DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set $16.50 $8.25
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
51 44
1 3
1 1
0 1
0 0
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Click to view
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Dorothy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 22:51:38

I picked this game up a few days ago and was able to get my group up and running in half an hour; I ran the scenario in the Quickstarter and the results were hilarious. A good time was had by all. My husband is now considering using this for his next campaign. The rules are easy to manage and flexible enough to cope with what my players do to them; the effort mechanic and room difficulty system are innovative and keep things moving rapidly. The GM section has ideas and suggestions that are helpful even for someone who's been playing RPGs for 35 years.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Blah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 02:49:37

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein.

This is hands down the best RPG I've ever seen/played, especially as a DM/GM. Everything is simple and streamlined without being dumbed down. There are no barriers to enjoy the game, there is no friction from the rules during adventure writing and during play. It just makes sense and flows beautifully every single time. It leaves out anything complicated and cumbersome. It is just fast and fun all the time.

For a DM it is a godsend. You can keep everything in your head and you can easily adjucate whatever comes up and can improvise with ease on the spot. You can create new loot, new spells and new monsters in a matter of minutes without having to consult cumbersome rules and as a bonus whatever you can come up with you can use with confidence without the fear of creating obvious imbalances. As for players even complete newcomers to RPGs can learn the rules in 10 minutes and start enjoying it. Players can try anthing, there is nothing stopping anyone from coming up with brilliant ideas and solutions. Character advancement is smooth and the game is equally fast and fun at lower and higher tiers.

You can play any genre with the system - fantasy, sci-fi, horror; you name it. Due to the system's simplicity and brilliant design anything from any genre is 100% compatible with anything else. You can have a wild west character in a sci-fi setting if you wish.

As a bonus, the system is very hackable. You can easily add whatever new mechanics you think you need or modify existing ones.

I can't recommend ICRPG enough. Get it NOW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Justin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2017 14:34:55

The design of the book was fantastic and was just an enjoyable read throughout. The ruleset is very D&D, but with some really interesting streamlining and innovations that keep the action turned up to 11. This book is full of really great ideas for game mastering that I wish I had known when I started playing D&D. The sheets of minis and cards was a nice bonus on an excellent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 17:06:36

This game is fantastic. Theres a very "old school" feel to it with mechanics that make games easy to manage. From a game designers prospective, there are MANY "why didnt I think of that" moments while reading through the book. Overall, i hink this as close to a "perfect game" that i have seen since basic D&D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Richard G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2017 04:35:37

Clean clear rule set, Lots of resources, awesome art style. Feels brilliant for fast play without ambiguity, repetition or rule checking bogging everything down at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Stephen U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 10:25:32

Streamlined system is an inspiration for other games. I think the "effort" mechanic is genuinely innovative, so if you're in the habbit of picking up new games just to see how they tick, this is worth a buy.

Running the game, it frees up a lot of the game masters time to just have fun running the game, and leaves a lot less overhead for new players, leading to quicker mastery of the system and getting in good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2017 19:10:37

Very easy to run, very modable. Extremely flexibilty for the DM and players yet still has well designed guts. Items are the core to character leveling which can make for campaign play. Art is incredible.

420/10 will roll again!

Get the PDF today and play icRPG today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:24:12

This is an excellent, very easy-to run and start system. Character creation takes about 5 minutes. Turns are quick but impactful. Dungeonmasters who aren't even planning to ues this particular ruleset will benefit greatly from the "Game Mastery" section - I've used all of the guidelines in this section in all of my other games and they add so much to make gameplay and character moments meaningful. There are also plenty of creative tables you can use to quickly create your own loot, encounters and monsters. I highly recommend ICRPG as a resource for all GMS - whether you're planning on using this system or just the ideas contained within, you will absolutely get your moneys' worth and then some and you will greatly appreciate what it adds to your game. I know I have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Fernando C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 15:08:35

I was on the fence about this for a bit since I don't really collect RPG's or even get to play them often but it has a been a pleasure to read and I love the art. Cool simple system use what you want kind of system [IMO]. I look forward to testing out soon and maybe adapting further for Lovecraftian horror. Great job Hank!.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 10:47:10

I really wish I would have read the entire description. I missed the part that says, "Also, you need the PDF to get character sheets, printable miniatures, online play assets and more!! PDF combos have been priced to make sure this is your absolute best value! ". So I guess I wasted my $24 since I don't have a large portion of the game. How difficult would it have been to add the graphics to the back of the printed book so customers could, at the very least, photocopy them?

There are a handful of spots in the book where sentences just drop off. This is an indie publication though, so I don't expect perfection. I assume that future printings will correct these.

I give this portion 1 star.

The game itself is pretty good. I enjoy the enthusiasm which comes out in the writing of the author. The gamemastering section is certainly my favorite part of the book. I could see myself using his "threat timer" in a game I would run though certainly not every game session, let alone every encounter. The monster chapter is a fun read. I don't get the encounter archetypes but this could certainly be lack of understanding the author's intent on my part and not a fault of the game.

I give this portion 4 stars.

Total score of 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 00:35:24

Index Card RPG has revolutionized the way that I DM for my friends and online players in a fantasy setting. ICRPG really strips away the minutae and grinding simulation away from what you'd expect to do in, say, D&D and and streamlines the process with a rules system that is very easy to learn and understand. You can have a rank beginner learn everything they need to start playing in a matter of minutes. No flipping back and forth between pages. No useless information or items on your character sheet. ICRPG Core is pure function, and that is the beauty of it. When we were running D&D 5th Edition (which I still think is GREAT, but not as good as this...) I could maybe get one encounter per night if they were big. Now my gaming group can pound through an entire dungeon in a single game session, and everyone still feels awesome.

You can pick up the Core, Vol 1, 2 and 3 of ICRPG for less than the cost of a single D&D book.... so why not? Give it a shot. I promise that once you adopt the concepts in this book to your 5e games you'll start wondering why you don't just convert everyone to ICRPG.

Happy Gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2017 18:14:47

I like the cards and the art of course, but the real treasure here is the fantastic ruleset. I started a new game with a group that all have varying degrees of RPG experience, and everyone had a blast. Rules are clear and not bogged down by unnecessary complexity. Rolls feel important and impactful, and combat stakes are kept high by keeping PC power creep in check. I love this system, and am excited to plan our next session!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2017 13:33:38

Simply put: buy this game. The rules are so simple yet robust that player and GM will wonder why it hasn't been done this way before.

The digital version comes with mini's (paper print-outs), online tokens, rules, two unique world primers (Fantasy and Sci-Fi), small monster manual, and the now legendary Game Master section. This section alone is worth the price of admission. The system is regularly updated by the creator (updates to digital version free to those who purchased through DTRPG) and the Google+ community is simply incredible to find inspiration, help and groups to play with.

This is a Core RULES Set; it does not include the Vol 1, 2 or 3 card decks just as those do not contain rule sets. You do not require the card Volumes to play this game (my group uses crafted sets). That being said, all card Volumes are highly recommended as well for table-top and online play as the art is fantastic and help in story creation.

Is it perfect? Probably not. But I will say that I have stopped using other systems and do not miss them. Pacing, action, and freedom to role-play: to me, that is perfect.

-GM John



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2017 14:00:12

Excellent RPG. Reading through it and really enjoying the system. Highly recommended!!! May revise this review once I've completed my readthrough, but it's a ton of fun so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Allan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2017 11:30:38

This is a simple to understand and use RPG system. It's light on rules and very fun to play. I have purchased many RPG products from here and this is my favorite. The entire system is easy to understand and is supported by an active community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates