DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL07-15 Streams of Crimson
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2018 16:45:31

Definitely felt like a T4 adventure as opposed to a lot of other T4 mods that feel like T3s in disguise. The plot is interesting and the storyline structure for the T4 saga laid out well. The plane hopping mechanic is a really neat design and feels quite rewarding with the bonus treasure if the party stays on their toes.

Not so good: The combat encounters. Maps are unnecessarily gargantuan and the majority of combat rooms don't offer enough interesting terrain features to even need maps. Too many meteor swarm archmages. Would absolutely recommend to replace some meteor swarms with other lv9 spells.
Would like to point out though that the zulkir statblocks are fantastic and offer a great alternative to regular archmages.

Overall a good adventure and one of the better T4s out there. It is a very complex mod though and requires some serious prep from the DM to make sure the game doesn't go long.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-15 Streams of Crimson
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-18 Turn Back the Endless Night
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 23:08:10

My favourite T4 yet. Provides a satifying conclusion to the S7 storyline and has some of the best stat blocks in dnd (Goat!!).

I especially like how replayable this whole mod is both for players and DMs, with 3/10 different encounters leading up to the final part. There's a pretty even spread between combat, exploration and social so there should be something for everyone. Only thing that bugs me a bit is that some of the "Lost in the Maze" Encounters" are way more interesting than the "Advancing the Maze" ones, which are only gonna get used sparingly, considering how many high INT/WIS chars there are in Tier 4. Some of the encounters are btter than others obviously and I'd recommend to choose which to use ahead of time. The tile puzzle is actually quite simple but there really need to be just a few more hints on what to do (like the fact that diagonal movement is not allowed).

The final combat is pretty well designed in my opinion, throwing the same kinda bs at players they themselves probably possess at that point. The added pressure of Dendar trying to break free adds another dimension to the fight as well. What bothered me in this section was that the maze curse is a bit too complicated and honestly, kind of unnecessary.

Overall a great adventure and one I'm looking forward to DMing again in the future (which is pretty rare)!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-18 Turn Back the Endless Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 04:09:57

I will start this out by clarifying that my group kind of cheesed their way through the majority of hazards by travelling ethereal, so a lot of the nice terrain stuff didn't come into play for us, which leads to me having no strong opinion to give on those.
I really appreciate that other than 7-11 this one actually provides the party with purchasable gear to make underwater adventuring possible if they don't have the required abilities themselves. The locations and encounters were fine, though I would recommend to switch out the nalfeshnees with wastriliths as originally intended; they are much more flavourful and fitting for the terrain they appear in.
The unique monsters, including both the underwater dragon and dagon himself, were very well implemented with a kit that is both flavourful and powerful.
Possible mutations are something I always enjoy seeing and the fact that they can be cured if necessary avoids feel-bads from players. My only major gripe with this adventure is that it doesn't provide any maps for grid lovers, leading to more work on the DMs side.
I would have liked more build-up for the final boss fight as well but overall it was an enjoyable module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-16 Pools of Cerulean
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 22:38:50

An alright adventure that satisfies fans of all three pillars of D&D. Larua's appearance adds some nice foreshadowing to future mods and connects the plotline neatly.
I especially enjoyed how pretty much every encounter had suggestions on how to run it in different ways, whether that be combat, interaction or exploration. The combat encounters themselves were very flavourful and interestingly designed, but were missing the necessary oomph for T4. Even the final encounter wasn't that much of a challenge (if any) for my group and I had to crank it up pretty extremely for it to work. The main problem is that it doesn't accoount for spellcasters enough. The dragon skeletons are a neat idea but most of the time won't really end up doing anything, sadly. Archmage + Death Knight encounters are also kind of overdone in general.
Overall I had fun running this module though and will recommend it further!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-16 Pools of Cerulean
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost Tales of Myth Drannor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 21:11:10

Let me start out by saying that I love this overall product and would count most of these adventures to my favorites. As follows, I'll give a short review to each of the adventures contained in Lost Tales:

The Darkwood Webs, tier 1; DDAL00-02a: As the first adventure, this one gives a decent introduction to the Forest of Cormanthor and the creatures living inside of it. The actual plot is pretty straight forward and consists mostly of a travel passage that has opportunity for roleplay, exploration and combat, leading into a fights which includes saving some people in distress. There's nothing all that special about this adventure but I never felt like it was lacking. What it does, it does good enough and I would consider this specific adventure to be a very good intro to D&D5e in general. 4/5

The Weirding Vats, tier 1; DDAL00-02b: This is one of those adventures which uses a bunch of optional the encounters to start with which the DM can pick and choose from as desired. I really enjoy this design in general as it allows for more replayability for both players and DMs. The final fight is very interesting in that is a Tier 1 adventure where the boss has 3rd level spell slots as well as lair actions. I was afraid it might prove to hard at first but it turned out to be exactly right when it comes to balance. The unique enemy types and creature modifications were also pretty interesting for both flavour and gameplay. 5/5

Spawn of the Maimed Virulence, tier 2; DDAL00-02c: Starts out with a typical premise of adventurers moving out slay some dragons. It does allow for that kind of play but also offers opportunity to go about it more diplomatically. Also offers a bunch of different ways of how to approach the scenarios, basically being multi-linear and less railroady than a lot of other AL mods. Greatly enjoyed the classical dragon fight as well as the opportunity to ally with one of them. 5/5

Echos of the Weeping War, tier 2; DDAL00-02d: This adventure also includes some encounter choice for the travel portion but whenever I ran this adventure the players would go for the same one as it's the most obvious (the ship one). Especially the air route is very unconvential and I doubt gets used much because of that. Probably requires some more help from the DM side to make the other options more appealing. The final encounter has one of those "never-ending" combats where the fight just goes on endlessly unless the group decides to leave (with some win conditions attached obviously). I've never really been a huge fan of encounters like this and will probably rework it for my future runs of it. It's also kind of a bummer that the adventure hook with the rumour about the legendary elven artifact turned out to be just that: a groundless rumour. This adventure does provide opportunity for some MTF monster addtions though and is very rich in flavour. 3.5/5

Forgotten Foes, tier 3; DDAL00-02e: Pretty straight forward this one. Has a very interesting background and sets up the T4 adventure well. Adventure itself is pretty much just a small dungeon crawl but does have some neat traps. The tome one is a highlight by itself and proved for some humorous situations. The dungeon does fall into the pitfall of not accounting for flying characters though for some of the later traps. The bossfight was alright but I would have loved some more interaction with the villian before the actual fight breaks out. Gets a bump in score just because it has one of my favourite uses of wild magic in a mod yet. 4/5

The Definition of Heroism, tier 4; DDAL00-02f: Starts out very similar to the T3 adventure and also includes a dungeon crawl (kinda). Dungeon itself is not really all that interesting and the pulled thread mechanics do get old fast, though I guess they do a fine job of having players expend ressources without fighty bits. Final combat itself is fine and all but might be a bit weak for T4. This adventure is very rich in flavour and lore which is always something I enjoy to see in AL mods. Also has a bunch of fun story awards. 4/5

Overall I really enjoyed how flavourful the rewards and creature modifications were handled for the adventures and will totally run most of these adventures multiple times before they get repetitive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Tales of Myth Drannor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2018 02:21:52

Really liked this one. Combat difficulties felt well adjusted and the encounters, both combat and traps had some very clever designs behind them. Personal favorites were the reverse gravity shaft and the rolling souls.
The Portal mechnaic for the Beholder fight is interesting as an idea but I felt like it didn't really work that great for that specific combat encounter. Probably would have been better as a puzzle room. traps in general delivered though and I did actually get my group to groan at all the pit-based traps. Adventure should probably acount for flying characters though as those kinda negate a lot of the fun traps.
The ending did feel like a Mass Effect 3 ending where it doesn#t really matter if the group actually succeeds or not which is kind of a bummer.

Overall great adventure though, one of my favs this season and in general!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-13 Old Bones and Older Tomes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2018 18:21:46

One of my favorite T3s. Puzzles were fun and challenging for the players without being too hard though I would say that there was maybe 1 puzzle too much to fit it all in a 4h timeslot. The combats were challenging and allowed me to present some really clutch moments for the players. The tower buffs made for an interesting mechanic and the ever-present and alwys watching boss made for a great environment.
Overall a fantastic adventure, but it can be a bit hard to do everything in 4 hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-13 Old Bones and Older Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2018 18:52:12

Alright adventure, nice flavor and well designed dungeon. The combat is on the weaker side though. The fire elemental battle is good enough as a warm-up but the boss battle should defintely be an Archmage (Necromancer) + (Undead) Yuan-ti Anathema instead of the two CR7 mobs, which are just a joke for a Tier 3 party.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2018 09:15:35

Adventure itself was fine but there were a lot of events resting on very specific player abilities/actions. Like the whole underwater portion without actually offering the players a way to explore underwater (I just added some wizard hirelings to cast water breathing on them). Or the Marid at the end of the ship which is the only way to find out Delnira's location (assuming the party saves him).
This honestly felt like 2 adventures crammed into one. The entire middle portion is like it's own adventure which as a quest reward gives the players the necessary info on where to go to finish the actual adventure. Part 1 & 4 are the actual main quest and only make up 1.5 hours out of 4. The actual plots were interesting enough, even if Aremag kidnapping that elf specifically to be his watchdog felt like a kinda random decison. It's just too much content for a 4 hour slot, which is a problem with the AL-style of play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2018 22:19:20

The flavor of this adventure and the lore behind the enemy mobs was fantastic but the actual combat bits were just terrible. This felt like a Tier 2 adventure in disguise. Solo Bosses without Legendary Actions just don't work in 5e (and even those with LAs barely do). The final boss fight is also just way too easy when leveled down, even without the dragon helping out as well. My party of 4 & APL 12 barely took any damage during the entire module. Also way too many fights that aren't even easy.
If I ever happen to run this again, I'm probably gonna rebuild pretty much all of the combat encounters to make them work for 3rd Tier. I'd give this module a higher rating just because the flavor was spot-on, but seeing how this is a dungeon crawl mod I can't in good faith give it anything better than this seeing how core the combat is for these kinda adventures.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2018 15:54:51

Adventure was fun to run, I especially enjoyed the exploration and social parts of the module. The combat was on the weak side though, having short/long rest opportunities after the majority of medium encounters at the start. The dungeon was kinda boring, only having one enemy type in the majority of rooms does get old fast. The Medusa was a very flavorful boss and also pretty challenging by itself, the addition of the nightmare was pretty neat as well.
Overall a good adventure, but kinda weak on the combat side.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-04 Mayhem in the Earthspur Mines (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2018 21:22:43

Quite enjoyed this one. The combat encounters are very interestingly done and have just the right level of challenge as well. NPCs have unique and fun personalities and the foreshadowing was done well enough. Adventure hook is a bit on the weak side but overall a fantastic module.
This one can also easily be finished in the estimated time, which ís another huge positive for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-09 Unusual Opposition (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 17:35:07

Some alright adventures. As a module, there's pretty much no connection between the mini-adventures so they feel more like a bunch of side quests. There's also no clear and concise ending which could leave the group a bit unsatisfied if ran all at once.
The adventures themselves are pretty fun, though easily take about 2 hours each to complete. The Gold rewards in these adventures are pretty nice from a player perspective but one thing I noticed was how it was pretty much impossible to go under the Max XP limit. My group of 5 easily got about double that in a lot of these missions.

Overall pretty good but nothing special.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2018 20:08:01

I like this adventure A LOT. But there are some more or less serious issues with it.

The entire lore behind and the plot itself is incredbily well written and very interesting to run and play. Greatly enjoyed Candlekeep and Rhaugilath playing a major role in this one.
The issues mostly lie in encounter balance. I ran this for an average strength Tier 3 group and they pretty much blazed thorugh the crypt encounter. The enemies could take a few hits and also potentially dish out a lot if they actually hapen to land a hit once every blue moon but mostly just fealt like a grind. Same for the BBEG. An Ancient Dragon Paladin is an awesome concept but I don't think it's a good idea to use the same boss for a T3 and T4 group. For my group he turned out to be increbily tanky and could dish out a lot of damage with smites as well if he wanted to (though it's kinda questionable that there's no limit on the number of hd he can expend to smite a target) but he still had the same problems as all solo mobs. The big hp pool bascially just turned the fight into a giant slog, if a dangerous one at that. The lair actions were kinda boring and mostly just annoying the players as they either shut them down completely or delayed the fight by making them unable to act in certain ways.

Overall I enjoyed this adventure, especially for the plot, but the actual combat encounters needed more work to be interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-03 Those That Came Before
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 18:21:15

Pretty good adventure if a bit combat-heavy. The sheer amount of combat encounters make it pretty much impossible to complete the module in 2 hours. My group took 4.5 hours and we didn't do that much roleplay (and that was without any Gauntlet/Zhentarim which would have added 2 more encounetrs).
I really enjoyed the use of awakened creatures in this adventure, especially the apes at the start. The fights themselves were kinda easy for Tier 2 especially after the previous part of the trilogie but my group really enjoyed the kinda gimmicky fight at the end (though I have to question the inclusion of Call Lightning in the druids spell list). As a DM I also really enjoyed the inclusion of Rhaugilath in the backstory, always great to see known faces again.
The Appendix was a bit confusing since it includes creatures that don't actually appear by name as part of the encounters. I assume the Vine Blights were intended as the trees in the final chamber in awakened form. No idea about the girallon though.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-08 Putting the Dead to Rest (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates