DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set $16.50
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
44 37
1 3
1 1
0 1
0 0
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Click to view
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:24:12

This is an excellent, very easy-to run and start system. Character creation takes about 5 minutes. Turns are quick but impactful. Dungeonmasters who aren't even planning to ues this particular ruleset will benefit greatly from the "Game Mastery" section - I've used all of the guidelines in this section in all of my other games and they add so much to make gameplay and character moments meaningful. There are also plenty of creative tables you can use to quickly create your own loot, encounters and monsters. I highly recommend ICRPG as a resource for all GMS - whether you're planning on using this system or just the ideas contained within, you will absolutely get your moneys' worth and then some and you will greatly appreciate what it adds to your game. I know I have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Fernando C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 15:08:35

I was on the fence about this for a bit since I don't really collect RPG's or even get to play them often but it has a been a pleasure to read and I love the art. Cool simple system use what you want kind of system [IMO]. I look forward to testing out soon and maybe adapting further for Lovecraftian horror. Great job Hank!.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 10:47:10

I really wish I would have read the entire description. I missed the part that says, "Also, you need the PDF to get character sheets, printable miniatures, online play assets and more!! PDF combos have been priced to make sure this is your absolute best value! ". So I guess I wasted my $24 since I don't have a large portion of the game. How difficult would it have been to add the graphics to the back of the printed book so customers could, at the very least, photocopy them?

There are a handful of spots in the book where sentences just drop off. This is an indie publication though, so I don't expect perfection. I assume that future printings will correct these.

I give this portion 1 star.

The game itself is pretty good. I enjoy the enthusiasm which comes out in the writing of the author. The gamemastering section is certainly my favorite part of the book. I could see myself using his "threat timer" in a game I would run though certainly not every game session, let alone every encounter. The monster chapter is a fun read. I don't get the encounter archetypes but this could certainly be lack of understanding the author's intent on my part and not a fault of the game.

I give this portion 4 stars.

Total score of 3 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2017 00:35:24

Index Card RPG has revolutionized the way that I DM for my friends and online players in a fantasy setting. ICRPG really strips away the minutae and grinding simulation away from what you'd expect to do in, say, D&D and and streamlines the process with a rules system that is very easy to learn and understand. You can have a rank beginner learn everything they need to start playing in a matter of minutes. No flipping back and forth between pages. No useless information or items on your character sheet. ICRPG Core is pure function, and that is the beauty of it. When we were running D&D 5th Edition (which I still think is GREAT, but not as good as this...) I could maybe get one encounter per night if they were big. Now my gaming group can pound through an entire dungeon in a single game session, and everyone still feels awesome.

You can pick up the Core, Vol 1, 2 and 3 of ICRPG for less than the cost of a single D&D book.... so why not? Give it a shot. I promise that once you adopt the concepts in this book to your 5e games you'll start wondering why you don't just convert everyone to ICRPG.

Happy Gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2017 18:14:47

I like the cards and the art of course, but the real treasure here is the fantastic ruleset. I started a new game with a group that all have varying degrees of RPG experience, and everyone had a blast. Rules are clear and not bogged down by unnecessary complexity. Rolls feel important and impactful, and combat stakes are kept high by keeping PC power creep in check. I love this system, and am excited to plan our next session!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2017 13:33:38

Simply put: buy this game. The rules are so simple yet robust that player and GM will wonder why it hasn't been done this way before.

The digital version comes with mini's (paper print-outs), online tokens, rules, two unique world primers (Fantasy and Sci-Fi), small monster manual, and the now legendary Game Master section. This section alone is worth the price of admission. The system is regularly updated by the creator (updates to digital version free to those who purchased through DTRPG) and the Google+ community is simply incredible to find inspiration, help and groups to play with.

This is a Core RULES Set; it does not include the Vol 1, 2 or 3 card decks just as those do not contain rule sets. You do not require the card Volumes to play this game (my group uses crafted sets). That being said, all card Volumes are highly recommended as well for table-top and online play as the art is fantastic and help in story creation.

Is it perfect? Probably not. But I will say that I have stopped using other systems and do not miss them. Pacing, action, and freedom to role-play: to me, that is perfect.

-GM John



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2017 14:00:12

Excellent RPG. Reading through it and really enjoying the system. Highly recommended!!! May revise this review once I've completed my readthrough, but it's a ton of fun so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Allan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2017 11:30:38

This is a simple to understand and use RPG system. It's light on rules and very fun to play. I have purchased many RPG products from here and this is my favorite. The entire system is easy to understand and is supported by an active community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by david j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2017 06:17:22

A Rules-Lite masterpiece! Uses a d20 engine, without the filter of useless wording and mechanics. I am in complete agreement with the cinematic and energetic game theme. This is a perfect online gmae system: fast, easy, few rules.

As a publisher and writer on Drivethru myself, I love the work done on this fine product. The layout is excellent, the art simple, generating ideas, rather than informing thier own type of game play.

(I purchased the dead-tree book, my preference, and have no relation to this publisher.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2017 13:09:24

Having bought A LOT of systems off Drive Thru, I am way impressed by how fast I was able to read, and then use, this game system. You won't struggle figuring out confusing rules or doing complex math. You gain the benefit of a supported system by a talented creator who is pumping out additional content. While being both a fantasy and a sci-fi system, I personally love the sci-fi elements because sci-fi is almost ALWAYS brutal to play as a world system and this is just smooth -- like good Brandy smooth!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2017 16:27:33

I walked into this strictly based on DTRPG "top seller" status and stellar reviews. I am so glad I did.

Feels like a great blend of Dungeon World and D&D 5th Edition. Also the "Dungeon Mastery" section contains some great general advice and ideas that you can incorporate into any game.

Highly recommedn you check out the author's YouTube Channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCh5vto8JFstb9Sma9zV25g) and the ICGP Google+ group (https://plus.google.com/communities/113794869422304907451) if you're thinking about it or if you purchase and want to get some more ideas/resources.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jacob J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:26:32

If you're looking for a system with complex rules and tons of math, then this probably isn't the book for you. That being said, if you find yourself already tweaking your games at home to make them faster and less complex, then you should definitely check out this book. Even if you don't decide to fully convert your ongoing campaigns into ICRPG, there are still plenty of ideas in here that are worth thinking about and implanting into whatever system you prefer. The game works great by itself or in amalgamation with any system because at its heart the book is LESS about setting and enforcing hard fast rules, and is more about a philosophy on gaming that puts narrative and collaboration over things that more rule/math-heavy games tend to focus on.The book also manages to accomplish this without ever feeling too loose or ungrounded. Ideas for challenges in this game still feel mechanically strong and interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by chris k. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 12:14:01

So i was going to run Last Flight Of The Red Sword last night with my group, and one of my players asked me if....He could DM Tonight? He said he had read thru the core book and had a one shot idea he wanted to try. It was his first time even being a DM and he told me he was nervous he didn't have anything written down, just in his head. I told him don't stress it and and just ride with it. He thought his One Shot would only take 30 mins....we played for 4 hours and had a crazy time. This was actually my first time being a player ever...forever the DM till now. This system gave one of my very shy friends the courage to step up with confidence and tell an amazing story. Now another PC in my group having seen how easy it was for the other guy, wants to step up and Dm as well. The simplicity of ICRPG and what it brings to the table and what it is bringing out in my tabletop group is astonishing.

100 stars if i could rate it that high.....couldnt recommened a better system to noobs getting into the hobby Strength, Honor, AND ICRPG!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 11:59:18

ICRPG CORE Is the best table top book on the market. I have three different groups I play with and we have switched all our games to it. Its rules light but very well designed to leave you room to adapt it to the kinds if players out there. It's by far the most flexable system I have ever played. Games are much faster which drives story and engagment. There is a detailed GM section which offeres grade A advice on encounter and adventure structure. As a GM I did a play test for some friends and I crafted the entire night in under 20min. Well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Zachary G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 08:23:20

You could pay 16 bucks for the GM section of the book alone and still have gotten more than your money's worth. Whether you are looking for a new system to run or, like me, swiping huge chunks of ideas and content for DW or your personal flavor of fantasy rpg, you will find that the Fantastic Nuggets to Eh Well That's OK ratio of ICRPG is just phenomenal. Easy recommend, must own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates