DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2018 02:21:52

Really liked this one. Combat difficulties felt well adjusted and the encounters, both combat and traps had some very clever designs behind them. Personal favorites were the reverse gravity shaft and the rolling souls.
The Portal mechnaic for the Beholder fight is interesting as an idea but I felt like it didn't really work that great for that specific combat encounter. Probably would have been better as a puzzle room. traps in general delivered though and I did actually get my group to groan at all the pit-based traps. Adventure should probably acount for flying characters though as those kinda negate a lot of the fun traps.
The ending did feel like a Mass Effect 3 ending where it doesn#t really matter if the group actually succeeds or not which is kind of a bummer.

Overall great adventure though, one of my favs this season and in general!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-13 Old Bones and Older Tomes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2018 18:21:46

One of my favorite T3s. Puzzles were fun and challenging for the players without being too hard though I would say that there was maybe 1 puzzle too much to fit it all in a 4h timeslot. The combats were challenging and allowed me to present some really clutch moments for the players. The tower buffs made for an interesting mechanic and the ever-present and alwys watching boss made for a great environment.
Overall a fantastic adventure, but it can be a bit hard to do everything in 4 hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-13 Old Bones and Older Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2018 18:52:12

Alright adventure, nice flavor and well designed dungeon. The combat is on the weaker side though. The fire elemental battle is good enough as a warm-up but the boss battle should defintely be an Archmage (Necromancer) + (Undead) Yuan-ti Anathema instead of the two CR7 mobs, which are just a joke for a Tier 3 party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2018 09:15:35

Adventure itself was fine but there were a lot of events resting on very specific player abilities/actions. Like the whole underwater portion without actually offering the players a way to explore underwater (I just added some wizard hirelings to cast water breathing on them). Or the Marid at the end of the ship which is the only way to find out Delnira's location (assuming the party saves him).
This honestly felt like 2 adventures crammed into one. The entire middle portion is like it's own adventure which as a quest reward gives the players the necessary info on where to go to finish the actual adventure. Part 1 & 4 are the actual main quest and only make up 1.5 hours out of 4. The actual plots were interesting enough, even if Aremag kidnapping that elf specifically to be his watchdog felt like a kinda random decison. It's just too much content for a 4 hour slot, which is a problem with the AL-style of play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2018 22:19:20

The flavor of this adventure and the lore behind the enemy mobs was fantastic but the actual combat bits were just terrible. This felt like a Tier 2 adventure in disguise. Solo Bosses without Legendary Actions just don't work in 5e (and even those with LAs barely do). The final boss fight is also just way too easy when leveled down, even without the dragon helping out as well. My party of 4 & APL 12 barely took any damage during the entire module. Also way too many fights that aren't even easy.
If I ever happen to run this again, I'm probably gonna rebuild pretty much all of the combat encounters to make them work for 3rd Tier. I'd give this module a higher rating just because the flavor was spot-on, but seeing how this is a dungeon crawl mod I can't in good faith give it anything better than this seeing how core the combat is for these kinda adventures.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2018 15:54:51

Adventure was fun to run, I especially enjoyed the exploration and social parts of the module. The combat was on the weak side though, having short/long rest opportunities after the majority of medium encounters at the start. The dungeon was kinda boring, only having one enemy type in the majority of rooms does get old fast. The Medusa was a very flavorful boss and also pretty challenging by itself, the addition of the nightmare was pretty neat as well.
Overall a good adventure, but kinda weak on the combat side.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2018 21:22:43

Quite enjoyed this one. The combat encounters are very interestingly done and have just the right level of challenge as well. NPCs have unique and fun personalities and the foreshadowing was done well enough. Adventure hook is a bit on the weak side but overall a fantastic module.
This one can also easily be finished in the estimated time, which ís another huge positive for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 17:35:07

Some alright adventures. As a module, there's pretty much no connection between the mini-adventures so they feel more like a bunch of side quests. There's also no clear and concise ending which could leave the group a bit unsatisfied if ran all at once.
The adventures themselves are pretty fun, though easily take about 2 hours each to complete. The Gold rewards in these adventures are pretty nice from a player perspective but one thing I noticed was how it was pretty much impossible to go under the Max XP limit. My group of 5 easily got about double that in a lot of these missions.

Overall pretty good but nothing special.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 20:08:01

I like this adventure A LOT. But there are some more or less serious issues with it.

The entire lore behind and the plot itself is incredbily well written and very interesting to run and play. Greatly enjoyed Candlekeep and Rhaugilath playing a major role in this one.
The issues mostly lie in encounter balance. I ran this for an average strength Tier 3 group and they pretty much blazed thorugh the crypt encounter. The enemies could take a few hits and also potentially dish out a lot if they actually hapen to land a hit once every blue moon but mostly just fealt like a grind. Same for the BBEG. An Ancient Dragon Paladin is an awesome concept but I don't think it's a good idea to use the same boss for a T3 and T4 group. For my group he turned out to be increbily tanky and could dish out a lot of damage with smites as well if he wanted to (though it's kinda questionable that there's no limit on the number of hd he can expend to smite a target) but he still had the same problems as all solo mobs. The big hp pool bascially just turned the fight into a giant slog, if a dangerous one at that. The lair actions were kinda boring and mostly just annoying the players as they either shut them down completely or delayed the fight by making them unable to act in certain ways.

Overall I enjoyed this adventure, especially for the plot, but the actual combat encounters needed more work to be interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 18:21:15

Pretty good adventure if a bit combat-heavy. The sheer amount of combat encounters make it pretty much impossible to complete the module in 2 hours. My group took 4.5 hours and we didn't do that much roleplay (and that was without any Gauntlet/Zhentarim which would have added 2 more encounetrs).
I really enjoyed the use of awakened creatures in this adventure, especially the apes at the start. The fights themselves were kinda easy for Tier 2 especially after the previous part of the trilogie but my group really enjoyed the kinda gimmicky fight at the end (though I have to question the inclusion of Call Lightning in the druids spell list). As a DM I also really enjoyed the inclusion of Rhaugilath in the backstory, always great to see known faces again.
The Appendix was a bit confusing since it includes creatures that don't actually appear by name as part of the encounters. I assume the Vine Blights were intended as the trees in the final chamber in awakened form. No idea about the girallon though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 17:35:01

Absouletely loved this adventure. Offers some replayability with the pseudo-random encounters at the beginning which are quite fun on their own. Also did a great job of showcasing the dangers of the jungle, both with the undead horde as well as the ambush of bone spirit nagas. The tribe of birdfolk and their whole story with The Big One was quite interesting though a bit weird how quick they decided to go against their guardian deity. Also weird how those birdpeople apparently have no qualms about sacrificing their own people (both to The Big One as well as Ubtao).
The last part inside the giant dino and the fight after were very well done and made for an awesome scenario. My party of 4 (APL 6) was really challenged by the boss and had a very thrilling fight.

Would like to see more adventures like this in the future, with multilinear paths to the goal and a very well crafted boss scenario.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-07 Rotting Roots (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:30:56

My favourite adventure of this season yet. Includes some challenging fights as well as some great roleplay encounters. Also gives the exploration option if going the brute force route making it really feel like the party can approach the scenarios however they prefer without hampering the adventure. The tickling clock mechanic is pretty interesting and makes the way the players approach their hurdles matter in a real way.

There a lot of life draining enemies in this one which is really dangerous considering the death curse mechanics but can be replaced with other creatures without much issue if prefered. The spellcaster boss is pretty powerful but the amount of AoEs can be kinda awkward considering the relatively small map and the fact that she doesn't really want to kill the capturesdprisoners since they're still needed for the dark ritual.

Overall a great introduction to the trilogy and also not too difficult to finish in the estimated time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-06 Fester and Burn (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:22:07

Can be very swingy in difficulty. The riddles are just fine difficulty-wise, not too hard - not too easy. The zombie horde can be incredibly deadly if the party doesn't realize fast enough that they have to focus on the puzzle instead of the mobs. The zombies are very tough and very hard to kill for low-level characters and the creeper can potentially one-shot a player and insta-kill them if they're unlucky.
The encounter adjustment suggestions for the boss fight seem completely off. the weak party gets just a regular solo Yuan-Ti Pureblood with some Legendary Actions/Ressistances but those aren't enough for her to provide a challenge against a mid Tier 1 party. Definitely needs some additional spellcasting abilities. The tougher options also seem a bit too tough. Should probably use lower HP on the boss in that case.

Looting during danger sounds interesting as a concept but has the potential of leaving the party empty-handed at the end. Feels a bit unrewarding considering the difficulty of the adventure.
I really liked Wadumus character and the given quotes made it really simple to characterize him and make him likable even if the characters didn't play the previous part of the trilogy. Which makes his completely random betrayel at the end even more frustating. Would have prefered him to stay as a friendly contact/guide for the party in future adventures of the season.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-05 Whispers in the Dark (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 18:11:29

Enjoyed this one. The adventure is very raildroady but that's fine for a 2h module. Also one of very few that can actually be completed in the estimated time without rushing players.
The beginning is probably the weakest part of the adventure, the entire chase scene feels like filler and is honestly completely unneccessary to the scenario. My party just skipped the chase part by casting sleep on the children. The satchel shop scene was fine but getting the players to ask the right questions can be a problem.
Part 2 is a trip through the jungle of Chult. Wadumu is a fantastic NPC and the given quotes and his little story really helped with fleshing out the lil' fellow. The final fight provides a fine challenge but the open ending can feel pretty unsatisfying for people that don't run the next part in the trilogy directly after.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-04 A Walk in the Park (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2018 17:41:43

Some clunky parts, some fun parts. I feel like the suggested adventure hooks are kind of misleading as they suggest the point of the adventure to be the investigation against the yuan-ti. In actuality, that whole conspiracy plot just felt like an excuse to have a giant dinosaur race.
The betting in part 1 is a bit hard to grasp (it's only one race, how can there be multiple winners?). I do like all the fluff included in the registration though, my party greatly enjoyed coming up with a mascot. Part had the actual race itself and the whole setup was very grand and fun to imagine. Especially liked the multiple different stages here. Some of the stages were really clunky though, like the fishing for stones bit which felt kinda static (not many options besides a bunch of Ivestigation/Perception checks) or the triceratops at the end which has the potential of really dragging on.
Would recommend against using rolls for "The Others". Feels like the opposition would be lagging behind too much going by the book. Instead just handle the enemy factions from a pure narrative perspective to keep it as a neck-to-neck race.
The fight at the end is fine but as always, zombies can be very problematic in Tier 1 unless the gorup has some clerics/paladins as it's kinda hard to deal enough damage to make them fail their con saves. This is a great opportunity to use some of the dino zombies from "DDHC-TOA-3 - Beasts of the Jungle Rot" though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-03 A Day at the Races (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates