DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 21:16:35

This is a fun and very deadly mod. Especially if you don't hold back on the party (which you shouldn't) A well put together group can keep everyone up. The mix of puzzles and combat made things intense and it's the first time that my party felt the terror of a slow moving horde of zombies trying to kill them. And when they thought they got away and had time to breath BOOM! more zombies! Everyone failed skill check after skill check. the whole time, One player was almost eaten by a plant. It was great fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 21:09:29

Gues what everyone. It's Raining again. Lots of rain. Oh god everyone is going to die it's so much rain! Haha. My players have a much greater respect for the rain now that it tried to kill them. It was also the closest thing in the adventure to doing so.

When I ran this mod, I did it by the book and how it suggests but tha resulted in getting under min xp. As others have suggested, I would add in a few extra villagers and make the last encounter a bit more epic at the end.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 21:05:55

Fantastic module. The races are super fun and having things other than combat take place keeps players on their toes. Sure there is some at the end but it's not the worst thing ever. I'm a big fan of how all the S7 adventures tie together This one in particular leads right into the next and the end scene investigation is great. The NPCs are very unique and fun to act out. This is one of the weaker modules in the group but that does not make it any less fun. It's simply a joy to participate in and that's why it does not hurt the rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-BMG-23 PHLAN 2-2 Hatemaster
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 20:58:17

Better than part 1 of the series. There is a lot of lore and background required to have even the slightest idea of what's actualyl going on here. This is for your hardcore lore heavy D&D players. I also highly suggest that the language and dialect that your character speaks is glamored to fit into the persona they are inhabbiting. I had one an impulsive, mage with a speach impeddiment inhabbiting royalty. can't have them going to cout saying "Sssup Guyss! Wana shee a magic trick? FryerBawlzzz!"



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-23 PHLAN 2-2 Hatemaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 20:46:51

Compared to the others in this series, I was kind of let down. The ending of this was super easy to counter. The boss didn't even get a turn. Hypnotic pattern pretty much ended combat.The best combat was probably with the awakened apes. My group tried to trick them thinking they where big dumb animals only to have them be smart enough to realize not to walk in the spike growth. The fight with the trees outside was cool as well. My players kept running into and out of range of the trees and getting attacked on the way by.

The only saving grace for the last fight that I liked was the trick to attacking the cyst. So much better than a bag of hit points.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 20:40:10

Absolutley loved this adventure. The tension of the undead is great and the city having people going missing is nuts. In this adventure in particualar, the boss is crazy strong. The spell slots available make them able to wipe a party easily. Thankfully, they can potentially have a priest who can handle that situation but even so, WOW. what a nuts adventure.

I'm a big fan of the escape sequence too. Those are just plain fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 20:32:03

Played through this mod with a group of T4 players all level 20. 1 melee, 1 ranged, 2 casters. The dungeon effect against casters pretty much shut them down for the whole mod. Good rolls meant they cast about 9 spells between the wto of them that actually went off. Beyond that, I highly suggest getting the full sized map as it's beautiful and really helps the dungeon. I know my part and they are very strong even with only 4 and this had a few of them worried as it should.

The powered up enemies got a bit repettitive though. sure they where able to survive a round or two against a group of level 20s but really only 2 of them could do anything. The only REAL threat was the boss and the knights (who I didn't have fall apart)

Having played the previous in the series, the scene was set for this adventure. Pot was great fun to RP and I made sure he knew things he souldn't have just to throw in that bit at the end of the guidance. When in the dungeon, I played a slow heartbeat and immediatley everyone was creeped out. I left it playing in the background for the whole session and it set just the right tone when no one was talking. Overall, I felt this was more of a dungeon crawl but not in a bad way. the setting and lore behind it made it fantastic. My fool of a party think they have killed a god. little do they know it was but a fragment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2018 15:17:12

This is a great module for those that like a bit of humor in their DnD while it is also super deadly. The orc at the start is fantastic. Get in the barrel! There where some good moments where I had players start fights to find the solution when things started to go bad which added tension. Also I a massive token on a VTT over 100 feet across for the players and that really scared the hell out of them.

Pros: Good bit of humor Lots of long rests Decent combats Difficult chance based encounters (We skipped the quicksand encounter with my lvl 5 group)

Cons The large number of days that pass makes for some encounters being basically pointless unless it kills everyone at once. Especially with the death curse in play, things that reduce max HP can be particularly deadly long after the battle. BBEG is easily kited and did not even get a hit in.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2017 00:17:40

I just ran this. General consensus was: This was dumb. I wish more adventures where dumb. What a great adventure.

Spoilers: All in all, for our heavy roll play group, it was fantastic. we had a blast owning all the skill checks at the festival. Turning mellons into booze with brewing kits and getting hammered. The only one critique was that the block text was a little long and wordy but helped set the mood. For the combat, I added the cold damage and only had Slab attack anyone who wanted to go in the hole, otherwise he collected pembelons (the coal was shattered turn one) Really making it seem like slab was protecting the hole and injecting dialogue throughout the combat lead to a favourable outcome. All and all the whole thing was super nice and captured the holiday spirit well. Great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-04 Winter's Flame (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2017 11:53:55

This is one of my go to adventures for players just getting into 5e. It has a great mix of RP and combat, some story rewards for doing bad things and a ton of interesting story points. Much like most adventures, the RP is up front and the combat is in the second half after exploring the depths of the keep itself (mostly the Jade Temple). The spirit is a nice touch as well and helps explain away any other way the adventurers try to light the lighthouse again. Supernatural beings make this super easy.

The exploration of the keep is fun and fast paced. Easy to understand and you can really picture what's in most room through the descriptions while leaving plenty of room for custom elements to be added.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2017 11:20:32

Looking at this module after running it in season 5, this module has 2 distinctive elements to it that seem to stand out for me.

First the mystery element that encompases the first part of the module is fun though I have not had a group that has run it come to the proper conclusion without quite a biit of handholding. Sometimes they outright insulted those running the town and nearly where imprissoned and forgotten. (That could have been awekward). If you run this module, expect to provide some more obvious clues to speed things up a bit.

The second part is the combat in the underground cave system. This part was really fun as the environment came into effect a lot more. Pushing people off cliffs, Narrow cooridors causing line of sight issues and genuinly strong enemies. Compared to later seasons, the enemies here are quite tanky which takes parties by surprise as well as the ability to heal up unconscious enemies to bring them back in the fight had players going for a double tap.

As a stand alone mod, some of the weight of the final enemy was lost on the party which is a shame but those who played through season one would absolutley love it. If you have a group that loves detective work, this would be 5/5 for everyone else, 4/5 Great work overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Justin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2017 10:18:15

This is one of my favorite T2 Modules. It's one of those ones with a good mix of role play, critical thinking and interesting problems to solve.

The Good Lots of interesting things going on. This one has environmental hazzards in combat and it's great! I always love it when the environment comes into play. And that happens in multiple locations!

The Bad One part that I didn't like is tha ability to kill off a character if they try to be heroic. And I mean completley kill them not even wish can savethem kill them. Not only that bit it dosn't have much warning either. Perhaps if these kinde of conciquences are put in future modules, there could be a sidebar suggesting how the GM could explain the potential lethality of the players action.

The Scary I have to say though, that Beast is CRAZY! An evil GM could easily TPK the whole party. The breath Attack alone... and as a legendary action... If your group is not high T2, this would be a very difficult fight.

The Inspired I am a big fan of seeing these "divine touched" creatures pop up. They add unique and interesting fights that midigate player knowledge and make for an interesting battle. And the thought that the gods are actively trying to influence the world is fun. I'd like to see a lot more of this in the future! Who feels like angering a god? Show of hands?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-17 Hartkiller's Horn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates