DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
Dreams of the First Age (with errata) $60.00 $36.00
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
12 8
1 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Click to view
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Tove A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2010 15:29:31

It was okay, but had awesome fluff when only the printed version existed. Now that they've fixed errataed it it's become divine juicy goodness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2010 21:34:09

Finally, a PDF of the boxed set has arrived, with all the errors and terrible Charms replaced with fresh, minty clean errata. A bundle of thanks to White Wolf's Errata Team Prime for going out of their way to essentially replace entire segments of the boxed set with brand new goodness, so that this digital version is nearly flawless.

This is an excellent look into the utopian decadence of the Age of Dreams.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Bill S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2010 00:10:33

As stated by many others here, the quality of the pdf set is head and shoulders above the box set. Oh while I would have loved to have a updated dead tree version, I am more than happy with what we have been given here.

The main part that was broken about the books, the Solar Charms, have all been revamped in ways that make the books just so much better. There isn't much I can add without repeating other reviewers, so I'll just say this.

BUY IT NOW!! You will thank yourself for doing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by william p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 15:46:09

I never did get my hands on the original version of Dreams of the First Age. They really need to mark this as 'Revised' to get the point across that this is not, in fact, said original.

Now that I've gotten that tidbit out of the way, I must admit with great delight that this purchase, combined with Return of the Scarlet Empress, made the end of my summer vacation worth all the wait for the releases. The folks freelancing for White Wolf outdid themselves in both the quality of the Charms in this revision, and for the original work done when Dreams first came out.

It is a must-have for anyone with any sort of interest in the First Age.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard E H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 15:18:22

While the original boxed set version suffered from serious flaws - incoherent Solar charms, poor quality binding that led to books falling apart over time, and the usual complete lack of index - the PDF version solves all of these.

Extensive errata and completely re-written Solar charms not only repair the broken Solar charm section, but increase the length by 20 pages with exciting and high-quality new charms from Holden Shearer and John Morke.

A PDF obviously never falls apart.

The PDF is also both thoroughly bookmarked and searchable, allowing easier use as a reference document.

In short, a great product. If you've never bought Dreams of the First Age before, or you've been making do with a pirated scanned PDF, now is the time to upgrade. If you bought the original Dreams of the First Age, but want to encourage the White Wolf alternative publishing team to continue to upgrade and revamp their flawed earlier works with high quality new material, buy it again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 14:32:37

Updated with Solar charms which now live up to the original billing and a great CMA for Sidereals, this is well worth your money. The charms section in this set is now as large as one of the Manual of Exalted books, and I really can't recomend this book enough if you play a Solar or a Sidereal.

The two non mechanical books are very good to read as well, the guide to Meru is excellent and the Lands of Creation book is a very fun read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 09:17:31

I picked up the Boxed Set the first time round and was really enjoyed the information and options in it, as much as bavkground for my Second Age game as for any desire to actually run something in the First Age. The one big disappointment was the lack of mechanical rigour in some of the sections, and the errata provided in this revised version has fixed that and given a glorious selection of goodies. Having a PDF copy too now is helpful for reference purposes and I would absolutely reommend it to first-time buyers as a wonderfully flavourful and useful purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 04:59:17

I picked up the original box-set when it first came out, and while many portions were amazingly good the Solar Charms were terrible and Sidereals got left outside in the cold.

Both of these problems have been addressed quite nicely, the Solar Charms provide a number of new tactics and high end capabilities, Sidereals get a Hero Style, and the character generation chapter's math has been cleaned up and made much smoother.

My one real complaint comes from the NPC write ups in Lords of Creation; the Wall of Charms still hurts my eyes and there doesn't seem to be any real organization to it. Still, once you're dealing with over a hundred charms I suppose it's always going to presentation problems.

The First Age fluff is still very well thought out, and will probably throw most groups for a loop at first. This is a world where you won centuries ago and the question facing various god-kings is 'now what?'.

Solid purchase, I'll get quite a bit of use out of it in my campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dreams of the First Age (with errata)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2010 03:29:11

Having had first hand experience with this product in its original boxed set presentation I can say I find the changes to Dreams of the First Age in this new format to be a marked improvement. The charms section has had a complete overhaul and is now mechanically rigorous as well as flavorful, enough so that some charms have made me want to try different types of characters than I'm usually fond of playing.

I did not notice any major changes to the setting material in the book so if you already own the box set you won't see much difference in that department, however if you do not have the box set then I highly recommend this pdf format, the setting information is valuable as are the newly tweaked mechanics. I'll admit that the price tag made me a little hesitant at first but so far I find it to be a worthwhile purchase and one I'd recommend to any fan of Exalted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates