer service along with a great campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone - Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Bone
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2017 16:36:36

Great low magic system and intriguing campaign world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood and Bone
by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 17:25:30

I haven't run this system yet, but I defintely plan to in the future. Looking through the content of the PDF, the art is the highest quality. All of the pictures bleed detail and add to the setting.

As for the mechanics themselves, Blood and Bone has a classless system for the most part. You build your character and specialize them via feats. I appreciate that this setting is a low-magic setting, and magic has a haunted, forbidden flavor.

As for the campaign setting itself, I will probably be stealing portions of it for my current campaign. I appreciate that all of the cultures get their own section laying out their culture and traditions, and every city has a short pargraph blurb talking about what it is. I could read one of these sections and set up a city very quickly and plan out an adventure.

My one downside was that there were some typos, so the editing could have been tighter, but I think that's a minimal detraction to a quality product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone
by ms s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2017 13:32:29

It looks great! I particularly like the character creation segment on beliefs and complications--would be a good model for creating complex characters for any kind of story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone
by Masha L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 15:15:49

Blood and Bone is a fantastic dark rpg setting that is filled with both highly narrative gameplay and engaging deadly combat.

The artwork, as well as the general visual presentation of the book, perfectly capture the atmosphere of the dark fantasy setting. The stunning paintings and their ambiance are an impeccable gateway to this perilous and enigmatic world.

One of my favorite elements of Blood and Bone’s rule system is the minimal use of dice. The D20 core mechanic helps streamline gameplay by keeping the players actively involved without slowing down the pace of the game with unnecessarily roll checks. The rules are also designed in a way that you could easily adapt this setting to any other rpg system of your choosing.

The world of Ossura features an incredibly vast and rich campaign setting that allows for hundreds of ways for your players to explore. The apothecary section is quite unique and I enjoyed reading about the carefully crafted elixir options.

Overall Blood and Bone is a wonderful setting that seamlessly weaves outstanding world building, unobtrusive rules and mechanics, and a compelling trait system. Blood and Bone is the complete package and I can’t wait to see how far I can take its adaptability.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone - Quickstart Rules
by Clay D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2017 11:07:56

Game World: 4 stars The tagline is "Game of Thrones meets Dungeons and Dragons", but the world is much more like GoT, with an emphasis on grittiness and regional identity and politics. Magic (known as "blood") is more common than in GoT, but less varied, with a focus on healing/curing and its opposite (harming/cursing/despoiling).

Art: 5 stars Beautiful drawings and watercolors that create and embellish a deep and consistent theme. Surprisingly high quality for a self-published title.

System: 2 stars Alas, there's nothing original here and the system is too simplified for most d20 fans and yet too complicated for anyone looking for a "rules-light" solution. If you like the game world and art, I'd recommend translating it into your favorite system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone - Quickstart Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review! It is worth noting that Traits (the core of the system) are purposefully not included in the Quickplay document. For those just interested in the setting, it is available as a standalone, system neutral title!
Blood and Bone
by Shaun L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 23:20:25

I played a Blood and Bone campaign with a few friends, and I can honestly say that this system and world is fantastic. I highly recommend that everyone who is a fan of d20 systems to give this a try.

Characters do not have classes and instead are able to acquire whichever upgrades that help flesh out their character. Upgrades include anything from having higher chances to intimidate someone, remembering how to lock/unlock any lock you have already picked, cleaving through enemies with huge weapons, or gaining the ability to raise the dead. You can make pretty much any interesting character with these abilities, and they all have a dramatic effect on your gameplay and strategy.

The system also has a great method for gaining proficiency in skills. Every level, you are able to gain proficiency in new skills or increase your proficiency in your current skills. Instead of gaining flat modifiers to your rolls, you instead roll additional proficiency dice (d4, d6, d8, d10, d12) along with the d20. I love being able to expand my characters to naturally learn new abiilties as they progress through a campaign.

While Blood and Bone has many great features, my favorite by far was the Tenacity system. When players do some wonderful roleplaying, the GM gives them a Tenacity (they also start with some at the beginning of a session). Tenacity can be used to gain advantage on a roll or to use a special upgrade ability. However, players can use their Tenacity on other players too! Some of the best moments in the campaign were when one player is in a perilous situtation and another player donates them a Tenacity allowing them to vanquish the foe.

All in all, I have a wonderful time with this system, and I will be playing it for a long time to come. I cannot recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Bone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grin (French)
by Adrien S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2017 13:40:46

The system is nice, but it's not a translation, it's a copy-paste from Google Translator... I'll have to get the original version now.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Grin (French)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello Adrien, Its seems the last translator ripped us off. An updated version has been posted, please give it a look!
Folktale
by Ian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2016 05:48:42

Is this a long, incredible system? No, this is exactly what it claims to be - simple rules for some role-playing. The artwork is solid, the short document is easy to read and will print out relatively well. But how is the core mechanic? I've experimented with making games much like myself, many a time, so it was encouraging to see at least another person who had a similar idea. What I truly appreciate about the small game is even though the mechanics could be summarized on a queue card, I can already see a lot of potential in the idea. I paid $2.00 and was not dissapointed, and will be introducing this to my gaming group shortly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Folktale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Art Pack
by Raymond O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2016 13:32:20

This honestly feels like a collection of images anybody could spend 5 minutes doing some googling and put together. Few of them even feel appropriate for a character portrait.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Art Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Folktale
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2015 13:47:17

This is the FU system with minor adjustments. Like adding damage. FU is free, grants free licenses, and lets you publish on their website. So why is this the second product in a week to not mention it is made from FU? I would give it a five if they had acknowledged their source.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Folktale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello Michael, Thank you for informing us about FU. Until you\'d done so, we\'d never heard of the system. Our usage of the simple yes/no/and/but dice system emerged as a product of independent origination; The Folktale prototype used cards instead of dice to facilitate a similar effect, which later evolved into the rules as they stand. Had we made a derivative work of the FU system we would certainly have given them due credit, but that is not the case. Regardless, we glad that you have enjoyed our game.
The Doll Game (Dear Mr. Hadley)
by Bianca L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2015 13:13:45

Suggested Price $5.00? For a text only 1 page long? Really? Such suggestions choke the whole idea of "pay what you want". And this is not a Game, no Adventure and not a Series of Letters - its one Letter. The Design is nice and the text is ok but nothing exordinary.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Doll Game (Dear Mr. Hadley)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Bianca, Thank you for showing interest in our game. Here at Arcana Games we are great proponents of the Pay What You Want Model. We advertise most of our games as free to play. We set the suggested donation at $5 because that would be the ideal. There is a $25 recommended donation for the Metropolitan Museum of Art. For many people that is unrealistic, but for the museum, that\'s what they strive for so they can and continue to provide a a high quality service for everyone. If you feel its only worth a dollar, or if that\'s all you can spare, give that! If you play it and really like it, maybe come back and give five. We\'re just happy if the game gets out there and people have fun playing it. That\'s what matters. Money just makes it so we can keep doing what we love.
Dear Mr. Hadley - The Collection [BUNDLE]
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2015 21:16:01

The Dear Mr. Hadley Collection is an excellent resource for any game set in the late 1800s as well as modern adventures. The letters are eerie and set the mood for any horror game very well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dear Mr. Hadley - The Collection [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grin
by Russell D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2015 08:52:55

GRIN brings something different to the table. It's easy to compare it to DREAD as it's a horror game, where the mechanics imply "Succeed until you die or go crazy." It's only one page of rules, just enough for you to grasp but lite enough where you can't help but want to tinker and expand it some. This wasn't a bad thing for me, as I like "building up" with my rules. If you grab the additional supplements (Torchlight and Asylum) you get a glimpse at how to modify the system for the story you're running.

But focusing on this core document on its own: -> Really concise, everything you need rules-wise in a single page. -> Narrative Horror RPG that has more in common with games like Fiasco, where it's intended more for one-shots than campaign play. Also the players (in these rules) don't really have a character sheet aside from a name and a concept. ->Mechanics are a risk-taking "succeed or die." There's a buffer in the way you shuffle the deck to ensure there's game time before tension strikes. You'll find you and the players counting down cards, wondering to odds of each pull as the discard pile becomes smaller than the draw one.

I give it 4/5 because it's GREAT for those who are good at improvising and house ruling. Folks who need more guidance or inspiration will probably be turned off from the game. But with a good group it's really fun, and really intense.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates