DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results











Back
Ultimate Psionics $19.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 11
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Ultimate Psionics
Click to view
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Skjalg K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2014 13:58:09

Ultimate Psionics by Dreamscarred Press is in my opinion an essential book to own for the Pathfinder RPG. Presented in this book is Dreamscarred Press' take on the well known and much loved psionics magic system which originally appeared in Eldritch Wizardry in 1976 for 1st Edition D&D, and has since appeared in most editions of that game. Ultimate Psionics is based on the system introduced in the Psionics Handbook for D&D 3.0 and later revised in 3.5.

With Ultimate Psionics, Dreamscarred Press has brought psionic magic into Pathfinder astonishingly well. The level of polish in this book is remarkable, and the authors and designers of this massive tome have really outdone themselves. Most of the designers involved with this project have an extensive background with the psionics sub-system from D&D 3rd Ed, and that experience and love really shows in this book. The system is excellently balanced, and the book is filled to the brim with options and weays to build effective, unique and entertaining characters, as well as ways of introducing psionics into every campaign-setting imaginable.

If you like psionics, and the unique flavour of the psionics system from 3rd Ed. D&D you will love Ultimate Psionics. This book is a masterpiece, and in my humble opinion should be on the shelves of every Pathfinder GM and player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Luke M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2014 15:53:40

This is a fantastic addition to the world of Pathfinder. You will want to review this book carefully with your GM as many of the powers are, well, Ultimate Psioncs. That being said, it is nice to have this as an option and was missing for those of us who still remember the 2nd Ed Psioncs days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/11/2014 02:44:19

An Endzeitgeist.com review

Sooo...this is it - 453 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement... 448 pages of content, so let's take a look!

All right, to properly preface this - I've been using psionics for about 80% of my DMing career - from 2nd edition to the rather poor 3.0 version (and its kind-of-fixes by Malhavoc Press) to the great 3.5-version...and this is when I found Dreamscarred Press. I liked what I saw there and got just about everything. Fast forward to pathfinder and Psionics Unleashed. It might sound weird, but without this book, my campaigns would simply have missed a central ingredient, like a dish missing salt. It was then I supported the diverse subscriptions offered and got Psionics Expanded - and at first ripped some of the content a new one. The resulting book, though, remains one of my favorite rulebooks ever, on par with the APG. So yes, I was very excited about this book, but alas, the KS came at a bad time for me and thus I don't (yet!) have the hardcover in my hands.

Now there have been quite some errata over the years and getting essentially the "final" up to date version, with new artwork etc. is great. In case you didn't know - this book doesn't stop by collecting the information from Psionics Unleashed and Expanded - it also contains new material galore, which was also made available to customers of the former books in a very fairly priced expansion called Psionics Augmented Vol. I. All of these books have one thing in common beyond their themes, content etc.- I've already reviewed them - in excruciating detail. Were I to go into this level of detail here, the review would probably clock in at well over 30 pages and let's not kid ourselves - no one would read that. I'm already surprised that some people read my lengthy ramblings.

So what I'm going to do instead is give you a brief synopsis of what to expect - 10 psionic races, including old favorites like the blue goblins and new ones like the half-construct forgeborn - all of which come with age, height & weight, attitudes to other races, favored class options and yes, alternate racial traits. Furthermore, each race gets an array of exclusive racial archetypes, often making use of the unique talents of the respective race.

10 psionic 20-level base classes, all of which are superior to any prior incarnation - the soulknife no longer sucks, to just give you ONE example. The classes are also very customizable and some of them rank among my favorite classes for PFRPG - PERIOD.

Basic concepts like the psionic focus, psionic displays etc. - all explained very concisely and thoroughly, with the latter even coming with an extensive, comprehensive list of sample visual, auditory, mental, material and even olfactory displays are provided - as is essentially a beginner DM's guide to how psionics work and how to introduce them to your campaign, including a sample reskin should you not enjoy the flavor of psionics. Skills are also covered, as are feats - how many? The table alone spans 6 (!!!) pages! And yes, having all of them in one chapter instead of three books is a major comfort-plus. The same holds btw. true for the powers. How many do we get? An insane amount. No, really. No less than 100 pages of the book are devoted to powers. now take into account that unlike spells, psionic powers can be augmented, thus requiring less variants of one spell concept than spells and you'll get an inkling of how many options are herein. Have I mentioned all the legendary items (not the mythic ones) - powerful magic items that increase in power over the levels, all with unique artworks and stories to discover? (Yeah, I've reviewed all of them as well...)

There also are no less than 19 Prestige Classes to be found herein and no less than 56 pages of magic items...oh, and beyond that, we also get a glossary that explains terms...and one fact I enjoy tremendously - the book offers astral construct stats and similar player-relevant monsters, but unlike the previous iterations, psionic monsters will be released in a separate bestiary, making this book fully and completely player compatible. Two thumbs up for that!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting of this massive tome are of a surprising quality - excellent and top-notch by any realistic definition. Glitches indeed are thoroughly minimized to the point of being almost non-existent. Layout adheres to a drop-dead gorgeous full-color two-column standard and the pdf comes with a vast array of mind-blowing, awesome, beautiful artworks - and a Wayne Reynolds cover. Can't get much better than that in the art-department! The pdf is lavishly detailed in its bookmarks, making navigation simple - as is required by such a massive tome.

Sooo...what we have here is interesting: It's a bit like reviewing the CORE-rules or the APG: We're talking about what essentially is a completely non-optional book in my opinion.

Every campaign that shirks psionics not for flavor, but for by now completely inaccurate accusations of balance-issues is missing out on one of the most rewarding expansions for Pathfinder.

While this is not my personal opinion ( I enjoy both for what they do), I do feel obliged to point out that my players consider unanimously psionics to be the superior system when compared to vancian spellcasting (even though at least one of them dislikes the flavor) and in multiple years of using Dreamscarred Press' psionics have we not once encountered any crucial difficulties. Now this book collects all these nifty bits and pieces from 3 massive tomes in one book that is greater than the sum of its parts by sheer utility, by scope...and superb production values.

While I don't enjoy EVERY component part (see my individual reviews for that), the vast majority of the content should be considered simply stellar - awesome and a book that will enrich just about every game it is introduced to. Were I to complain about one thing, then that would be that the book has no index, at least in the pdf version on which this review is based since I don't yet have the hardcover.

So let me make that abundantly clear: If you have the component books, this is useful. If you don't have any of them, then this ranks among the best possible purchases you can make to expand your game and I stand by that. For me, this content of this book, whether as the component books or the superb Ultimate Psionics, is non-optional. It is as much part of the game as vancian spellcasting, as much part of my concept of Pathfinder's identity as a distinct system as the APG. Psionics Expanded, one of the component books, made it on my Top Ten-list of that year -and this is THE ONLY reason this book is not a candidate (and let's face it - high ranker or even winner) of 2013's list. Rare is the book that so wholly transforms the game, feels so concise and well-presented, offers so much and in this quality - rare indeed is such a monumental grimoire of crunch and much like Paizo's APG, this book does infinitely more to establish the identity of a distinct, diverse fantasy full of options than just about all crunch-books I've read. If you have so far shied away from psionics- here's your chance: Take it! If you have the component books, wager utility (all in one book) versus price point. If I may: The book is beautiful; personally, I'd go for the slightly more expensive full color version - the artwork's worth it. Final verdict? Unsurprising 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2014 10:40:56

Dreamscarred really hit it out of the park with Ultimate Psionics. Aside from some occasional failures of the art to fully capture the essence of the material Ultimate Psionics was pretty much everything you could want form a self contained Psionics book. The material is clear easy to read and includes a fair number races, classes, powers, feats, items, options and rules information.

Ultimate Psionics not only very effectively updates virtually all the 3.5 psionics to pathfinder and matches it in volume with all new content. As with the original D&D psionics much of it is hit and miss since psionics covers a very wide range of ideas and has never been as well defined as the more traditional fantasy inspired classes, but the misses are a lot fewer than in previous editions and the hits are darn near perfect much of the time. The only things notably absent are D&D specific copyrighted material such as the Zerth Cenobite and a bestiary but with over 400 pages of solid, well written content they are hardly missed.

Ultimate Psionics truly lives up to it name and gives you tons and tons of content written by people with a clear passion for this often over looked and part of fantasy gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by John O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2014 05:18:41

I've been a fan of psionics in FRPGs ever since the crude psionics rules were presented in the AD&D Dungeon Master's Guide waaay back when. I'm playing a psion right now in a D&D 3.5 campaign, and I'm always looking for new insights into the psionic classes to help me play better.

Ultimate Psionics is an excellent compilation of old and new material seamlessly joined and upgraded to the Pathfinder system. It is evident that the authors are deeply engaged in their subject material, and the material is presented clearly. I was also impressed with the free updates that followed, correcting a host of minor issues, mostly typographical. It is pleasant to have true corrective material, rather than a simple errata page tossed out into the wild with no further follow-up.

For all of these reasons, I'm giving this product five stars. Well played, Andreas Rönnqvist, Jeremy Smith and Dreamscarred Press!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Jan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2014 00:27:33

Really Good job, this book is filling the mising gab when you play psionic or have psionic in your party as a gm I have already used it a lot, and just waiting on the hard cover to come Keep up the good work



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Matt B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2014 21:08:08

Dreamscarred Press is fantastic, they did a great job with the psionics for Pathfinder. The classes are interesting, feats are useful and the campaign info for how to integrate psionics are really helpful. And then the book itself is gorgeous, really good value!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Brett B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2014 19:58:58

This book is fantastic! Full of great new classes and updated classics, Ultimate Psionics is a must have for anyone who wants to play Pathfinder! Not only does it have great game material for those wanting to play with mind powers, it has feats and skills that ANY class will treasure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by William O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2014 19:35:51

I thoroughly enjoyed this product. I am thinking of introducing psionics into my current campaign and the different views on how to do this will help tremendously. In addition to the classes, prestige classes and options for psionic characters, the options to add powers to the core classes will make it a well rounded addition.

Overall it has something for anyone looking to use psionics in their game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Rob H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2014 17:00:42

Well all i can say here is they have done an excellent job of putting so many good ideas into one book , i personally do not play pathfinder but there are enough ideas in the book for me to start my next campaign using an alternative systems

Rob



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Psionics
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Nick K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2014 16:27:47

Dreamscarred has done an excellent job condensing all their material into one easy to access form. I enjoyed the 3.5 psionics system and would like to see it given new life in pathfinder or you would like to introduce some fantastic new content to your game, this book is an excellent buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates