DriveThruRPG.com
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set $16.50
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
56 50
1 3
1 1
0 1
0 0
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Click to view
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jens S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2018 18:34:08

This kind of blew my mind.

ICRPG is a pretty rules light game, so if you want tons of different rules for everything THIS IS NOT FOR YOU. However rules light does not necessary mean mechanics light if that makes any sense to you. Hankrin (or if you wanna be technical Brandish) has some really interesting design ideas but what stands out to me the most is the GM chapter. If you're not interested in the system I'd still say get the book just for the GM stuff alone wich tbh is the main reason for me to buy RPG books in the first place: more GM Ideas. But where most RPGs come to the GM chapter and basicly just say hey you're a GM, go do GM-things, ICRPG actually gives you guidelines on how to GM.

Holy fly that GM chapter. I dont think I've seen a GM chapter before that was that gave you that many mechanical ideas about how to make your game faster and more dramatic. (apart from maybe some PbtA stuff but those are usually more focused on giving you narrative tips) The session-end roll might be the biggest wtf moment I had in a while. Also the chapters about story and encounter architecture are really refreshing. Remind's me a bit of Sly Flourish's Lazy Dungeonmaster but better explained. It's all about being fast, keeping the pressure on your game. The chapter about Room design actually helped me finally understand how to make a room more interesting than just your ordinary "The room is 10 feet by 20 feet there is a goblin" (well ok I already knew how to make a room more interestign than that but hyperbole helps to bring the point across I hope) by actually categorizing rooms themselves as a kind of challenge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2018 17:57:20

A great ruleset that has inspired me to bring my kids into the role playing hobby. One or two turns and everyone gets the rules and we can get on with the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Nate V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2018 08:19:48

This is an excellent rules lite alternative that retains much of what I love about D&D, but adds some fresh concepts to simplify and keep things moving more quickly. Combine that with great system neutral DM tools, beautiful art and bookcraft and it's a total win. Don't get the hard copy version without a PDF, though! The PDF comes with ALL the things including paper minis and character sheet, etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2018 15:13:55

ICRPG is a unique RPG rules system that is a mixture of a rules-light version of D&D 5E mixed with additional sources of inspiration (Dungeon World and Dungeon Crawl Classics among others) that reflects Brandish Gilhelm's (AKA Hankerin Ferinale) house-rules when he was playing his 5E campaign along with additional evolution as he continues to survey the tabletop RPG field in book form and in dialogue with players, game masters, and game designers. I suspect GURPS also had a long-lasting impact on Hankerin's vision for tabletop RPGs since ICRPG is not solely a fantasy setting. In the core book you get fantasy (Alfheim), sci-fi (Warpshell), and weird western (Ghost Mountain) versions of classes and races as well as adventure hooks for all three. The core book is filled with Hankerin's evocative art and the basic layout of the book reflects the same artistic vision. I think I see other influences at play (for example, the adventure hooks follow the same style as Mike Evans's Hubris).

I've never played ICRPG, though I hope to soon. There are some things I would quibble with--I like the advantage mechanic from 5E. I feel it's similar to DCC's gameplay and philosophy that rolling more dice is just plain fun. I'm not convinced that a single DC for a room/encounter is a great idea. I don't like the meta-gaming aspect of a constantly displayed DC.

Even if you don't have any interest in a new or different rules system, ICRPG is worthwhile for the extensive discussion of game mastering tips regarding encounters. I've used a number of these tips (many of which are featured in videos on the Runehammer Youtube Channel) in my 5E campaign. I would recommend buying the pdf version as it contains all of the updates since version 1 was released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Taylor S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2017 11:24:02

The book provides everything you need to get the game to the table tonight and have fun. It's simple enough to explain in five minutes and let's you get right into telling stories and having a laugh with friends. The author provides a fantasy and scifi setting, and two adventures. This book also provides lots of great suggestions to the GM on how to actually go about building encounters, and provides some generic templates that can be customized. All in all, a high quality product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2017 12:18:37

BLUF: I am giving this 5 stars because of the community and the author's dedication to supporting the product.

The rules in the physical book are 120 pages long. In the PDF they are presently sitting at 192! A big difference because the community's input is used! A whole new bioform (read race for all you old-schoolers out there) was added because of the responses of the community.

Frankly the rules are a bit rough. The game engine itself could be tightened up. The game uses various forms of "effort" to do work. Effort is used for damage or to measure the work a rogue does to pick a lock. The rules on types of effort is the part that is confusing at times. Basic effort is hands and brain only; no tools. Weapons effort; weapons are used. Magic effort; spells and magic devices. Finally Ultimate effort; if you roll a nat 20 you add ultimate effort to your normal effort. Difficulty is rated in "hearts" each heart is 10 points (think hp). Basic effort is d4. Weapon d6. Magic d8. Ultimate is d12. So if I use a long sword (weapon) to hack away at an orc I do d6 effort after I hit him. If my elfkind mage is trying to bare hand open a chest using nothing but their wits use basic effort; d4. That chest probably has one heart so it may take awhile. Seems simple and easy to remember right? Okay do you use d6 when you use tools to do work? That wizard has lockpicks. Or maybe someone is trying to lift a large rock with a lever; do they use d6?

This is where the G+ community shines. If you have questions you can quickly hash it out online. Honestly, rules as written I'd give a 3 or 4 star rating. But as time goes on the author is making changes and tightening up the product with the help and support of a vibrant community. So 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Dorothy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 22:51:38

I picked this game up a few days ago and was able to get my group up and running in half an hour; I ran the scenario in the Quickstarter and the results were hilarious. A good time was had by all. My husband is now considering using this for his next campaign. The rules are easy to manage and flexible enough to cope with what my players do to them; the effort mechanic and room difficulty system are innovative and keep things moving rapidly. The GM section has ideas and suggestions that are helpful even for someone who's been playing RPGs for 35 years.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Blah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2017 02:49:37

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler." - Albert Einstein.

This is hands down the best RPG I've ever seen/played, especially as a DM/GM. Everything is simple and streamlined without being dumbed down. There are no barriers to enjoy the game, there is no friction from the rules during adventure writing and during play. It just makes sense and flows beautifully every single time. It leaves out anything complicated and cumbersome. It is just fast and fun all the time.

For a DM it is a godsend. You can keep everything in your head and you can easily adjucate whatever comes up and can improvise with ease on the spot. You can create new loot, new spells and new monsters in a matter of minutes without having to consult cumbersome rules and as a bonus whatever you can come up with you can use with confidence without the fear of creating obvious imbalances. As for players even complete newcomers to RPGs can learn the rules in 10 minutes and start enjoying it. Players can try anthing, there is nothing stopping anyone from coming up with brilliant ideas and solutions. Character advancement is smooth and the game is equally fast and fun at lower and higher tiers.

You can play any genre with the system - fantasy, sci-fi, horror; you name it. Due to the system's simplicity and brilliant design anything from any genre is 100% compatible with anything else. You can have a wild west character in a sci-fi setting if you wish.

As a bonus, the system is very hackable. You can easily add whatever new mechanics you think you need or modify existing ones.

I can't recommend ICRPG enough. Get it NOW!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Justin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2017 14:34:55

The design of the book was fantastic and was just an enjoyable read throughout. The ruleset is very D&D, but with some really interesting streamlining and innovations that keep the action turned up to 11. This book is full of really great ideas for game mastering that I wish I had known when I started playing D&D. The sheets of minis and cards was a nice bonus on an excellent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2017 17:06:36

This game is fantastic. Theres a very "old school" feel to it with mechanics that make games easy to manage. From a game designers prospective, there are MANY "why didnt I think of that" moments while reading through the book. Overall, i hink this as close to a "perfect game" that i have seen since basic D&D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Richard G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2017 04:35:37

Clean clear rule set, Lots of resources, awesome art style. Feels brilliant for fast play without ambiguity, repetition or rule checking bogging everything down at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Stephen U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 10:25:32

Streamlined system is an inspiration for other games. I think the "effort" mechanic is genuinely innovative, so if you're in the habbit of picking up new games just to see how they tick, this is worth a buy.

Running the game, it frees up a lot of the game masters time to just have fun running the game, and leaves a lot less overhead for new players, leading to quicker mastery of the system and getting in good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Nick S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2017 19:10:37

Very easy to run, very modable. Extremely flexibilty for the DM and players yet still has well designed guts. Items are the core to character leveling which can make for campaign play. Art is incredible.

420/10 will roll again!

Get the PDF today and play icRPG today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2017 13:24:12

This is an excellent, very easy-to run and start system. Character creation takes about 5 minutes. Turns are quick but impactful. Dungeonmasters who aren't even planning to ues this particular ruleset will benefit greatly from the "Game Mastery" section - I've used all of the guidelines in this section in all of my other games and they add so much to make gameplay and character moments meaningful. There are also plenty of creative tables you can use to quickly create your own loot, encounters and monsters. I highly recommend ICRPG as a resource for all GMS - whether you're planning on using this system or just the ideas contained within, you will absolutely get your moneys' worth and then some and you will greatly appreciate what it adds to your game. I know I have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
INDEX CARD RPG Core Set
Publisher: RUNEHAMMER GAMES
by Fernando C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 15:08:35

I was on the fence about this for a bit since I don't really collect RPG's or even get to play them often but it has a been a pleasure to read and I love the art. Cool simple system use what you want kind of system [IMO]. I look forward to testing out soon and maybe adapting further for Lovecraftian horror. Great job Hank!.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates