DriveThruRPG.com
Category
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
Publisher: Encoded Designs
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2017 11:25:11

Heard about this on Misdirected Mark and Discern Realities podcasts. A fantastic idea implemented very well, the kind of fiction I like often focuses on some specific character arcs I don't often get to experience in a group dynamic, this allows for that goal wonderfully. The layout looks great, professional, clean, and great implementation of a design goal I am excited about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Legacy Weapon - A Dungeon World Artifact and One Shot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Headspace
Publisher: Green Hat Designs
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:30:59

The design work on this game is fantastic. It retains some elements of PbtA but largely is doing its own thing. I love that lots of elements are player facing, I love that there is an emphasis on the players emotions. And just the inclusion of the headspace tech gives the players the fictional justification to chat with one another that always happens with table banter anyways.

You can tell the game has been playtested a lot, there's multiple actual plays out there to prove it. There's a lot of love that went into the project and lots of people contributing that obviously cared as much as the designer. I'm also a huge fan of cyberpunk, so couldn't wait to get my hands on this once I'd heard of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Headspace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sprawl // MIDNIGHT
Publisher: Ardens Ludere
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:25:27

In terms of genre emulation, which is what PbtA is great at imo, this game nails it. The mission based structure should appeal to everyone famililar with Dungeon World and the game text does everything you need it to in terms of setting up tone and creating the ever present megacorps present. I'm a huge fan of cyberpunk and had great fun playing this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sprawl // MIDNIGHT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Undying
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:22:59

Love playing this game. I feel it emulates the kind of vampire stories I adore. The mechanics help get through all the boring parts of tales like these with a lot of time in between with having each period you play in be after things get messed up in the fiction.

It's dice less mechanics feel very much in tone with the genre as well, as vampires always seem to plot and scheme for ages at a time in order to get what they want. And so will you, making tactical decisions about where you feed and where in order to climb your way up. Via politics or other brutal means, being aware of what your resources exactly are fits very well.

Then, after all is settled you slumber and shake things up again while you plot in the darkness. Brilliant game and piece of design, in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Undying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
Publisher: Red Box Vancouver
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:17:54

I consider this game to be nothing short of brilliant. Having an epic space opera story built into playbooks and a winning condition that paces the whole experience, is great. The book itself is an artifact that I love to read just for fun, often not something I do with game texts. The other playbooks are creative and interact with the fiction is great ways, the replay ability is immense.

It's something that is just overall incredibly exciting for someone like me as well, because truth be told I am not a huge fan of the DnD setting and lore, but I am a huge fan of this genre. It allows me to bring everything I like about DW forward easily and mixes in some great elements that are player facing.

Love this, spring for the hardcover - totally worth it!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Wurm vs. Moonicorn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
Publisher: Flatland Games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:13:19

PbtA is great at genre emulation and this is no exception. This does exactly what I wanted it to in terms of playing some old action movies near and dear to my heart. The additional benefit of having some surprising mechanics, like when you die you become a part of the cast and still can inject yourself into the fiction. What a brilliant idea that couples so well with the genre.

I've watched some great actual plays and played in a couple games. Always a good time, highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Velvet Glove: Notebook Edition
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:07:20

I am a huge fan of this game! Initially I was a bit hesitant but after checking out the mechanics, that was dispelled immediately. This is a perfect example of having mechanics that help the player into the theme but also the characters. This game tells you exactly how to play a young woman and it also comments on what societies perception of that is - both good and bad. It's a wonderful bit of design work and I had a great time playing it. The final version will most definitely get my money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Velvet Glove: Notebook Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Publisher: lumpley games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 20:02:14

2nd editon comes with it many welcome clarifications and some fantastic new playbooks. If you enjoyed 1st ed, you'll love 2nd. The only things I've had players "iffy" on, is the battle moves, which drag out combat more, but also provide some more crunch for players that like it. Can't wait for the hardback copy from the Kickstarter.

Also want to thank Vicent and Meg for making this game, as the hacks of it have lead to some of the most enjoyable play I've ever had. Thank you so much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse World (2nd Ed)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Indie Hack
Publisher: Scablands Press
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 19:59:09

Really enjoy playing this game. It's the right balance for me between OSR elements and indie. When dice hit the table, there are always changes to the fiction and always with player agency in mind. It encourages all the people at the table to come up with creative details and lands the players in the swords and sorcery type settings everyone knows and loves already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Indie Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lacuna Part I. (second attempt)
Publisher: Memento Mori Theatricks
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 19:56:36

Beautiful deisgn work coupled with one of the most interesting concepts for a game I've ever come across. Never had a bad time with it, the rules are exactly as meaty as I like, and its quick to get to the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lacuna Part I. (second attempt)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Yoon-Suin
Publisher: Noisms Games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2017 19:54:01

Beautiful layout and writing. I recently played in a campaign of this and loved it. Love the influences and being apart of a culture that felt exotic and foreign to a degree I hadn't felt before. The print copy looks great, especially for POD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yoon-Suin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Urban Shadows
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Fraser S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2016 16:29:49

Urban Shadows is a tremendously good vehicle for urban fantasy. It has mechanics that dribe the players and the NPCs together, focusing on interpersonal dynmaics rather than the sometimes minutia of barter and goods that can happen in the genre. It's highly quality, well written and includes tons of examples. There's a long play example to add even more clarity as well as the narrative examples sprinkled without. Very impressed with the quality and price point, love the game and hope to see more from the publisher. Loved finding a very active community for the game on G+, a very helpful resource in which the publisher responds very quickly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates